SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> La Mia Boutique Magazine> 12-2009-13 (Tunic dress)

Viewed 228 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/11 8:52 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
This looks VERY cute on you! I finally had gotten to the point where I was happy with my patterns and pattern magazines, and now you make me want ANOTHER pattern magazine. You didn't even have to twist my arm or nuthin'! I love your new dress. Those little boys of yours are going to be so proud to show off their very stylish mom!
1/26/11 3:53 PM
Kayseri said...
Great dress, and I'm very jealous of your fabric.
1/18/11 3:32 PM
mochimo said...
Great tunic! I like everything about it and it looks great on you. I sometimes buy LMB but I don't have this issue :-(
1/18/11 9:47 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Great work! I subscribe to LMB so I recognised it immediately and thought, oh good, someone else sews LMB so I can see how these things look on real people. It looks great on you!
1/18/11 2:44 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this! In fact, I see you're making an entire new wardrobe, from the thumbnails in the Review Gallery. :o) I recently ordered the plus version of the magazine, and it has some really cute things in it. I thought the same thing when I saw the tracing pages ... I think I can actually FOLLOW THE LINES (and FIND the lines). :o) Beautiful job!
1/17/11 11:36 PM
Natasha B said...
Gorgeous dress! Fabric's great and you look fantastic.
1/17/11 7:25 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress--this looks great on you!
1/17/11 5:01 PM
JaniePDX said...
Super cute--and thanks for the info on LMB sizing. I've got a 3-pack arriving any day now. Your top came out perfect--definitely NOT your MIL's tunic.
1/17/11 2:47 PM
Twinset said...
Very nice dress! Thanks for reviewing it!
1/17/11 12:30 PM
MNBarb said...
The textured fabric adds such pizzazz to the pattern I'm glad you caved and bought it. Very nice in the tunic length.
1/17/11 12:14 PM
EveS said...
Actually, that helps a lot, squirrelly! I *used* to be a 42 but have graduated to a 44 right now, so the 46 should be the ticket. So...I think this pattern runs a bit small (it even looks tight on Miss Beanpole's arms in the mag) and yes, I have some extra fluff. I'm tempted to try a 46 plus just for comparison.
1/17/11 12:09 PM
squirrellypoo said...
EveS - I'm pretty much a standard Burda 42 (no alterations needed). If I go just by LMB's size chart, I should be a 46, but I tried this for my first LMB pattern and it was too large for me, so since that I always do a 44 and that fits me pretty well. That being said, I think all my LMB projects have been knits, where a cm here or there wouldn't matter much... Does this help at all?
1/17/11 11:39 AM
SewWil said...
VERY nice! Looks great on you. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/17/11 10:33 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a great dress.
1/17/11 9:39 AM
EveS said...
Squirrellypoo, do you find their waist msmts are smaller than Burdas - even if you size up?...I'm trying to decipher their msmt charts and it looks like they are. Trying to avoid the possibility that it's ME! lol.
1/17/11 9:27 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic dress! It was well worth the alterations, and thanks for the comparative analysis with the other patterns of similar styles! (oh, and I go up one size from my Burda size for LMB, too)
1/17/11 9:23 AM
pterion said...
This top looks fantastic on you! And such pretty fabric.
1/17/11 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3696

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Vogue Patterns 1329

photo
by: SewLuva

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

More Info
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

More Info