Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2006-103 (Trench Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 503 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/11 11:31 AM
Last Updated:1/10/11 11:33 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
style inspired said...
Wow. Lovely coat, great buttons.
1/10/11 11:37 AM
tashainflorence said...
Love it!
1/10/11 11:43 AM
ggf2005 said...
I love your coat! Great job!
1/10/11 12:10 PM
Barbara V said...
What a really beautiful trench in this grey melton wool! Your work and attention to detail have produced a most gorgeous coat. I agree that the old Burdas are a treasure trove of patterns and are filled with classic designs.
1/10/11 12:29 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful coat, and it looks lovely on you! You will love this coat for years, and feel wonderful every time you wear it!
1/10/11 12:39 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Congratulations!! WOW!! IF I keep tweekin' the fit on my pj bottoms, then some day I will be a-sewin' a winter coat?? ;) WOW!! Congratulations!! THIS is "big time" ;)
1/10/11 12:46 PM
carolynw said...
Wiow and WOW!! Great detail - very, very profesional - to the head of the class you go!!
1/10/11 2:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Stunning coat! I've been following your progress on your blog, and the end product looks amazing! (Your posts have been helping to motivate me on my own coat project, which is taking forever because of all of the details...)
1/10/11 2:44 PM
CallMeSu said...
You look Fantastic in your new jacket!
1/10/11 3:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
This coat is elegantly stunning. The details are marvelous, and I'm very impressed by your buttonholes.
1/10/11 3:11 PM
Terri A said...
Love everything about this coat! I love your blog post - I would have totally stopped you and asked where you got that coat!:-) You look beautiful in this creation. The wool - just great and wow you sure did invest the money - but it sure looks worth it:-)
1/10/11 3:51 PM
cindy-lou said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
1/10/11 4:44 PM
bluenines said...
great coat , love the color
1/10/11 5:00 PM
SandraB said...
Very beautiful coat. It almost makes me wish that I needed winter wear. Almost.
1/10/11 5:02 PM
blue mooney said...
Wowzers! I agree that the old Burdas are too good to toss.
1/10/11 6:20 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Absolutely GORGEOUS!!!!!!
1/10/11 6:22 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Great coat!
1/10/11 6:23 PM
sewbehind said...
That is gorgeous and you look very stylish and elegant in it. Way to go!
1/10/11 6:43 PM
Lynnelle said...
I've followed your progress as well. You did a fantastic job and I'm sure you'll get many years of wear out of it!
1/10/11 8:10 PM
Christas said...
Wish I had this issue. Your coat is absolutely WONDERFUL! What a great classic to enjoy for years and years. Great color too!
1/10/11 9:01 PM
Jali said...
Beautiful coat and a great fit too. I like your version better than the pattern photo really.
1/10/11 9:12 PM
ChristineX said...
Oh, that coat is great on you!!
1/10/11 10:00 PM
Erica B. said...
That coat is so amazing! Love it!
1/10/11 10:50 PM
jkaori said...
Amazing! Your coat is fantastic and such a classic for your wardrobe. Congrats!
1/10/11 11:36 PM
Ericaeli said...
Such an amazing coat. It looks wonderful on you.
1/10/11 11:53 PM
Sharonspils said...
Beatufiul trench and I'm sure you will get plenty of wear from it.
1/11/11 0:17 AM
sew2little said...
OMG--this is fabulous, girl! You should feel very proud of yourself; making any coat is an accomplishment, but making one this chic is positively stellar! Marci
1/11/11 0:45 AM
Maree P said...
Your coat is simply stunning. Your skills shine. And.... you look beautiful in it.
1/11/11 2:50 AM
tess said...
beautifully tailored coat, you look fabulous in it too!
1/11/11 3:37 AM
NVK said...
I love this coat. It fits you perfectly. You did a great job with all the detail. You will turn heads when you wear the coat.
1/11/11 6:38 AM
Woolygal said...
You did a wonderful job on this coat. Don't change a thing.
1/11/11 7:07 AM
Nancy K said...
I love it and I love that you tailored a gorgeous coat after having had previous issues with tailoring. I would suggest a button on the ven, but I know you don't have any extra buttons. What about topsitching it down further? Anyway, you will be warm and toasty in this miserable winter.
1/11/11 7:23 AM
cindyann said...
I've always loved this pattern. Your coat looks wonderful! Nice work!
1/11/11 9:27 AM
lesliez said...
I'll add my wow to the chorus! Your coat is gorgeous and you look stunning in it!
1/11/11 12:28 PM
Handmade by Carla said...
Fabulous!
1/11/11 2:28 PM
janet said...
Your coat is GORG! What a YUMMY fabric!! LOVE the topstitching!!! GREAT LOOK!!!!
1/12/11 8:40 PM
suesmith said...
Burda definitely has put out some great coat patterns. Love your version of this classic trench. Well done!
1/12/11 10:22 PM
cboots said...
I just saw this today, and am in AWE. I've never tackled a coat, so I can't imagine making one this involved. What an accomplishment; it looks a million on you! Congrats!
1/15/11 11:21 PM
poppyq said...
Dang you are amazing!
3/25/11 5:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us