SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sure-Fit Designs> Pants Kit: Jeans (Jeans)

Viewed 683 times 
Reviewed by:mhk3boys
photo

 
 
About mhk3boysstar
NC USA
Member since: 11/22/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/11 11:10 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Minnasews said...
Very, very nice! You've inspired me - both my daughter and I are built kind of like you and finding well-fitting jeans is AWFUL! Personally, I wouldn't mess with your success! By the way, I've just started using this drafting program and have found Glenda VERY helpful, too. You're not off on your own with no help with her! I recommend this system to anyone who wants things to fit!
3/28/11 9:06 PM
KathySews said...
This looks great. I am really curious about this system. Thanks for the great review.
3/21/11 11:32 AM
Annette1 said...
FANTASTIC FITTING! I like BOTH the muslin and the jeans, and they don't look dated at all to me. VERY NICE! :o)
1/23/11 5:35 PM
Plantwizard said...
I bought the dress kit and am still working on the muslin. My first one has some problems so I emailed Glenda and sent her some pictures. She gets an A++++ for prompt and informative responses. She obviously wants to help everyone make this system work. I haven't yet made another muslin and am toying with the idea of heading to Springfield (I live in Portland) for one of her workshops. Part of my problem is I'm not "spatially blessed" so fitting is always an issue for me. I just have trouble seeing how that flat piece of fabric is supposed to go around my warped body. You absolutely can't beat her responsiveness and willingness to work with customers. Jan
1/23/11 2:25 PM
pjrsews said...
I just bought this system and am excited to try it out. I hate buying pants especially jeans. You're off to a great start. I look forward to seeing your progress. Thanks for the review!
1/23/11 11:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Cool looking jeans! You achieved a fabulous fit. Thanks for sharing your pics.
1/23/11 11:08 AM
grey ann said...
Nice job and helpful info. I agree with o3b - the striped pants are more flatteriing and I think it is the pocket placement on the jeans. But the fit is really good otherwise...
1/23/11 10:41 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Those jeans look very impressive! I think you did a wonderful job. I'm still so scared of jeans so I'm in awe that you drafted these yourself! P.S. I have that exact same stripe fabric!
1/23/11 9:23 AM
o3b said...
Your jeans do look great. The stripes on your muslin are a wonderful idea as with the camera you can really see where to tweak the fit. I'm going to use a stripe on my next pair of pants. Also, it might be the stripes OR the lack of pockets, but I think that pair has a better rear view. I agree - you should just keep this as your jeans pattern and use other ones for leg cut, pocket design, etc.
1/23/11 1:52 AM
my horse said...
Very helpful info on this pattern system. You're so close on this I'm surprised you're tempted to try a different pattern. Your work on the topstitching alone makes them better than RTW! They look great.
1/22/11 6:55 PM
bananaoil said...
Thank you for this review and introduction to Sure Fit. I sort of collect pattern drafting schemes and this one looks very interesting. I too want to hear about your adventures with this.
1/22/11 6:46 PM
MNBarb said...
You are there! If you use the pocket and lower leg shape details from the Jalie pattern and the KS curved waistband you have just created the jeans for YOU! Nice work. Don't worry about the jeans being dated, they look great.
1/22/11 2:28 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Very helpful, this is new info to me, so I sure other too fit in that category. Keep us posted on your progress to that illusive goal Jeans better than RTW! You are on the way.
1/22/11 11:59 AM
Kathy in NM said...
wow, I think you did a great job both with your first muslin and the final jeans! This is really great fit for a first fitting. I agree a little less on the upper sides would help. You could pin out the amount the take it off blending from the upper side seam to center front and back. The wrinkles in the back - minor, minor, minor! Add just a touch to the upper leg on the inseam front and back. Wow, I wouldn't go to another pattern. Pants are always so fussy to work with. You have done a great job. Thanks for the info on the pattern drafting method and customer service.
1/22/11 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Oliver + S Cozy Winter Hood

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
No Pattern Used 10-2013

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info