SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4440 (Dress)

Viewed 1354 times 
Reviewed by:TanyaMT
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About TanyaMTstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/04
Reviews written: 250
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 241
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/04 5:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Its too bad that it did not work for you. It sounds that dh may be right - can you change it to become more fitted and flattering for you?
7/8/04 10:33 PM
edube said...
I made this dress a while ago out of a light blue cotton and just kept taking it in, taking it in... I thought that maybe it was because I am short (5'2"), but I got good wear out of it in the end.
7/8/04 11:42 PM
Vivienne said...
Your version looks much better than the illustration on the pattern - very current vs. stodgy. Are you sure it doesn't work? This has been languishing in my pattern pile for years but I am going to try it soon (with fashion fabric bias).
7/9/04 0:20 AM
TanyaMT said...
Vivienne, it doesn't suit me, but it may very well look fantastic on you. I'll look forward to seeing your version. I probably could fuss with it more and get some improvement but at this point I think I'm just going to stick it on a hanger and maybe pull it out later for revisions.
7/9/04 10:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Well, the fabric looks dynamite and there's something to be said for easy! I wish there was time to try this or a similar "stodgy" pattern for our upcoming summer travel--looks comfortable and classic.
7/11/04 8:43 AM
annasender said...
I've made this dress three times, it's actually one of my favorites. I make the long version. Instead of making button holes, I just sew the buttons straight through the fabric, works fine for me. I love using the bias tape instead of a facing. I made it from a beautiful light green/pink madras plaid. Another blue and maroon plaid with gecko silhouettes allover it. And finally a novelty print of red and green peppers on a black background. I also liked that the sleeve was self-faced.
7/19/08 5:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6333

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now