SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Alex & Olive Tops (Alex & Olive Tops)

7 more reviews
Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/11 9:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you kindly for your review, I had considered this pattern but was not in love w/ the exposed zipper , it is a bit too trendy for me ( I always ask myself would I wear something 2 seasons from now and it the answer is NO, I will not put the time and money into the pattern! I wonder if there is a way to eliminate the zipper,,,its just that it is on an angle, but I COULD live w/ an invisible zipper however that may change the whole look , your fabric of course really makes this special~ ( I am SO grateful to PR for the ability to review patterns b/f purchasing them~
3/24/12 2:18 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Sorry this did not come out as planned. I would consider putting bands of the fabric in the side seams to add the needed width. This pattern runs slim through the hips (ask me how I know) as you indicated. I like especially that you used the fabric vertically.
7/22/11 7:31 PM
selvage said...
I love the funky fabric, and the way you used it with the strips going vertically! I'm guessing that the stretch goes vertically then, too, which might be why it came out tight. I agree with carolynw that it might be worth a try to add some fabric strips in the side seams, or perhaps godets, if you just need extra width through the hip, because it's a fabulous looking top!
5/30/11 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and I hope by now you've talked your daughter into wearing this top. :o) It's too cute not to be enjoyed!
2/12/11 0:25 AM
MaddyGranMa said...
After leaving a comment on one of your other tops from the Sewing Workshop line, I was inspired to go back through all your other reviews. Again...Wow! I am sorry that this pattern does not work for you, especially since the fabric, which I love, was not inexpensive! Thank you for sharing all your work...now we will be wondering what will be next!
1/30/11 1:44 PM
JETrinity said...
Your fabric is so unique and I am very sorry that after all your hard work it did not turn out as expected.
1/27/11 6:40 PM
magoe6217 said...
Your fabric is so wonderful and it looks great on your dress form. It is such a shame the fit isn't right for you. I have this pattern but have not made it yet, so I really appreciate the "heads-up" on the surprisingly close fit, especially for a Sewing Workshop pattern. Thanks for saving me from a possible disaster.
1/26/11 6:33 PM
Karine said...
Sorry it didn't turn out as you had hoped. Too bad, it's such a cute pattern. It's interesting that Olive was too tight. I have a friend who wore her new Alex today for the first time, and it was anything but tight. The two must truly be completely different styles.
1/26/11 6:11 PM
DorothyK said...
I love what you did with the fabric. Using it vertically is an interesting twist, showing off both sides. I've heard that some people have been disappointed with this pattern. I think yours looks great.
1/25/11 6:04 PM
pegsewer said...
This was a very helpful and well-written review, even though you didn't like the result. That's a great fabric but might be tough to work into ANY pattern. Hope it finds some wear!
1/25/11 12:26 PM
carolynw said...
So sorry this did not turn out as well as you would have liked - the fabric looks so interesting - am wondering if you could add side strips of the same material you used for the sleeves - may make it more acceptable for you. However, maybe DD can get use out of it. Thanks for such a helpful review
1/25/11 11:43 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Interesting...I really like the overall top, but that would be a hard fabric to wear. I love your collar!
1/25/11 10:49 AM
sewtime said...
Very cute.
1/25/11 10:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1013

photo
by: velosewer

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

More Info