Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2218 (Misses Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1257 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:VROOM VROOM
photo
About VROOM VROOM
TX USA
Member since: 8/14/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/04 4:41 PM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Hmm, sounds like it runs large in the shoulder & small in the torso! What a shame to lose the fabric. Why did you say that the zipper was a bad idea?
7/4/04 7:02 PM
Annette H said...
What a pity. Did you try the pattern on yourself or a dress form before sewing it up? Don't just throw it in the bin. A white top can be saved by inserting other fabrics into darts (don't know how to describe it). White is easier to fix than colours or prints. A challenge to make it work! I usually like Vogue, so it's interesting to hear about this one.
7/5/04 1:07 PM
VROOM VROOM said...
I don't like zippers in tops b/c I am always in a rush to do everything. My schedule many weeks is 6a to 10pm- I am a nursing student who is working full-time. The zipper is so long. I am a big woman. The back reach and long zip up is just wasteful. I would rather throw a nicely cut top over my head like Butterick 3390, which is discontinued now, and keep going. No, I do not have a dress form. I just keep making the same pattern over and over. I live in a small apt, so a dress form would sacrifice needed space for nursing books, etc. One day when I graduate I will have a dress form. That will be a true luxury for me. Trust me it is on my list of things to get. And they say money can't buy you happiness :)
7/9/04 8:32 AM
hdgirl said...
I have made the skirt and am having fitting problems, bc of my bum. I did 1 inch seems and feel I need to reduce the front waist so it hangs better in the back. The top I've cut out but have not sew yet. I am curious now to see if I will have similiar fit problems bc I too made size 20-22. I'd be interested to hear more about how to adjust 'white fabric at the bust per one reviewer.
11/6/07 9:53 AM
helenzdj said...
Its a shame it didnt fit correctly - did you attempt to adjust the pattern for a DD cup or leave it as is?
10/30/09 7:27 AM
pieraci2 said...
I thought the reviewer should be more objective.
12/3/09 7:32 AM
mumbo said...
I agree with you Vroom Vroom. I have made view F (v neck) in 100% cotton and, although it sits well and looks classic, there is no room for arm movement and no need for the zip as I can get it over my head easily. The zip is very long and difficult to do up. I am 5'10" tall and I made size 14 out to size 16 for my hips but I felt sausage like below my bust. I should have made 16 all over. I'm not that familiar with Vogue patterns. Good luck with your nursing and keep up your sewing.
2/25/10 1:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2449 trench coat
photo
Review by valerie se... on 7/1/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6483 misses top
photo
Review by Nana27 on 5/16/13
Read Review

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us