Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sure-Fit Designs: Pants Kit: Jeans (Jeans) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 662 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:mhk3boys
photo
About mhk3boysstar
NC USA
Member since: 11/22/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/11 11:10 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy in NM said...
wow, I think you did a great job both with your first muslin and the final jeans! This is really great fit for a first fitting. I agree a little less on the upper sides would help. You could pin out the amount the take it off blending from the upper side seam to center front and back. The wrinkles in the back - minor, minor, minor! Add just a touch to the upper leg on the inseam front and back. Wow, I wouldn't go to another pattern. Pants are always so fussy to work with. You have done a great job. Thanks for the info on the pattern drafting method and customer service.
1/22/11 11:56 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Very helpful, this is new info to me, so I sure other too fit in that category. Keep us posted on your progress to that illusive goal Jeans better than RTW! You are on the way.
1/22/11 11:59 AM
MNBarb said...
You are there! If you use the pocket and lower leg shape details from the Jalie pattern and the KS curved waistband you have just created the jeans for YOU! Nice work. Don't worry about the jeans being dated, they look great.
1/22/11 2:28 PM
bananaoil said...
Thank you for this review and introduction to Sure Fit. I sort of collect pattern drafting schemes and this one looks very interesting. I too want to hear about your adventures with this.
1/22/11 6:46 PM
my horse said...
Very helpful info on this pattern system. You're so close on this I'm surprised you're tempted to try a different pattern. Your work on the topstitching alone makes them better than RTW! They look great.
1/22/11 6:55 PM
o3b said...
Your jeans do look great. The stripes on your muslin are a wonderful idea as with the camera you can really see where to tweak the fit. I'm going to use a stripe on my next pair of pants. Also, it might be the stripes OR the lack of pockets, but I think that pair has a better rear view. I agree - you should just keep this as your jeans pattern and use other ones for leg cut, pocket design, etc.
1/23/11 1:52 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Those jeans look very impressive! I think you did a wonderful job. I'm still so scared of jeans so I'm in awe that you drafted these yourself! P.S. I have that exact same stripe fabric!
1/23/11 9:23 AM
grey ann said...
Nice job and helpful info. I agree with o3b - the striped pants are more flatteriing and I think it is the pocket placement on the jeans. But the fit is really good otherwise...
1/23/11 10:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Cool looking jeans! You achieved a fabulous fit. Thanks for sharing your pics.
1/23/11 11:08 AM
pjrsews said...
I just bought this system and am excited to try it out. I hate buying pants especially jeans. You're off to a great start. I look forward to seeing your progress. Thanks for the review!
1/23/11 11:41 AM
Plantwizard said...
I bought the dress kit and am still working on the muslin. My first one has some problems so I emailed Glenda and sent her some pictures. She gets an A++++ for prompt and informative responses. She obviously wants to help everyone make this system work. I haven't yet made another muslin and am toying with the idea of heading to Springfield (I live in Portland) for one of her workshops. Part of my problem is I'm not "spatially blessed" so fitting is always an issue for me. I just have trouble seeing how that flat piece of fabric is supposed to go around my warped body. You absolutely can't beat her responsiveness and willingness to work with customers. Jan
1/23/11 2:25 PM
Annette1 said...
FANTASTIC FITTING! I like BOTH the muslin and the jeans, and they don't look dated at all to me. VERY NICE! :o)
1/23/11 5:35 PM
KathySews said...
This looks great. I am really curious about this system. Thanks for the great review.
3/21/11 11:32 AM
Minnasews said...
Very, very nice! You've inspired me - both my daughter and I are built kind of like you and finding well-fitting jeans is AWFUL! Personally, I wouldn't mess with your success! By the way, I've just started using this drafting program and have found Glenda VERY helpful, too. You're not off on your own with no help with her! I recommend this system to anyone who wants things to fit!
3/28/11 9:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

McCall's 8705 View C
photo
Review by atcsgame on 2/18/09
Read Review

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by Norsecross on 8/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2853 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 2853 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6226 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6226 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us