SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5466 

34 more reviews
Viewed 1223 times 
Reviewed by:Anne Cherry
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Anne Cherrystar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/2/10
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/11 2:14 AM
Last Updated:7/29/11 10:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
These are a perfect example of how the fabric makes the skirt. All of your skirts are awesome and it was interesting to read about your journey learning various lining techniques. You make me want to go home pull out my straight skirt pattern and whip up a couple versions of my own!
8/12/11 9:41 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Hi Frantic - another Sydneysider! I found the Marimekko-like print at Rockdale Spotlight! Had to do a double-take when I saw it...but there it was...in amongst the quilting cottons!! It's a definite knock off but I don't think most can tell. I've been a Marimekko fan for years ...may just lash out and make a skirt out of the 'real thing'...but for now, my version works just fine. In fact, I wore it today! The black-on-taupe was a fashion fabric from Remnant Warehouse in Alexandria. As usual, I wasn't looking for it....which is when I always find 'perfect things'! I try to let myself go when this happens cos I know from repeat disappointments that I have a hard time finding what I want when I have a set thing in my head!!
7/30/11 3:26 AM
rivergum said...
Oooh, I love your prints! I don't really wear skirts, but I like the Ikea prints for light between season jackets to wear with plain pants. The marimekko and black-on-taupe are prints to die for. Where did you buy them?
7/30/11 0:04 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Mareac - Aaagh! I went back and re-read the contest rules (3rd time!). This is the first PR contest I've entered...realise now that entries need to be sewn within a specific timeframe. Ha! Wouldn't it be fantastic to have time in a month to make seven skirts!!! I've written to the contest moderator and requested to be removed. Sigh.
7/29/11 7:17 PM
Anne Cherry said...
ArtAttack - Du bist verklempt...Ich bin verruckt nach diesen Rocken! No, I am not fluent in German :P Give this pattern a try. I think I always preferred narrow pants/jeans because they were more slimming on me. I am larger on top and anything that puffs out around my waist/hips just makes me look larger all over. I think this straight skirt achieves the 'sleeker' look that pants/jeans do.
7/29/11 7:16 PM
Anne Cherry said...
MaryMary86 - Since I began sewing again last Nov, I've become much more aware of what I feel best in. Have had several 'royal chucks' (as mother always called closet/drawer clean outs). Now I have only clothes that I really wear!
7/29/11 7:15 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Sewiing Sue - Hmmm - will definitely look for 'colour grabber'. I still have some of the quilt cottons so I could recreate my faves (eg: Marimeko-like Print and Crazy Zig Zag) once I've washed with colour grab. Though, they have both been pre-washed...is it too late to 'colour grab'?
7/29/11 7:14 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Sew4Fun - Thanks! I think the different fabrics let me get away with the same pattern.
7/29/11 7:11 PM
JenniferBee said...
Great Skirts and fabric choices, love them all.
7/29/11 7:01 PM
no7262 said...
I love them all! Nora :)
7/29/11 1:19 PM
marec said...
Great review and a nice collection of skirts. I love the fabrics chosen. Which of these are for the contest? I only see one made during the month-am I missing something?
7/29/11 12:30 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! I'm verklempt! What a fabulous wardrobe of skirts! I've never been much of a skirt kind of girl but you've convinced me to convert! Great review!
7/29/11 11:46 AM
marymary86 said...
Nicely done! Great review and a great skirt. All I want is a small collection of TNT patterns. I love your philosophy!
7/29/11 10:48 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
There is a difference between apparel cotton and quilting cotton, but the latter shouldn't fade. (I'm trying to find the article on the techincal difference.) When washing before cutting, use a color grabber product. If you get quality quilting fabric, it shouldn't fade--where I live that would be about $10 a yard, given the recent price increases in cotton. Every skirt you made is lovely. Re the thickness of the flat-lined skirt, maybe using a 3/8 SA (industry width) would help. Great review!
7/29/11 10:01 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous skirts Anne! I'm all for sewing the same pattern if you love to wear it. I certainly do.
7/29/11 9:32 AM
Lynnelle said...
Wonderful skirts! Very stylish.
6/20/11 1:34 PM
marthamyers said...
Fabulous skirts! Love the lining in the dotted one.
4/9/11 8:41 AM
Sharonspils said...
Great skirts and you just have to have a TNT.
4/9/11 4:51 AM
cleverkitty said...
these all look wonderful, it's great to have pattern that works out so well.
4/8/11 9:02 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Thanks for all the encouragement! Really appreciate it! Now going to try underlining with silk organza for a loose woven b+w 'birds eye' wool version :-)
3/31/11 7:44 AM
Terri A said...
All your skirts are fantastic!
3/29/11 2:55 AM
barebear said...
Wow! These skirts are great! My fav is (of course) the crazy fabric one you show above, but they're all lovely. Thanks for the excellent review!
3/28/11 11:46 PM
sewtime said...
What a cute skirt, really love the design!!
3/28/11 9:39 PM
Christas said...
WOW!!! Each version you have made of this pattern is absolutely WONDERFUL! You definitely have found your TNT skirt pattern. I would love each one of your skirts to be in MY closet! :-)
3/28/11 5:40 PM
katlew03 said...
Very nice. Good basic pattern.
3/27/11 10:37 PM
Renren said...
These skirts are fabulous! I loved the zigzag/Missoni type one in the gallery window; then I opened the review and was just continually wowed with each new skirt! Fabulous and thanks for bringing the flat lining tip to my attention as well as the Threads DVDs!
3/27/11 3:30 AM
JETrinity said...
Very nice job on sewing. Congratulations on your first review and look forward to more.
2/17/11 11:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice skirt, love your fabric.
1/20/11 5:30 AM
Scheryka said...
This pattern is also my TNT. Your fabric IS quite fun. Very pretty colors.
1/19/11 8:30 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Thanks FreyaStark - I really enjoyed making it...and wearing it's even better! Majorily reinforces all my reasons for getting back into sewing clothes again! Loving it! But not getting much else done! ;P
1/19/11 7:54 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very pretty - and congratulations on your first PR review!
1/19/11 5:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 4966

photo
by: Aurelie

Review
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now