Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: To the Point (To The Point Origami Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1604 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/04 7:24 PM
Last Updated:7/5/04 7:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
Your coat is lovely, Ann. It looks good and your fabric choice was an excellent one. I like this design but the one size scared me off. I'd swim in it.
7/5/04 8:41 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
That sure looks nice on you! Your fabric is perfect for it.
7/5/04 8:56 PM
jlg said...
Ann, your coat is fantastic. It is very dramatic but stylish and wearable. It looks great on you.
7/5/04 9:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
Mudcat: I am only 5'3" tall. The trick is to fold out the extra width and be sure the fabric drapes well.
7/5/04 10:38 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I am 5'4" and reduced the length even more than Ann and it still worked. I also reduced the circumference extensively. That, however, required a lot of redrafting of angles. I probably get more compliments on this jacket than anything I have mede. Ann is right, it is dramatic looking. Ann, your coat is wonderful. It shows off the drape and your double sided fabric perfectly. You can certainly wear this style.
7/6/04 0:05 AM
Ann Smith said...
I didn't reduce the length at all. When I reduced the circumference I just folded straight up and down each pattern piece so I had no redrafting or changing of angles. Very simple process to make the coat narrower.
7/6/04 1:20 AM
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful coat, Ann! I've been chased off by the one size, too. I can't say enough good things about the fabric you've chosen. Too wonderful! Where/when did you find it? Great review with excellent pictures and details well documented. Thanks again, Ann
7/6/04 9:22 AM
Kathryn said...
Ann, you've done it again--made the perfect garment to showcase a piece of spectacular fabric. Great job! I would love to be a fly on the wall and peek into your closet--I bet it's filled with equally fantastic garments--but then there's always that flyswatter thing to worry about...
7/6/04 9:25 AM
D1Diva said...
Your review makes me want to try one of her patterns, although maybe something not quite as dramatic to start with. Your coat is really beautiful! I also love your necklace - it really pulls the whole look together!
7/6/04 9:27 AM
Ann Smith said...
MaryBeth, I bought the fabric last December from FabricMartFabrics.com for only $1.99/yd. Total cost for coat $5.00! I think it may be a home dec fabric.
7/6/04 10:09 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Fabulous! I love it on you!
7/6/04 10:17 AM
MaryBeth said...
Just too incredible, Ann. You're a genius in combining fabric and pattern and I'm now dedicated to paying close attention to your choices, being the total deunce I am!
7/6/04 10:48 AM
Claudia Resch said...
Looks wonderful on you. Much nicer to see on a real person. I have that fabric too - mmm....
7/12/04 7:03 PM
Batik said...
Lovely on you - great proportions. Reminds me of the lead actress in Enchanted April.
10/28/10 12:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6620
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 1/15/07
Read Review

New Look 6352 Pattern
New Look 6352 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Adele - Violette Field Th
photo
Review by thornberry on 1/5/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us