Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2218 (Misses Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1260 times 
Reviewed by:VROOM VROOM
photo

 
 
About VROOM VROOM
TX USA
Member since: 8/14/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/04 4:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mumbo said... (2/25/10 1:27 AM) Reply
I agree with you Vroom Vroom. I have made view F (v neck) in 100% cotton and, although it sits well and looks classic, there is no room for arm movement and no need for the zip as I can get it over my head easily. The zip is very long and difficult to do up. I am 5'10" tall and I made size 14 out to size 16 for my hips but I felt sausage like below my bust. I should have made 16 all over. I'm not that familiar with Vogue patterns. Good luck with your nursing and keep up your sewing.
pieraci2 said... (12/3/09 7:32 AM) Reply
I thought the reviewer should be more objective.
helenzdj said... (10/30/09 7:27 AM) Reply
Its a shame it didnt fit correctly - did you attempt to adjust the pattern for a DD cup or leave it as is?
hdgirl said... (11/6/07 9:53 AM) Reply
I have made the skirt and am having fitting problems, bc of my bum. I did 1 inch seems and feel I need to reduce the front waist so it hangs better in the back. The top I've cut out but have not sew yet. I am curious now to see if I will have similiar fit problems bc I too made size 20-22. I'd be interested to hear more about how to adjust 'white fabric at the bust per one reviewer.
VROOM VROOM said... (7/9/04 8:32 AM) Reply
I don't like zippers in tops b/c I am always in a rush to do everything. My schedule many weeks is 6a to 10pm- I am a nursing student who is working full-time. The zipper is so long. I am a big woman. The back reach and long zip up is just wasteful. I would rather throw a nicely cut top over my head like Butterick 3390, which is discontinued now, and keep going. No, I do not have a dress form. I just keep making the same pattern over and over. I live in a small apt, so a dress form would sacrifice needed space for nursing books, etc. One day when I graduate I will have a dress form. That will be a true luxury for me. Trust me it is on my list of things to get. And they say money can't buy you happiness :)
Annette H said... (7/5/04 1:07 PM) Reply
What a pity. Did you try the pattern on yourself or a dress form before sewing it up? Don't just throw it in the bin. A white top can be saved by inserting other fabrics into darts (don't know how to describe it). White is easier to fix than colours or prints. A challenge to make it work! I usually like Vogue, so it's interesting to hear about this one.
AnneM said... (7/4/04 7:02 PM) Reply
Hmm, sounds like it runs large in the shoulder & small in the torso! What a shame to lose the fabric. Why did you say that the zipper was a bad idea?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
Vogue Patterns 9021

photo
by: gabc

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details