SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-122 (September cover dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 815 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 7:48 AM
Last Updated:5/24/11 8:57 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lakaribane said...
Purple!!! I love it! I need one!
1/20/11 8:14 AM
dbsewer said...
Very cute dress and in purple you look like royalty:-). Love what you did with the sleeves, as those flap sleeves look unflattering and useless.
1/20/11 8:28 AM
MissCelie said...
I love this dress. I had no idea it could be pulled off with a long sleeve. Great, great job and thanks for all the tips.
1/20/11 9:42 AM
sleeping wolf said...
What an amazing dress. Looks even better with long sleeves than the original version. So impressed that you could construct it from Burda Style's enigmatic instructions and to grade it up from a petite as well. Congratulations.
1/20/11 10:17 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
The purple is a fantastic color for you, and I love your addition of the sleeves. The sleeve flappy weirdnesses have kept me from this pattern--perhaps I'll give it another look.
1/20/11 10:26 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very awesome dress on you. The line drawing didn't impress me much when I saw it, but I love your version
1/20/11 10:44 AM
pterion said...
Love this dress on you. The adaptations for fit and adding the sleeves worked out so well!
1/20/11 11:09 AM
crisford said...
That looks so fabulous and elegant! The sleeves were a brilliant idea and makes the dress so much more wearable! Gorgeous color on you, too. I have never tried ponte di roma but this is encouraging.
1/20/11 11:31 AM
ALY said...
This dress does look fantastic on you. And I like the long sleeves much better than the flaps.
1/20/11 11:55 AM
Barbara V said...
Great job with all the changes. It looks fabulous on you!
1/20/11 1:56 PM
SusiM said...
Absolutely STUNNING!! What a very helpful review, too! Love it! Love it!
1/20/11 2:27 PM
jennybaxt said...
Great dress and great review. Thanks so much. Looks terrific with long sleeves.
1/20/11 2:29 PM
kremmer said...
Great dress! I love that you have given it long sleeves - so much better for a winter dress!
1/20/11 4:32 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning.
1/20/11 6:03 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This dress looks incredible on you.
1/20/11 6:54 PM
Elona said...
Your addition of the sleeves makes this dress shockingly good-looking! I mean, it changes the design profoundly, into something grownup and classic. Great work!
1/20/11 7:58 PM
Kayseri said...
Totally outstanding version of this dress.
1/21/11 2:33 AM
FreyaStark said...
Your version is a lot nicer than the cap-effect sleeve treatment of the original. The colour is glorious, and the fit is perfect.
1/21/11 3:19 AM
Sic said...
Lovely dress! I like the long sleeve version - the "sleeves" on the original are so weird.
1/21/11 7:31 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! It is incredibly chic and flattering. The sleeves are a huge improvement over the original pattern design.
1/21/11 9:33 AM
michellep74 said...
This looks amazing on you! Thanks for the incredibly helpful review!
1/21/11 2:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is soooo cute and it looks fab on you! Great style!
1/21/11 10:03 PM
ImListening said...
wow. this is a seriously good looking dress on you. I'll look forward to your pink spring version. Thanks for the thorough review
1/24/11 8:40 PM
marec said...
How fun to see seasonal versions! I think this is a wonderful style on you.
5/24/11 10:05 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress, love the tulip sleeves! It looks fabulous on you.
5/24/11 10:18 AM
mendospot said...
Did I saw "Wow!?" No, because I'm speechless!!!
5/24/11 10:26 AM
lillyjill said...
Wow ! I love it
5/24/11 12:55 PM
SewWil said...
This dress looks great both ways. I love the tulip sleeve. Good job!
5/24/11 1:27 PM
poppykettle said...
I love your dress! It looks gorgeous and I love the purple and the seam lines. Great work!
5/25/11 0:23 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Very flattering!
5/25/11 7:31 AM
Meredith P said...
Love both versions!!! Reading your review reminded me how much I loved this pattern (sans flaps). Do you recall what sleeves you used on your winter version?
6/12/11 10:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 8278

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now