Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
La Mia Boutique Magazine: 12-2009-13 (Tunic dress) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 226 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:EveS
photo
Friend of PR
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/11 8:52 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
This top looks fantastic on you! And such pretty fabric.
1/17/11 9:22 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic dress! It was well worth the alterations, and thanks for the comparative analysis with the other patterns of similar styles! (oh, and I go up one size from my Burda size for LMB, too)
1/17/11 9:23 AM
EveS said...
Squirrellypoo, do you find their waist msmts are smaller than Burdas - even if you size up?...I'm trying to decipher their msmt charts and it looks like they are. Trying to avoid the possibility that it's ME! lol.
1/17/11 9:27 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a great dress.
1/17/11 9:39 AM
SewWil said...
VERY nice! Looks great on you. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/17/11 10:33 AM
squirrellypoo said...
EveS - I'm pretty much a standard Burda 42 (no alterations needed). If I go just by LMB's size chart, I should be a 46, but I tried this for my first LMB pattern and it was too large for me, so since that I always do a 44 and that fits me pretty well. That being said, I think all my LMB projects have been knits, where a cm here or there wouldn't matter much... Does this help at all?
1/17/11 11:39 AM
EveS said...
Actually, that helps a lot, squirrelly! I *used* to be a 42 but have graduated to a 44 right now, so the 46 should be the ticket. So...I think this pattern runs a bit small (it even looks tight on Miss Beanpole's arms in the mag) and yes, I have some extra fluff. I'm tempted to try a 46 plus just for comparison.
1/17/11 12:09 PM
MNBarb said...
The textured fabric adds such pizzazz to the pattern I'm glad you caved and bought it. Very nice in the tunic length.
1/17/11 12:14 PM
Twinset said...
Very nice dress! Thanks for reviewing it!
1/17/11 12:30 PM
JaniePDX said...
Super cute--and thanks for the info on LMB sizing. I've got a 3-pack arriving any day now. Your top came out perfect--definitely NOT your MIL's tunic.
1/17/11 2:47 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress--this looks great on you!
1/17/11 5:01 PM
Natasha B said...
Gorgeous dress! Fabric's great and you look fantastic.
1/17/11 7:25 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this! In fact, I see you're making an entire new wardrobe, from the thumbnails in the Review Gallery. :o) I recently ordered the plus version of the magazine, and it has some really cute things in it. I thought the same thing when I saw the tracing pages ... I think I can actually FOLLOW THE LINES (and FIND the lines). :o) Beautiful job!
1/17/11 11:36 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Great work! I subscribe to LMB so I recognised it immediately and thought, oh good, someone else sews LMB so I can see how these things look on real people. It looks great on you!
1/18/11 2:44 AM
mochimo said...
Great tunic! I like everything about it and it looks great on you. I sometimes buy LMB but I don't have this issue :-(
1/18/11 9:47 AM
Kayseri said...
Great dress, and I'm very jealous of your fabric.
1/18/11 3:32 PM
Christas said...
This looks VERY cute on you! I finally had gotten to the point where I was happy with my patterns and pattern magazines, and now you make me want ANOTHER pattern magazine. You didn't even have to twist my arm or nuthin'! I love your new dress. Those little boys of yours are going to be so proud to show off their very stylish mom!
1/26/11 3:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Drafted from RTW NA
photo
Review by katib on 2/24/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-101 Blouse
photo
Review by Skaapie on 3/1/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3278 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7321 Pattern
Burda 7321 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us