SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> To the Point (To The Point Origami Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1611 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 385 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/04 7:24 PM
Last Updated:7/5/04 7:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
Your coat is lovely, Ann. It looks good and your fabric choice was an excellent one. I like this design but the one size scared me off. I'd swim in it.
7/5/04 8:41 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
That sure looks nice on you! Your fabric is perfect for it.
7/5/04 8:56 PM
jlg said...
Ann, your coat is fantastic. It is very dramatic but stylish and wearable. It looks great on you.
7/5/04 9:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
Mudcat: I am only 5'3" tall. The trick is to fold out the extra width and be sure the fabric drapes well.
7/5/04 10:38 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I am 5'4" and reduced the length even more than Ann and it still worked. I also reduced the circumference extensively. That, however, required a lot of redrafting of angles. I probably get more compliments on this jacket than anything I have mede. Ann is right, it is dramatic looking. Ann, your coat is wonderful. It shows off the drape and your double sided fabric perfectly. You can certainly wear this style.
7/6/04 0:05 AM
Ann Smith said...
I didn't reduce the length at all. When I reduced the circumference I just folded straight up and down each pattern piece so I had no redrafting or changing of angles. Very simple process to make the coat narrower.
7/6/04 1:20 AM
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful coat, Ann! I've been chased off by the one size, too. I can't say enough good things about the fabric you've chosen. Too wonderful! Where/when did you find it? Great review with excellent pictures and details well documented. Thanks again, Ann
7/6/04 9:22 AM
Kathryn said...
Ann, you've done it again--made the perfect garment to showcase a piece of spectacular fabric. Great job! I would love to be a fly on the wall and peek into your closet--I bet it's filled with equally fantastic garments--but then there's always that flyswatter thing to worry about...
7/6/04 9:25 AM
D1Diva said...
Your review makes me want to try one of her patterns, although maybe something not quite as dramatic to start with. Your coat is really beautiful! I also love your necklace - it really pulls the whole look together!
7/6/04 9:27 AM
Ann Smith said...
MaryBeth, I bought the fabric last December from FabricMartFabrics.com for only $1.99/yd. Total cost for coat $5.00! I think it may be a home dec fabric.
7/6/04 10:09 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Fabulous! I love it on you!
7/6/04 10:17 AM
MaryBeth said...
Just too incredible, Ann. You're a genius in combining fabric and pattern and I'm now dedicated to paying close attention to your choices, being the total deunce I am!
7/6/04 10:48 AM
Claudia Resch said...
Looks wonderful on you. Much nicer to see on a real person. I have that fabric too - mmm....
7/12/04 7:03 PM
Batik said...
Lovely on you - great proportions. Reminds me of the lead actress in Enchanted April.
10/28/10 12:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now