SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2692 (Misses Dress or Gown)

22 more reviews
Viewed 936 times 
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo

 
 
About callmeRuthstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 12:43 PM
Last Updated:5/4/11 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.57 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.57 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Beautiful bridesmaid dress! I'm glad your daughter likes it as much as you and I agree that the style would make a very cute casual dress too. So nice that you have the fitting issues resolved. And... the side zipper looks perfectly installed. Great work!
1/20/11 5:16 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. I agree the dress would be nice in a casual fabric.
1/20/11 10:33 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely work. That looks like a very useful pattern with the other completly different top options as well.
1/21/11 0:58 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL! I too love that it's the matte side of the fabric (much classier, I think). :o) As for the zipper, WHAT ZIPPER? Heh-heh-heh.
1/23/11 9:47 AM
Christas said...
Nice dress, Ruth! Your side zip, and the fit of the dress on your daughter is perfect. Very nice sewing, as always!!! :-)
2/1/11 11:55 AM
Picnicfan said...
A beautiful dress. I agree about the side zipper - you've sewn it in perfectly. I have a pattern with a side zipper, so maybe now I'll try it.
2/16/11 2:28 AM
newmama said...
What a beautiful dress! Your daughter looks lovely. The color is gorgeous, and I'm a fan of the "wrong" side of the satin as well. Thank you for this review.
2/16/11 9:36 AM
MamaSewing said...
I love the color of the dress as well, and the neckline looks perfect! Well done!
2/16/11 5:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two very pretty dresses, and both beautifully made. I love the print fabric, too.
5/4/11 3:12 AM
Mushywear said...
Both versions are beautiful. I really love the casual gauzy fabric for summers. Your daughter looks lovely in both!
5/4/11 3:23 AM
Gelbean said...
Both dresses are beautiful! It's great when you can use one pattern to create two completely different looks, one formal and one casual, just by fabric choice.
5/4/11 8:33 AM
Christas said...
Ooooh, I love the second version, too! That fabric gives it a whole different look. Ellen looks so pretty! Very nice sewing.
5/4/11 8:40 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a fun dress in a fun fabric! (I love that your daughter still twirls!)
5/4/11 9:02 AM
JTink said...
Beautiful dresses for a beautiful young lady
5/4/11 10:46 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Both versions are so pretty! Great job there! And a very happy looking, lovely daughter you have!
5/4/11 11:18 AM
TanyaMT said...
Beautiful dresses, both, and your daughter is lovely.
5/4/11 1:43 PM
21wale said...
Both dresses are lovely! Isn't it great to use the same pattern in very different fabrics?
5/4/11 3:16 PM
sammye857 said...
Did you sew the zipper enclosed into the lining where you don't see the raw edges? How is that done? Was raising the neckline difficult?
6/15/12 6:02 PM
mesewlot said...
Just now seeing your review~ what a fantastic job on both dresses! You sew beautifully! Perfect setting of the zipper.
7/11/12 11:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-108

photo
by: lucylal

Review