Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-122 (September cover dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 806 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 7:48 AM
Last Updated:5/24/11 8:57 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lakaribane said...
Purple!!! I love it! I need one!
1/20/11 8:14 AM
dbsewer said...
Very cute dress and in purple you look like royalty:-). Love what you did with the sleeves, as those flap sleeves look unflattering and useless.
1/20/11 8:28 AM
MissCelie said...
I love this dress. I had no idea it could be pulled off with a long sleeve. Great, great job and thanks for all the tips.
1/20/11 9:42 AM
sleeping wolf said...
What an amazing dress. Looks even better with long sleeves than the original version. So impressed that you could construct it from Burda Style's enigmatic instructions and to grade it up from a petite as well. Congratulations.
1/20/11 10:17 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
The purple is a fantastic color for you, and I love your addition of the sleeves. The sleeve flappy weirdnesses have kept me from this pattern--perhaps I'll give it another look.
1/20/11 10:26 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very awesome dress on you. The line drawing didn't impress me much when I saw it, but I love your version
1/20/11 10:44 AM
pterion said...
Love this dress on you. The adaptations for fit and adding the sleeves worked out so well!
1/20/11 11:09 AM
crisford said...
That looks so fabulous and elegant! The sleeves were a brilliant idea and makes the dress so much more wearable! Gorgeous color on you, too. I have never tried ponte di roma but this is encouraging.
1/20/11 11:31 AM
ALY said...
This dress does look fantastic on you. And I like the long sleeves much better than the flaps.
1/20/11 11:55 AM
Barbara V said...
Great job with all the changes. It looks fabulous on you!
1/20/11 1:56 PM
SusiM said...
Absolutely STUNNING!! What a very helpful review, too! Love it! Love it!
1/20/11 2:27 PM
jennybaxt said...
Great dress and great review. Thanks so much. Looks terrific with long sleeves.
1/20/11 2:29 PM
kremmer said...
Great dress! I love that you have given it long sleeves - so much better for a winter dress!
1/20/11 4:32 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning.
1/20/11 6:03 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This dress looks incredible on you.
1/20/11 6:54 PM
Elona said...
Your addition of the sleeves makes this dress shockingly good-looking! I mean, it changes the design profoundly, into something grownup and classic. Great work!
1/20/11 7:58 PM
Kayseri said...
Totally outstanding version of this dress.
1/21/11 2:33 AM
FreyaStark said...
Your version is a lot nicer than the cap-effect sleeve treatment of the original. The colour is glorious, and the fit is perfect.
1/21/11 3:19 AM
Sic said...
Lovely dress! I like the long sleeve version - the "sleeves" on the original are so weird.
1/21/11 7:31 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! It is incredibly chic and flattering. The sleeves are a huge improvement over the original pattern design.
1/21/11 9:33 AM
michellep74 said...
This looks amazing on you! Thanks for the incredibly helpful review!
1/21/11 2:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is soooo cute and it looks fab on you! Great style!
1/21/11 10:03 PM
ImListening said...
wow. this is a seriously good looking dress on you. I'll look forward to your pink spring version. Thanks for the thorough review
1/24/11 8:40 PM
marec said...
How fun to see seasonal versions! I think this is a wonderful style on you.
5/24/11 10:05 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress, love the tulip sleeves! It looks fabulous on you.
5/24/11 10:18 AM
mendospot said...
Did I saw "Wow!?" No, because I'm speechless!!!
5/24/11 10:26 AM
lillyjill said...
Wow ! I love it
5/24/11 12:55 PM
SewWil said...
This dress looks great both ways. I love the tulip sleeve. Good job!
5/24/11 1:27 PM
poppykettle said...
I love your dress! It looks gorgeous and I love the purple and the seam lines. Great work!
5/25/11 0:23 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Very flattering!
5/25/11 7:31 AM
Meredith P said...
Love both versions!!! Reading your review reminded me how much I loved this pattern (sans flaps). Do you recall what sleeves you used on your winter version?
6/12/11 10:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Self Drafted Pattern 106177-1002 jeans
photo
Review by geraldine on 10/23/08
Read Review

New Look 6889 Pattern
New Look 6889 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 130436-1001
photo
Review by NicholeMc on 8/17/08
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us