SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2949 (MISSES' JACKET)

13 more reviews
Viewed 515 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/11 6:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
The fabric must have been a nightmare to sew, but having said that, the finished product is stunning. The choices you made to mitigate the various problems really worked. Looks fantastic on you. I must make this pattern.
1/14/11 8:32 PM
Barbara V said...
You did it! Having seen the fabric and your garment half sewn, I can say congratulations on finishing it before it totally unraveled. It now looks beautiful and should stay together for you to enjoy wearing around! I really like the look of the black accent serged edges. Great job.
1/14/11 8:58 PM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for sharing the challenges. It is tempting to only post the huge successes, and you are so productive and so creative, I thought you were invincible. Well, maybe you are invincible. The resulting jacket is quite stunning. Your pocket trick is quite clever and the resulting jacket looks terrific on you. Thanks for the review.
1/14/11 10:35 PM
mchick said...
I love reading your reviews Ann. As always you have made something wonderful, and although it may have been longer and harder than your previous jacket, it looks absolutely stunning in the pictures. A cross between a glamorous medieval pageboy and a futuristic moonwalker!
1/15/11 6:05 AM
becca a said...
The fabric sounds awful to work with, but your finished result is stunning.
1/15/11 9:15 AM
Nancy K said...
It's a shame that the fabric is so unstable, but for however long it lasts, you made a very good save and it's lovely.
1/15/11 9:47 AM
JETrinity said...
This looks like a nice investment of your time. Love it.
1/15/11 11:32 AM
taylormade said...
Hi Ann, what a great review. thanks so much for sharing you experience with this fabric. I have made this pattern before with great success (boucle sweater knit)', so it was really instructive to see it made up in a more "challenging" fabric. I find that matching fabric and pattern to be one of the most difficult things about garment sewing. so it's always good to see what doesn't.work. that said, it looks great on you. again, thanks for sharing! Mary T.
1/15/11 11:49 AM
taylormade said...
Hi Ann, what a great review. thanks so much for sharing you experience with this fabric. I have made this pattern before with great success (boucle sweater knit)', so it was really instructive to see it made up in a more "challenging" fabric. I find that matching fabric and pattern to be one of the most difficult things about garment sewing. so it's always good to see what doesn't.work. that said, it looks great on you. again, thanks for sharing! Mary T.
1/15/11 11:49 AM
Annette1 said...
This has got to be one of my favorite outfits of yours so far. :o) And you ought to patent those pockets. :o)
1/17/11 0:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick B5751

photo
by: Louweezy23

Review
Vogue Patterns 8775

photo
by: lilikats

Review
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now