SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Premie pattern downloaded (Preemie Sleeper)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1112 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:7/4/04 10:58 PM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Wow! These little outfits are adorable and for a great cause.
7/4/04 11:30 PM
edube said...
Very inspiring. Something I will definitely look into, since I have a lot of scraps after sewing for a new granddaughter. Thanks.
7/4/04 11:51 PM
minieme said...
How cute! I love your fluorescent tri-colored version!
7/5/04 3:42 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Those are so cute! A great way to use up the remaining gross of snaps I bought 12 years ago, too!
7/5/04 7:33 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Oops, I'd better tell DH what I'm going to do - before he sees the newborn sleeper links under web "Favorites" :-)
7/5/04 7:37 AM
Lori V said...
So cute Debbie, you and your ds did a great job.
7/5/04 7:48 AM
JDpenelope said...
Debbie, Wow! You should have been in the charity contest--you would have been near the top of the list! How cute that your son joined in--you are giving him a great lesson, as well as just having fun together. I have put this in my favorites for the free patterns and the inspiration.
7/5/04 9:14 AM
Hilary said...
These are so cute! My daughter was less than two lbs when she was born, and these kinds of items, sewn by strangers, are appreciated more than you will ever know :o) They are adorable! Thanks for the links for the sleepers- I couldn't find any sleeper patterns when she was born that would fit her, even after coming home! Great that your son helped too-thanks for the review.
7/5/04 9:34 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thank you so much for posting this Debbie! One of the newest "nieces" was a premie and I would love to be able to sew her some clothes that fit.
7/5/04 11:35 AM
Simple Mom said...
I'd like to encourage any of you who might be inclined to sew for your local NICU. My last baby was a 3 pound preemie and it really helps things feel a little bit normal in the NICU when you can dress your baby in real clothes. At first they can only wear hats diapers and booties or socks, no snaps in incubators. The snaps get hot! But then when they graduate to crib the cute sleepers like the ones shown here are so welcome! (It was so hard to not be able to dress my baby at first! Especially when they were weaning him off of the heat in the incubator! He was cold and I knew it.) I only had a couple of things that were preemie the whole time. I brought him home at just under 6 pounds. Sometimes they come home around 5 pounds, just depending upon their health and how well they are feeding. The first time I held my little tiny red baby he had on a handmade hat made of baby yarn. It helped to know someone cared. Believe me unless you have been there you can't know how alone NICU families can feel. You have this brand new baby that you don't know whether to bawl over or burst with pride over. Anything homemade helps to make life feel a little less strange after a strange entry into the world. Normally we are so happy at a birth, we were so scared and so sad. Thank you to anyone who provides little things to the NICU. ;o) I sure appreciated it. (Call your NICU and see what they need.) There are many other good charities to give to also. I love to make newborn booties for LDS humanitarian aid. www.providentliving.org
1/3/05 10:08 AM
Simple Mom said...

1/3/05 10:16 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Debbie, what a wonderful gift for preemies & experience for your son. Somehow I missed this the first time through, but it's a wonderful, worthwhile cause.
1/9/06 8:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 2443

photo
by: jxncait

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now