Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4244 (Men's PJs) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 156 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/11 2:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.96  List Price: $14.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Ah yes, sewing for a teenage son. I can relate. I had to fit my son on-the-fly for his last garment. What I don't know about PJ pants for teenage boys is, should the waistband be low and the crotch shortened, or is the hang-to-the-knees-no-binding-anywhere long crotch the goal? I hope these flannel pants get worn. They look loose and comfy, in a godd way. I think he might be disappointed when it comes to comfort if the legs are slimmed down. If all else fails you could turn down the thermostat and he'll be looking for the nappy warmth of flannel.
1/22/11 2:56 PM
dfr2010 said...
Barb - I insisted he pull the "waist"band up to the top of his hipbones for the pic. Eyerolling and an audible sigh ensued ... at least he has enough of a butt that they don't actually fall off the the (very) low point he was wearing them at! And I already took the side seams in a bit from what the pattern had. Hanging to the knees seems to be his ideal.
1/22/11 2:59 PM
glenj said...
The pants look fine.I used a mccalls pattern once for pj's,they were so BIG everywhere that they had to be taken in,up and waist shortened.now I use a KS pattern i only need to shorten the top so they fit on his hips.Teens can be a challenge to sew for,my son is the easy one in the family.
1/23/11 6:43 AM
Margaret said...
I think they look good and comfortable! Nice job. Thanks for the tip on elastic vs. fabric weight. I hadn't thought of the weight of the garment affecting how tight the elastic needs to be, and I think I've often spent more time in trial-and-error mode than I needed to because of this.
1/24/11 2:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-23 Rousku
photo
Review by jorth on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3775
photo
Review by Ripple Dan... on 12/20/09
Read Review

Burda 9471 Pattern
Burda 9471 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us