SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3087 (Mens 1954 Sport Shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/11 2:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
I read your blog posting (& most of the comments) about this shirt, & I have to say I'm in the "not a big fan of the design" camp. It just looks like a mis-match between the collar & the sleeves w/ cuffs. That said, your work, as always, is impeccable! And of course your vintage 'research' is invaluable, & your humour & story-telling unparalleled!
1/28/11 3:01 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Oh my, that is one cool, unique shirt. I love it! (And I'm not just biased because of the date it was issued, lol.) Top-notch work and review, as usual. P.S. re my opinion of the shirt, since you asked. I don't think my 27-yr.-old son is likely to beg me to make this shirt any time soon; the style probably wouldn't appeal to the majority of men. It's more an artist's shirt, in a way. But if I were a man I would totally wear this. And can't you just picture this worn in a classy British film set in the 1950's? (Ha -- pipe photo -- it seems you get this same sort of vibe from the shirt, lol.)
1/28/11 3:47 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a beautiful job on the shirt and agree that your work is outstanding! I always enjoy seeing what comes next!
1/28/11 3:58 PM
brrmm said...
Hey Peter, I REALLY love it !! Men's fashion can be so tedious, it's great to see a bloke in a shirt other than the ubiquitous front buttoned job. I love unusual styles, keep 'em coming.
1/28/11 6:07 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
There were nicer "things" made in 1954, Peter... ;)
1/28/11 6:15 PM
carolynw said...
Peter I think your work as usual on this shirt is absolutely top notch but it is definitely not one of my faves for you -mainly because it seems just too big on you - you have a nice slim body (like my sons) and this does not do it justice. As another reviwer has said - my sons and husband would not ask for this to be done as they have some of your other shirts - after I got brave enough to show them just how a well home sewn shirt could look - if I took the time. Maybe I should join your Men's Shirt Sew Along? So bottom line - good work but not the best fit
1/28/11 11:28 PM
Tarrbaby said...
I like the style actually, it is very "Donna Reed, Father Know's Best" looking. I am having buttonhole envy, mine never look this clean no matter what I do. Maybe I need to find a machine that only does buttonholes, or send my stuff to you to do them for me. As the others have said impeccable workmanship.
1/29/11 7:14 AM
Margaret said...
I think this is a neat change from the usual shirt. Nice work as always.
1/29/11 7:43 AM
no7262 said...
Peter, I love it! I think that it looks very stylish! If I had someone in my life to make it for I would. Nora :)
1/29/11 8:58 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks everybody. I appreciate the feedback!
1/29/11 10:24 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Just to clarify, when I said "I don't think my 27-yr.-old son is likely to beg me to make this shirt any time soon; the style probably wouldn't appeal to the majority of men. It's more an artist's shirt, in a way" -- I didn't mean that at ALL as a negative thing. I meant, not everyone would "get" this shirt. Not everyone "gets" Cy Twombly or Eric Satie, either, but hey...
1/29/11 5:09 PM
craftygamma said...
I like it! But then I'm kind of vintage, too.
1/29/11 5:57 PM
JETrinity said...
How clever the front buttons are for getting into the shirt. Great job.
2/19/11 5:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-135

photo
by: barebear

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: DorothyK

Review