Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8682 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 756 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/11 7:25 PM
Last Updated:1/11/11 7:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
Very nice top. Looks good on you. I like the fabric.
1/11/11 8:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The fabric is gorgeous and your blouse is too.
1/11/11 9:27 PM
marjoriekh said...
Your top is lovely! I would never have visualized this pattern in silk velvet. I am interested in how you pre-treated the velvet, and want to try it. Do you machine wash it thereafter, or hand wash once it's constructed? And what kind of zipper installation did you use in this, if any?
1/11/11 11:10 PM
lesliez said...
Your top is beautiful.
1/12/11 2:00 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top that looks good on you. I like the colour, too.
1/12/11 3:11 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
So beautiful!
1/12/11 6:48 AM
lamstu said...
Very beautiful. I also wash and dry my silk velvet for added texture. It's a bear to sew, but worth it as we all can see. Great idea to use the dress pattern to make a top; I'm doing that frequently these days.
1/12/11 8:49 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous top! The velvet looks so lovely to wear.
1/12/11 8:52 AM
Karine said...
That velvet is yummy! Real silk velvet feels so good, I'm sure you'll love wearing this. I actually like your version of the top much better than a dress from this pattern. Very pretty.
1/12/11 8:54 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I would love to try distressing silk like you mention, the result seems to be evident on your top, gorgeous!
1/12/11 10:35 AM
solosmocker said...
Marjoriek: The construction defines how I will clean the velvet garment. Something with beads like this one, I would wash by hand and maybe give it a short toss in the dryer when near dry. The dryer is what really lushes it up. If it was a more simple design I would definitely wash on gentle in the machine and machine dry as stated. The zipper was hand picked with a back stitch as were the sleeve and bottom hems.
1/12/11 8:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
Gorgeous top that fits you perfectly! Have been contemplating this pattern, now that I see your fabulous version, may give it a try. The velvet is spectacular.
1/12/11 8:18 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Very nice top that looks good on you. Love the fabric choice.
1/12/11 9:21 PM
Barbara V said...
What amazing work to make this top so gorgeous. I hope to try the distressing treatment on silk velvet sometime. And you hand picked the zipper, sleeve and bottom hem. What a work of art AND it fits you perfectly. Simply lovely!
1/12/11 9:49 PM
donna mel said...
omg love the velvet!! the wash and dry didn't turn it into 'crushed velvet'?? i'm going to try it! thanks.
1/13/11 7:48 PM
OlgaT said...
I love the way your blouse came out, and velvet, no less!
3/6/11 4:54 PM
Gendun said...
DaisyEsq said it best! Just want to add that it suits you wonderfully, even if those darn red curtains are doing their best to upstage you! Thanks for an extremely helpful review. :)
3/22/12 2:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-131 Knit Coat
photo
Review by ElsaD on 2/2/09
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2750 Lauren Sara
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 3/24/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us