SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5764 

14 more reviews
Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:Ericaeli
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ericaelistar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/09
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/11 11:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Very cute! You look great in it.
1/10/11 0:05 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful capelet. I like the leaf detail on the inside. Nice touch.
1/10/11 0:15 AM
Coastal Connie said...
That is absolutely gorgeous! I love that you lined it and it is such a good color match. Very nice work!
1/10/11 0:39 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute, you did a beautiful job, inside and out.
1/10/11 6:32 AM
MNBarb said...
Not too many photos. I loved seeing your capelet in detail. Your addition of the silk lining and little details like the leaf label make your garment fabulously unique. I agree that the pattern designers should just be including a lining is a pattern similar to this or for jackets, in general. You could have another cape in your wardrobe, it seems perfect for your climate and a really good style for you. Ooh, it would be lovely in a brightly colored wool!
1/10/11 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
Another beauty from this pattern - just read Lori V's and remarked that I must get to using mine - your version reinforces that - maybe today!! Will be lining mine also and may copy your idea of acontrasting lovely color
1/10/11 9:03 AM
Nan Kay said...
Your version is really nice. Love the lining, no cape should be unlined, they stick to every thing you wear under it! Nice work.
1/10/11 9:05 AM
lesliez said...
Beautiful job on your cape and lining. It looks great on you.
1/10/11 12:33 PM
JTink said...
This is so pretty. I'm interested in how you attached the bias tape to the facing edge and then attached it to the lining. Such a nice clean finish.
1/10/11 1:48 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thank you for the nice comments. JTink, I attached the bias binding to the facing using my binder foot (I sewed the cape on my featherweight, and it is the binder foot that came with it). After I attached the binding to the facing, I just laid the facing on the lining and sewed it down. I tried to sew it down on the same stitching line as the binding attachment, but I wasn't very careful. I then basted the edges, so the facing and lining were one unit. I hope that makes sense.
1/10/11 9:27 PM
DKG said...
This cape is fabulous. You've done a wonderful job. Thank you for the details about how you lined it. I'll be following suit.
5/28/11 10:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

No Pattern Used tshirt

photo
by: colormefun

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now