Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Alex & Olive Tops (Alex & Olive Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 486 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/11 9:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Very cute.
1/25/11 10:21 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Interesting...I really like the overall top, but that would be a hard fabric to wear. I love your collar!
1/25/11 10:49 AM
carolynw said...
So sorry this did not turn out as well as you would have liked - the fabric looks so interesting - am wondering if you could add side strips of the same material you used for the sleeves - may make it more acceptable for you. However, maybe DD can get use out of it. Thanks for such a helpful review
1/25/11 11:43 AM
pegsewer said...
This was a very helpful and well-written review, even though you didn't like the result. That's a great fabric but might be tough to work into ANY pattern. Hope it finds some wear!
1/25/11 12:26 PM
DorothyK said...
I love what you did with the fabric. Using it vertically is an interesting twist, showing off both sides. I've heard that some people have been disappointed with this pattern. I think yours looks great.
1/25/11 6:04 PM
Karine said...
Sorry it didn't turn out as you had hoped. Too bad, it's such a cute pattern. It's interesting that Olive was too tight. I have a friend who wore her new Alex today for the first time, and it was anything but tight. The two must truly be completely different styles.
1/26/11 6:11 PM
magoe6217 said...
Your fabric is so wonderful and it looks great on your dress form. It is such a shame the fit isn't right for you. I have this pattern but have not made it yet, so I really appreciate the "heads-up" on the surprisingly close fit, especially for a Sewing Workshop pattern. Thanks for saving me from a possible disaster.
1/26/11 6:33 PM
JETrinity said...
Your fabric is so unique and I am very sorry that after all your hard work it did not turn out as expected.
1/27/11 6:40 PM
MaddyGranMa said...
After leaving a comment on one of your other tops from the Sewing Workshop line, I was inspired to go back through all your other reviews. Again...Wow! I am sorry that this pattern does not work for you, especially since the fabric, which I love, was not inexpensive! Thank you for sharing all your work...now we will be wondering what will be next!
1/30/11 1:44 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and I hope by now you've talked your daughter into wearing this top. :o) It's too cute not to be enjoyed!
2/12/11 0:25 AM
selvage said...
I love the funky fabric, and the way you used it with the strips going vertically! I'm guessing that the stretch goes vertically then, too, which might be why it came out tight. I agree with carolynw that it might be worth a try to add some fabric strips in the side seams, or perhaps godets, if you just need extra width through the hip, because it's a fabulous looking top!
5/30/11 10:59 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Sorry this did not come out as planned. I would consider putting bands of the fabric in the side seams to add the needed width. This pattern runs slim through the hips (ask me how I know) as you indicated. I like especially that you used the fabric vertically.
7/22/11 7:31 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you kindly for your review, I had considered this pattern but was not in love w/ the exposed zipper , it is a bit too trendy for me ( I always ask myself would I wear something 2 seasons from now and it the answer is NO, I will not put the time and money into the pattern! I wonder if there is a way to eliminate the zipper,,,its just that it is on an angle, but I COULD live w/ an invisible zipper however that may change the whole look , your fabric of course really makes this special~ ( I am SO grateful to PR for the ability to review patterns b/f purchasing them~
3/24/12 2:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

McCall's 6118
photo
Review by UmaPreve on 5/22/11
Read Review

Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2787
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 9/6/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1424 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1424 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6094 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6094 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us