Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Verona Jacket and Coat (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 574 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/11 6:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri K said...
Martha I so appreciate your review of this pattern and the details on your blog (of which I am a new follower). I love what you have done with it both times. I've never been a fan of double breasted coats and jackets, so this pattern has languished in between my TNT Sewing Workshop patterns. Your finished coat combines the elegance of asymmetry and simplicity - BRAVO!
1/12/11 7:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very lovely. I like it much better the way you did it asymmetrically rather than the double breasted way. I think that was holding me back from liking this pattern.
1/12/11 7:26 PM
Fran S said...
Martha, thank you for reviewing this. I've been admiring this pattern for a while now. And, I am very happy to see you blog!
1/12/11 7:32 PM
Nancy K said...
It's a beautiful coat. Nice use of contrasting fabric. and like Ann I find the asymmetry much more attractive and interesting than the double breasted of the original.
1/12/11 7:42 PM
AuntieShel said...
Oh, this coat is stunning!! The collar is divine!!
1/12/11 7:54 PM
Barbara V said...
Your coat is really lovely! Nice change to the asymmetric opening.
1/12/11 10:00 PM
rivergum said...
Beautiful. I love the understated elegance. Your execution is faultless.
1/13/11 0:14 AM
sew2little said...
Martha--your coat is just beautiful. The contrasting fabric is perfect, as is your button choice. Kudos.
1/13/11 0:18 AM
Karine said...
Your coat is stunning! Like others, I've had this pattern since it came out, but haven't been motivated enough to try it. Moving the button placement and closing the collar make such a dramatic difference. I love what you've done with it. Thanks for the review and details/photos on your blog. Very helpful.
1/13/11 9:42 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful coat and a great job of sewing, too. I love the color and fabric combinations.
1/13/11 10:22 AM
Diane333 said...
What a stunningly beautiful coat.
1/13/11 10:24 AM
JETrinity said...
Oh, your coat looks so great with the stripe trims. I loved seeing the serpentine curves on the inside. What a surprise. Thanks for pointing out this pattern.
1/13/11 2:12 PM
blue mooney said...
"Understated elegance"says it all. Very,very nice.
1/13/11 6:31 PM
DorothyK said...
You gave this pattern a very elegant treatment. I love the collar, your use of fabric, the button, and the asymmetrical opening. Well done.
1/13/11 7:44 PM
Christas said...
What a very stylish coat with wonderful details! You did such a nice job of sewing this lovely garment!
1/14/11 0:07 AM
VivianZ said...
This coat is beautiful. I like the review also, esp. the s-curved lining, and the construction technique changes you made.
1/14/11 8:10 AM
Annette1 said...
FINALLY, I found your review -- ha! I knew I had seen a coat of yours in the review gallery, but didn't get to look at it right then, so I had to TRACK YOU DOWN. :o) This is truly a stunning coat, Martha. It's so CLASSY, with the mix of fabrics that you have here. That COLLAR, I LOVE!
1/17/11 0:14 AM
SewPerfect said...
I found this pattern in my stash today, long used, and decided to see if anyone had made it - LOVE your versions. I do believe this will be my project for the long weekend! :) Also, I have fully a third of the patterns you've reviewed, it is so nice to see them on a person, I have never done well with envisioning the garment from a line drawing! I like your reviews.
9/2/11 7:20 PM
Monica Ann said...
Very lovely coat and technique.
1/26/13 11:56 AM
selvage said...
Glad I looked up this review again. I am going to make this coat this season, and I want it to look like yours--asymmetrical opening rather than double-breasted style. Thanks for the great review.
10/30/13 4:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Marfy 1637 jacket
photo
Review by Re Becca on 4/30/11
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-137 Boy's Shirt
photo
Review by EveS on 5/22/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us