SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7587 (COAT)

3 more reviews
Viewed 587 times 
Reviewed by:mochimo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mochimostarstar
ITALY
Member since: 7/28/08
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/11 9:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lil Flo said...
I think you did a great job. I really like the remake. I agree, the orignal was BIG. Now it looks very nice.
1/18/11 9:29 AM
Nan Kay said...
Great improvement! Your new coat fits you so much better, and looks really cute. To get faux fur seams to not be bulky you have to trim all that excess fluff off the backing inside the seam allowance, then they will lay down and not feel so bulky. Peggy's stitch eraser that is designed to remove unwanted embroidery stitches is really good for removing the extra fur.
1/18/11 9:40 AM
Catbird said...
How clever of you! I adore the original coat, but sympathize with the problems you had when you tried to wear it. I think you've done a great job and have made something new and special out of it. Nan Kay's idea is a good one regarding the bulky seams. And do I remember correctly that invisibly tacking the seam allowances down before lining helps to keep faux fur seams under control-? I can see some of the tightness you describe in the underarm seams in the back -- it seems to be pulling a bit there. I wonder if you were to let those out a tiny bit, as well as do the flat seam treatments, whether that would give you an easier fit. Probably the last thing you want to do is go back at this, but you seem underwhelmed with your creation and that's a shame. I hope you find a way to wear it happily and proudly!
1/18/11 11:01 AM
SewWil said...
I love your coat! Looks good on you.
1/18/11 11:30 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Ooh, I totally love your "after" version -- great end result!! :)
1/18/11 1:18 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant, all the more because you can now wear the treasured coat.
1/18/11 3:02 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a fabulous save you were able to do! You cannot tell at all that you pieced together the front. I love the new coat and agree it is "more manageable" to wear than the original larger coat. I hope you will change you mind and come to love it and wear it!
1/18/11 3:22 PM
carolynw said...
Great save and your coat is lovely. I am in the midst of making a coat from the same pattern - the instructions that came with the pattern were for another Burda design so I sent them a note and they sent the correct directions for me to download. However, as you say it is super easy to put together. I love yoru version made in fur - very elegant
1/18/11 5:33 PM
lesliez said...
Wow! Your coat looks great, period, but I'm even more impressed after seeing your before and after photo. What a special coat!
1/19/11 0:02 AM
becca a said...
I think your coat is gorgeous! What an improvement! The new, trim version is very flattering. Maybe you will like it better in a couple of weeks when you have a little more time to forget the frustrations of working on it.
1/19/11 9:01 AM
Anniinbc said...
I love your coat and I think the white faux fur is so nice. Nice save on the er, 'error'.
1/19/11 11:23 AM
lamstu said...
Your coat is amazing and beautiful. The old one was clearly much too large! I agree about how to tame the seam allowances - shave or trim the pile, then hand tack them to the backing to make them lay flat. As for the fit, if you haven't enough seam allowance to let it out, maybe you can make a gusset (if you still have any of the fur). Threads magazine had a KKing tutorial on their website about how to make gussets. I hope you wear it because it looks fabulous!!
1/19/11 7:40 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Well, it's much improved, and it looks absolutely fabulous. After you calm down about how much time it took, I'm sure you'll start wearing this a lot :-). Especially -this- winter.. You shouldn't really have seam allowances in fur. What you did to fix the front, zigzag together pieces without seam allowances, is a fine way to get a good seam that doesn't bulk out. Next time :-).. Meanwhile, the slightly short sleeves are perfect for those red gloves! Just wear it out and you'll see how many compliments you get...
1/20/11 4:52 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty coat! It looks wonderful on you! I hope that you end up liking it more, and that you can find a way to make the seams more comfortable.
1/23/11 1:54 AM
Barb in Northwoods said...
WOW! I think you did a wonderful job on your coat. It looks great on you, and the pictures of you wearing it look even better than the ones of the models on the pattern envelope. Just goes to show what can be done with "repurposed fabric " I've been wanting to make a coat like this but thought it might be too baggy. Thank you for the review, and Ilook forward to seeing your other reviews!
2/10/11 2:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2009-34

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-135

photo
by: barebear

Review