SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5764 

14 more reviews
Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:Ericaeli
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ericaelistar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/09
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/11 11:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Very cute! You look great in it.
1/10/11 0:05 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful capelet. I like the leaf detail on the inside. Nice touch.
1/10/11 0:15 AM
Coastal Connie said...
That is absolutely gorgeous! I love that you lined it and it is such a good color match. Very nice work!
1/10/11 0:39 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute, you did a beautiful job, inside and out.
1/10/11 6:32 AM
MNBarb said...
Not too many photos. I loved seeing your capelet in detail. Your addition of the silk lining and little details like the leaf label make your garment fabulously unique. I agree that the pattern designers should just be including a lining is a pattern similar to this or for jackets, in general. You could have another cape in your wardrobe, it seems perfect for your climate and a really good style for you. Ooh, it would be lovely in a brightly colored wool!
1/10/11 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
Another beauty from this pattern - just read Lori V's and remarked that I must get to using mine - your version reinforces that - maybe today!! Will be lining mine also and may copy your idea of acontrasting lovely color
1/10/11 9:03 AM
Nan Kay said...
Your version is really nice. Love the lining, no cape should be unlined, they stick to every thing you wear under it! Nice work.
1/10/11 9:05 AM
lesliez said...
Beautiful job on your cape and lining. It looks great on you.
1/10/11 12:33 PM
JTink said...
This is so pretty. I'm interested in how you attached the bias tape to the facing edge and then attached it to the lining. Such a nice clean finish.
1/10/11 1:48 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thank you for the nice comments. JTink, I attached the bias binding to the facing using my binder foot (I sewed the cape on my featherweight, and it is the binder foot that came with it). After I attached the binding to the facing, I just laid the facing on the lining and sewed it down. I tried to sew it down on the same stitching line as the binding attachment, but I wasn't very careful. I then basted the edges, so the facing and lining were one unit. I hope that makes sense.
1/10/11 9:27 PM
DKG said...
This cape is fabulous. You've done a wonderful job. Thank you for the details about how you lined it. I'll be following suit.
5/28/11 10:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 4220

photo
by: myraminx

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 06/2012 #113

photo
by: thewall

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Buy Now