SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2605/2606 (Girls swimsuits)

Viewed 1524 times 
Reviewed by:Chimene
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Chimenestar
MD USA
Member since: 10/10/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/04 10:25 PM
Last Updated:7/4/04 5:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said...
The patterns that I have used get you to pin mark elastic and fabric in quarters and match up. This takes a bit of practice to get it just right [lycra is so slippery] so maybe you could try marking it into eighths and pin it firmly, then stretch out from 1 pin point to the next and sew right to the pin, then do the next section. Hope that this helps you. This pattern looks like it is a good one for kids.
7/2/04 11:31 PM
LindaS. said...
Chimene, that suit looks great inside and out! When applying elastic, I cut a measured amount, for example for each leg opening let's say you want a piece of elastic 15" (or whatever the pattern calls for). Fold it in half and mark it with a pin or pen. Fold the elastic from the half mark to the beginning and mark that, which would be 1/4 and from the half mark to the end and mark that which would be 3/4. Now divide the the leg opening into fourths and mark each fourth. As you start stitching the elastic, pull the elastic so that the 1/4 mark on both the elastic and leg opening match up and sew. When you reach the 1/4 mark, stretch the elastic so that the half marks are matching, then the 3/4 marks and finally the ends. Make sure you start out with the same length elastic for each side of the leg, arm or whatever opening you're sewing and you should be OK. Hope this helps!
7/2/04 11:37 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice first suit! You're a good deal faster than I am--it took me all weekend to make my first suit for dgd...Regarding the elastic, the Stretch & Sew pattern I used said to pin elastic in 1 to 1 ratio along front leg opening and stretched across the backleg opening. Don't know if that would translate to your pattern.
7/2/04 11:48 PM
Melissa S. said...
I can tell you that I wouldn't have had the courage to attempt a swimsuit when I was a beginner--good for you! Thanks for the review.
7/3/04 6:16 AM
Chimene said...
Thanks for the elastic advice. I pinned it in quarter marks as the pattern suggested but as I pulled, some of the pins fell out. Now I see why it was important to keep those 1/4 marks together! I think I will use a marker that will probably keep me on track. Thanks again
7/3/04 7:11 AM
JDpenelope said...
Chimene, Could you tack the elastic in place at the qtr marks? I have done that sometimes on tight-fitting elastic before sewing.
7/3/04 7:25 AM
alicia said...
I just cut out a swimsuit for a daughter... thanks for this!! Can't wait to put it together now! Thank you for the inside photos.
7/3/04 8:05 AM
MsConnie said...
Chimene, penelope's advice will work on a KS swimsuit as well. The stretched elastic will get very tight across the back area as you are sewing, but when you are finished it will snug up nicely. You might want to try the Stretch & Sew swim elastic as well. You did a great job on your first suit - they get easier every time! The kids will really enjoy their swim wardrobes - it's very addictive & you won't be able to stop making them!
7/3/04 9:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 73986-1004

photo
by: Silknmore

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
McCall's 6103

photo
by: ChrisS

Review