SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5766 

5 more reviews
Viewed 298 times 
Reviewed by:Handmade by Carla
photo

 
 
About Handmade by Carlastar
GA USA
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/11 0:33 AM
Last Updated:1/22/11 11:04 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
Your coat looks awesome! I had a persian cat and I can remember how "hairy" my clothes would get!
1/22/11 3:07 PM
dfr2010 said...
Cats seem drawn to expensive fabrics like moths to a flame ...my 3 seem to approve of fleece, flannel, and wools! Of course, my problem is keeping the entire cat off the fabrics, not just the hair ;) I've invested in lint rollers. Lovely coat, and I share your puzzlement on the 3/4 sleeves.
1/22/11 3:19 PM
GBK said...
Very nice job! The hard work has paid off!
1/22/11 4:30 PM
sarah121haras said...
Your coat looks great. I can echo dfr's comments about keeping the entire cat off. If I have fabric in just one corner of my cutting table that is the corner my cat will occupy.
1/22/11 4:48 PM
o3b said...
I like your coat a lot. I would have completely dismissed this pattern with the cover it has. I much prefer your solid colored one, although I can understand how a print would hide cat hair much better. Thank you for the info on getting coats/jackets professionally pressed. It's something I would have never done, and have never heard.
1/23/11 1:57 AM
CallMeSu said...
Kyute!
1/23/11 2:09 AM
Mary Heckman said...
Very nice coat and a job well done!
1/23/11 7:50 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks! Yes, my cat also sits on top of any fabric she can get her paws on, including pieces from projects that I am working on while she "supervises" my sewing. It drives me crazy that I have cat fur on things that I haven't even completed but I don't have the heart to make her get off of my sewing table (except she's not allowed on my dining room table when I'm cutting out fabric... or ever!) and I enjoy her company. My mother complains that she still finds cat fur on clothing in her closet from when I moved back home for a few months way back in 2002. I keep lint rollers in my car as well. Regarding the print, Erica B. posted a review of this coat (View B) in a beautiful black and white houndstooth print awhile ago.
1/23/11 4:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh darn, a new excuse to wear elbow-length gloves! :o) ABSOLUTELY, because this coat is WAY TOO PRETTY to let it linger in the closet, cold or not. It's very flattering! :o)
1/23/11 5:28 PM
Eve27546 said...
You did an awesone job on your coat.
8/2/11 1:59 PM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks! Sadly, I forgot all about this coat. I'll be digging it out of my closet.
1/28/12 1:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6519

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now