SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-122 (September cover dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 818 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 7:48 AM
Last Updated:5/24/11 8:57 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meredith P said...
Love both versions!!! Reading your review reminded me how much I loved this pattern (sans flaps). Do you recall what sleeves you used on your winter version?
6/12/11 10:06 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Very flattering!
5/25/11 7:31 AM
poppykettle said...
I love your dress! It looks gorgeous and I love the purple and the seam lines. Great work!
5/25/11 0:23 AM
SewWil said...
This dress looks great both ways. I love the tulip sleeve. Good job!
5/24/11 1:27 PM
lillyjill said...
Wow ! I love it
5/24/11 12:55 PM
mendospot said...
Did I saw "Wow!?" No, because I'm speechless!!!
5/24/11 10:26 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress, love the tulip sleeves! It looks fabulous on you.
5/24/11 10:18 AM
marec said...
How fun to see seasonal versions! I think this is a wonderful style on you.
5/24/11 10:05 AM
ImListening said...
wow. this is a seriously good looking dress on you. I'll look forward to your pink spring version. Thanks for the thorough review
1/24/11 8:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is soooo cute and it looks fab on you! Great style!
1/21/11 10:03 PM
michellep74 said...
This looks amazing on you! Thanks for the incredibly helpful review!
1/21/11 2:01 PM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! It is incredibly chic and flattering. The sleeves are a huge improvement over the original pattern design.
1/21/11 9:33 AM
Sic said...
Lovely dress! I like the long sleeve version - the "sleeves" on the original are so weird.
1/21/11 7:31 AM
FreyaStark said...
Your version is a lot nicer than the cap-effect sleeve treatment of the original. The colour is glorious, and the fit is perfect.
1/21/11 3:19 AM
Kayseri said...
Totally outstanding version of this dress.
1/21/11 2:33 AM
Elona said...
Your addition of the sleeves makes this dress shockingly good-looking! I mean, it changes the design profoundly, into something grownup and classic. Great work!
1/20/11 7:58 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This dress looks incredible on you.
1/20/11 6:54 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning.
1/20/11 6:03 PM
kremmer said...
Great dress! I love that you have given it long sleeves - so much better for a winter dress!
1/20/11 4:32 PM
jennybaxt said...
Great dress and great review. Thanks so much. Looks terrific with long sleeves.
1/20/11 2:29 PM
SusiM said...
Absolutely STUNNING!! What a very helpful review, too! Love it! Love it!
1/20/11 2:27 PM
Barbara V said...
Great job with all the changes. It looks fabulous on you!
1/20/11 1:56 PM
ALY said...
This dress does look fantastic on you. And I like the long sleeves much better than the flaps.
1/20/11 11:55 AM
crisford said...
That looks so fabulous and elegant! The sleeves were a brilliant idea and makes the dress so much more wearable! Gorgeous color on you, too. I have never tried ponte di roma but this is encouraging.
1/20/11 11:31 AM
pterion said...
Love this dress on you. The adaptations for fit and adding the sleeves worked out so well!
1/20/11 11:09 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very awesome dress on you. The line drawing didn't impress me much when I saw it, but I love your version
1/20/11 10:44 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
The purple is a fantastic color for you, and I love your addition of the sleeves. The sleeve flappy weirdnesses have kept me from this pattern--perhaps I'll give it another look.
1/20/11 10:26 AM
sleeping wolf said...
What an amazing dress. Looks even better with long sleeves than the original version. So impressed that you could construct it from Burda Style's enigmatic instructions and to grade it up from a petite as well. Congratulations.
1/20/11 10:17 AM
MissCelie said...
I love this dress. I had no idea it could be pulled off with a long sleeve. Great, great job and thanks for all the tips.
1/20/11 9:42 AM
dbsewer said...
Very cute dress and in purple you look like royalty:-). Love what you did with the sleeves, as those flap sleeves look unflattering and useless.
1/20/11 8:28 AM
lakaribane said...
Purple!!! I love it! I need one!
1/20/11 8:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 3727

photo
by: Nessahux

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now