SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1207 (Misses' Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 763 times 
Reviewed by:Julia Bobbin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Julia Bobbinstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/20/10
Reviews: 50 (patterns: 50)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 99 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/11 1:44 AM
Last Updated:1/26/11 2:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JETrinity said... (2/19/11 12:07 PM) Reply
You look great in it because of all the hard work you did to fix it up.
lakaribane said... (1/31/11 9:06 AM) Reply
Thanks for your explanations, Julia! So you made a Pacman like Cidell would say, LOL! So CB was shortened but the side seams remained the same length, I get it now!
nicegirl said... (1/27/11 7:44 PM) Reply
I have had the same problem with waist pleats. A belt is a good solution. `-) Love this--elegant and sexy at the same time.
SewWil said... (1/26/11 10:26 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress. I like your choice of fabric. Looks very nice on you.
annie11 said... (1/26/11 6:51 PM) Reply
Looks great with the black belt and tights! Gorgeous fabric!
Julia Bobbin said... (1/26/11 10:38 AM) Reply
Hi Lakaribane, thanks for your comment and sorry about the confusion! I'm still pretty new to sewing so trying to articulate my methods can be a challenge. Hopefully I can make it a bit clearer. On the back V it hung really loose and folded over clearly exposing the lining. From the top of the v-back to the bottom of the v-back I removed 7cm's by adding a darts along the length of the V with the point of the dart ending near the side seams. If you look at my picture of the low back closely, you can see the darts. The shoulders were also quite wide, though I don't have particularly narrow shoulders. In hindsight I probably should have gone down a size on the torso and worked from there. Hope this makes things a little clearer, and I'm sorry if I've just confused things more!!
lakaribane said... (1/26/11 8:24 AM) Reply
Love the fabric. I have a few questions: you said you have a short torso but you mention taking it in the sides. I'm a bit confused. Wouldn't that mean you narrowed it to fit closer? Short torso = length alteration vs width alteration, non? Do you have narrow shoulders? Because the neckline looks really wide and you say it fell down on you before you took it in. TIA for clearing it up for me.
BillieJean said... (1/26/11 6:30 AM) Reply
I don't think this could ever look frumpy. Really pretty.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Deer&Doe Blouse Datura

photo
by: House of P...

Review
New Look 6309

photo
by: leoniep

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Pattern Details