Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2949 (MISSES' JACKET)

18 more reviews
Viewed 553 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 395 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/11 6:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by Ann Smith using this Pattern

photo
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said... (1/17/11 0:05 AM) Reply
This has got to be one of my favorite outfits of yours so far. :o) And you ought to patent those pockets. :o)
taylormade said... (1/15/11 11:49 AM) Reply
Hi Ann, what a great review. thanks so much for sharing you experience with this fabric. I have made this pattern before with great success (boucle sweater knit)', so it was really instructive to see it made up in a more "challenging" fabric. I find that matching fabric and pattern to be one of the most difficult things about garment sewing. so it's always good to see what doesn't.work. that said, it looks great on you. again, thanks for sharing! Mary T.
taylormade said... (1/15/11 11:49 AM) Reply
Hi Ann, what a great review. thanks so much for sharing you experience with this fabric. I have made this pattern before with great success (boucle sweater knit)', so it was really instructive to see it made up in a more "challenging" fabric. I find that matching fabric and pattern to be one of the most difficult things about garment sewing. so it's always good to see what doesn't.work. that said, it looks great on you. again, thanks for sharing! Mary T.
JETrinity said... (1/15/11 11:32 AM) Reply
This looks like a nice investment of your time. Love it.
Nancy K said... (1/15/11 9:47 AM) Reply
It's a shame that the fabric is so unstable, but for however long it lasts, you made a very good save and it's lovely.
becca a said... (1/15/11 9:15 AM) Reply
The fabric sounds awful to work with, but your finished result is stunning.
mchick said... (1/15/11 6:05 AM) Reply
I love reading your reviews Ann. As always you have made something wonderful, and although it may have been longer and harder than your previous jacket, it looks absolutely stunning in the pictures. A cross between a glamorous medieval pageboy and a futuristic moonwalker!
marthamyers said... (1/14/11 10:35 PM) Reply
Thanks for sharing the challenges. It is tempting to only post the huge successes, and you are so productive and so creative, I thought you were invincible. Well, maybe you are invincible. The resulting jacket is quite stunning. Your pocket trick is quite clever and the resulting jacket looks terrific on you. Thanks for the review.
Barbara V said... (1/14/11 8:58 PM) Reply
You did it! Having seen the fabric and your garment half sewn, I can say congratulations on finishing it before it totally unraveled. It now looks beautiful and should stay together for you to enjoy wearing around! I really like the look of the black accent serged edges. Great job.
DorothyK said... (1/14/11 8:32 PM) Reply
The fabric must have been a nightmare to sew, but having said that, the finished product is stunning. The choices you made to mitigate the various problems really worked. Looks fantastic on you. I must make this pattern.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 9095

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Pattern Details