Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2692 (Misses Dress or Gown) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 921 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo
About callmeRuthstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 12:43 PM
Last Updated:5/4/11 2:26 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Beautiful bridesmaid dress! I'm glad your daughter likes it as much as you and I agree that the style would make a very cute casual dress too. So nice that you have the fitting issues resolved. And... the side zipper looks perfectly installed. Great work!
1/20/11 5:16 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. I agree the dress would be nice in a casual fabric.
1/20/11 10:33 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely work. That looks like a very useful pattern with the other completly different top options as well.
1/21/11 0:58 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL! I too love that it's the matte side of the fabric (much classier, I think). :o) As for the zipper, WHAT ZIPPER? Heh-heh-heh.
1/23/11 9:47 AM
Christas said...
Nice dress, Ruth! Your side zip, and the fit of the dress on your daughter is perfect. Very nice sewing, as always!!! :-)
2/1/11 11:55 AM
Picnicfan said...
A beautiful dress. I agree about the side zipper - you've sewn it in perfectly. I have a pattern with a side zipper, so maybe now I'll try it.
2/16/11 2:28 AM
newmama said...
What a beautiful dress! Your daughter looks lovely. The color is gorgeous, and I'm a fan of the "wrong" side of the satin as well. Thank you for this review.
2/16/11 9:36 AM
MamaSewing said...
I love the color of the dress as well, and the neckline looks perfect! Well done!
2/16/11 5:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two very pretty dresses, and both beautifully made. I love the print fabric, too.
5/4/11 3:12 AM
Mushywear said...
Both versions are beautiful. I really love the casual gauzy fabric for summers. Your daughter looks lovely in both!
5/4/11 3:23 AM
Gelbean said...
Both dresses are beautiful! It's great when you can use one pattern to create two completely different looks, one formal and one casual, just by fabric choice.
5/4/11 8:33 AM
Christas said...
Ooooh, I love the second version, too! That fabric gives it a whole different look. Ellen looks so pretty! Very nice sewing.
5/4/11 8:40 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a fun dress in a fun fabric! (I love that your daughter still twirls!)
5/4/11 9:02 AM
JTink said...
Beautiful dresses for a beautiful young lady
5/4/11 10:46 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Both versions are so pretty! Great job there! And a very happy looking, lovely daughter you have!
5/4/11 11:18 AM
TanyaMT said...
Beautiful dresses, both, and your daughter is lovely.
5/4/11 1:43 PM
21wale said...
Both dresses are lovely! Isn't it great to use the same pattern in very different fabrics?
5/4/11 3:16 PM
sammye857 said...
Did you sew the zipper enclosed into the lining where you don't see the raw edges? How is that done? Was raising the neckline difficult?
6/15/12 6:02 PM
mesewlot said...
Just now seeing your review~ what a fantastic job on both dresses! You sew beautifully! Perfect setting of the zipper.
7/11/12 11:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Colette Patterns 1021 Hazel
photo
Review by SusanMenta on 9/6/12
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-8
photo
Review by AmyG on 7/27/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2074 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2074 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us