Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8469 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 578 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/11 8:20 PM
Last Updated:1/12/11 4:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jmosew said...
I've never ever commented before, but had to tell you that the fabric and the dress look lovely. I like the calf-length pinned picture, it looks more proportional to the fullness of the skirt to me than the shorter one does.
1/10/11 9:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks fabulous as is - maxi length with no sash or belt. Even if you think you don't need a maxi dress, if you keep it, you'll find occasions to wear it. If you must shorten it, I agree with jmosew that mid-calf length looks better than the shorter version and fine without a belt.
1/10/11 9:09 PM
brrmm said...
I REALLY like the shorter knee length myself as it looks like a pretty summer dress that way. Great work.
1/10/11 9:25 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress. Another vote for calf length, here.
1/10/11 11:38 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO pretty in this lovely floral, WITH the silk lining, no less. I would absolutely leave it maxi for a while at least. Then, like you said, if you decide to cut it, go for the mid-calf length. You can always go shorter later! I like it just the way it is. :o)
1/10/11 11:40 PM
Natasha B said...
Such pretty fabric, the dress looks lovely. I would leave it maxi and enjoy the "specialness".
1/11/11 0:23 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love your beautiful dress either length. The longer length works nicely for cafe dining with strappy sandals on warm days. Maybe see what the *magic closet* tells you next summer :)
1/11/11 3:03 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the maxi but I like the calf length too and I think at the calf length you could do without the belt, which I like best. Beautiful dress.
1/11/11 7:18 AM
BHarmony said...
Please let it as a maxi--it would make a fabulous hostess gown, and the fabric is so lovely!
1/11/11 11:47 AM
Izzie said...
I vote Maxi too! It is a beautiful dress!
1/11/11 1:34 PM
waltzqueen said...
I vote for calf length which has the best proportions. Lovely lovely dress.
1/11/11 6:16 PM
kkkkaty said...
I vote for the maxi, as well. The shortest version is least flattering. Very pretty fabric!
1/12/11 5:59 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Frantic! I say 'go the maxi'. I love the long and floaty look and I think you look particularly elegant in the maxi look.
1/12/11 8:51 PM
LorrieAnn said...
The dress is beautiful - fabric is lovely, and it fits you nicely. If you already have lots of work dresses, save this just the way it is for summer. I think you will wear it quite often - very pretty.
1/12/11 10:21 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. The fabric is beautiful and perfect for this style. I like the maxi. It looks great on you.
1/13/11 0:28 AM
KathleenS said...
Tricky. I know I would be agonising over this decision. Of the shorter ones, I prefer the calf length. Maybe keep track of how much/if you wear the maxi for the rest of the summer and if you don't, then shorten it for next summer? Lovely fabric.
1/14/11 6:01 PM
Belladogna said...
I love it as a maxi and I love how it looks on you!
5/27/12 3:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Beautiful Magazine 07-2006
photo
Review by Wendy Hahn on 6/20/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4738
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 5/20/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us