Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5766 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 296 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Handmade by Carla
photo
About Handmade by Carlastar
GA USA
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/11 0:33 AM
Last Updated:1/22/11 11:04 AM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
Your coat looks awesome! I had a persian cat and I can remember how "hairy" my clothes would get!
1/22/11 3:07 PM
dfr2010 said...
Cats seem drawn to expensive fabrics like moths to a flame ...my 3 seem to approve of fleece, flannel, and wools! Of course, my problem is keeping the entire cat off the fabrics, not just the hair ;) I've invested in lint rollers. Lovely coat, and I share your puzzlement on the 3/4 sleeves.
1/22/11 3:19 PM
GBK said...
Very nice job! The hard work has paid off!
1/22/11 4:30 PM
sarah121haras said...
Your coat looks great. I can echo dfr's comments about keeping the entire cat off. If I have fabric in just one corner of my cutting table that is the corner my cat will occupy.
1/22/11 4:48 PM
o3b said...
I like your coat a lot. I would have completely dismissed this pattern with the cover it has. I much prefer your solid colored one, although I can understand how a print would hide cat hair much better. Thank you for the info on getting coats/jackets professionally pressed. It's something I would have never done, and have never heard.
1/23/11 1:57 AM
CallMeSu said...
Kyute!
1/23/11 2:09 AM
Mary Heckman said...
Very nice coat and a job well done!
1/23/11 7:50 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks! Yes, my cat also sits on top of any fabric she can get her paws on, including pieces from projects that I am working on while she "supervises" my sewing. It drives me crazy that I have cat fur on things that I haven't even completed but I don't have the heart to make her get off of my sewing table (except she's not allowed on my dining room table when I'm cutting out fabric... or ever!) and I enjoy her company. My mother complains that she still finds cat fur on clothing in her closet from when I moved back home for a few months way back in 2002. I keep lint rollers in my car as well. Regarding the print, Erica B. posted a review of this coat (View B) in a beautiful black and white houndstooth print awhile ago.
1/23/11 4:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh darn, a new excuse to wear elbow-length gloves! :o) ABSOLUTELY, because this coat is WAY TOO PRETTY to let it linger in the closet, cold or not. It's very flattering! :o)
1/23/11 5:28 PM
Eve27546 said...
You did an awesone job on your coat.
8/2/11 1:59 PM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks! Sadly, I forgot all about this coat. I'll be digging it out of my closet.
1/28/12 1:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5488 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by rosecy on 6/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2587 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissyBelle on 8/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us