Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2605/2606 (Girls swimsuits) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1524 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Chimene
photo
Friend of PR
About Chimenestar
MD USA
Member since: 10/10/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/04 10:25 PM
Last Updated:7/4/04 5:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said...
The patterns that I have used get you to pin mark elastic and fabric in quarters and match up. This takes a bit of practice to get it just right [lycra is so slippery] so maybe you could try marking it into eighths and pin it firmly, then stretch out from 1 pin point to the next and sew right to the pin, then do the next section. Hope that this helps you. This pattern looks like it is a good one for kids.
7/2/04 11:31 PM
LindaS. said...
Chimene, that suit looks great inside and out! When applying elastic, I cut a measured amount, for example for each leg opening let's say you want a piece of elastic 15" (or whatever the pattern calls for). Fold it in half and mark it with a pin or pen. Fold the elastic from the half mark to the beginning and mark that, which would be 1/4 and from the half mark to the end and mark that which would be 3/4. Now divide the the leg opening into fourths and mark each fourth. As you start stitching the elastic, pull the elastic so that the 1/4 mark on both the elastic and leg opening match up and sew. When you reach the 1/4 mark, stretch the elastic so that the half marks are matching, then the 3/4 marks and finally the ends. Make sure you start out with the same length elastic for each side of the leg, arm or whatever opening you're sewing and you should be OK. Hope this helps!
7/2/04 11:37 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice first suit! You're a good deal faster than I am--it took me all weekend to make my first suit for dgd...Regarding the elastic, the Stretch & Sew pattern I used said to pin elastic in 1 to 1 ratio along front leg opening and stretched across the backleg opening. Don't know if that would translate to your pattern.
7/2/04 11:48 PM
Melissa S. said...
I can tell you that I wouldn't have had the courage to attempt a swimsuit when I was a beginner--good for you! Thanks for the review.
7/3/04 6:16 AM
Chimene said...
Thanks for the elastic advice. I pinned it in quarter marks as the pattern suggested but as I pulled, some of the pins fell out. Now I see why it was important to keep those 1/4 marks together! I think I will use a marker that will probably keep me on track. Thanks again
7/3/04 7:11 AM
JDpenelope said...
Chimene, Could you tack the elastic in place at the qtr marks? I have done that sometimes on tight-fitting elastic before sewing.
7/3/04 7:25 AM
alicia said...
I just cut out a swimsuit for a daughter... thanks for this!! Can't wait to put it together now! Thank you for the inside photos.
7/3/04 8:05 AM
MsConnie said...
Chimene, penelope's advice will work on a KS swimsuit as well. The stretched elastic will get very tight across the back area as you are sewing, but when you are finished it will snug up nicely. You might want to try the Stretch & Sew swim elastic as well. You did a great job on your first suit - they get easier every time! The kids will really enjoy their swim wardrobes - it's very addictive & you won't be able to stop making them!
7/3/04 9:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7442 Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 2/1/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1204
photo
Review by goosegreen on 8/15/12
Read Review

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us