SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3087 (Mens 1954 Sport Shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 335 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/11 2:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JETrinity said...
How clever the front buttons are for getting into the shirt. Great job.
2/19/11 5:34 PM
craftygamma said...
I like it! But then I'm kind of vintage, too.
1/29/11 5:57 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Just to clarify, when I said "I don't think my 27-yr.-old son is likely to beg me to make this shirt any time soon; the style probably wouldn't appeal to the majority of men. It's more an artist's shirt, in a way" -- I didn't mean that at ALL as a negative thing. I meant, not everyone would "get" this shirt. Not everyone "gets" Cy Twombly or Eric Satie, either, but hey...
1/29/11 5:09 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks everybody. I appreciate the feedback!
1/29/11 10:24 AM
no7262 said...
Peter, I love it! I think that it looks very stylish! If I had someone in my life to make it for I would. Nora :)
1/29/11 8:58 AM
Margaret said...
I think this is a neat change from the usual shirt. Nice work as always.
1/29/11 7:43 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I like the style actually, it is very "Donna Reed, Father Know's Best" looking. I am having buttonhole envy, mine never look this clean no matter what I do. Maybe I need to find a machine that only does buttonholes, or send my stuff to you to do them for me. As the others have said impeccable workmanship.
1/29/11 7:14 AM
carolynw said...
Peter I think your work as usual on this shirt is absolutely top notch but it is definitely not one of my faves for you -mainly because it seems just too big on you - you have a nice slim body (like my sons) and this does not do it justice. As another reviwer has said - my sons and husband would not ask for this to be done as they have some of your other shirts - after I got brave enough to show them just how a well home sewn shirt could look - if I took the time. Maybe I should join your Men's Shirt Sew Along? So bottom line - good work but not the best fit
1/28/11 11:28 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
There were nicer "things" made in 1954, Peter... ;)
1/28/11 6:15 PM
brrmm said...
Hey Peter, I REALLY love it !! Men's fashion can be so tedious, it's great to see a bloke in a shirt other than the ubiquitous front buttoned job. I love unusual styles, keep 'em coming.
1/28/11 6:07 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a beautiful job on the shirt and agree that your work is outstanding! I always enjoy seeing what comes next!
1/28/11 3:58 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Oh my, that is one cool, unique shirt. I love it! (And I'm not just biased because of the date it was issued, lol.) Top-notch work and review, as usual. P.S. re my opinion of the shirt, since you asked. I don't think my 27-yr.-old son is likely to beg me to make this shirt any time soon; the style probably wouldn't appeal to the majority of men. It's more an artist's shirt, in a way. But if I were a man I would totally wear this. And can't you just picture this worn in a classy British film set in the 1950's? (Ha -- pipe photo -- it seems you get this same sort of vibe from the shirt, lol.)
1/28/11 3:47 PM
JillyBe said...
I read your blog posting (& most of the comments) about this shirt, & I have to say I'm in the "not a big fan of the design" camp. It just looks like a mis-match between the collar & the sleeves w/ cuffs. That said, your work, as always, is impeccable! And of course your vintage 'research' is invaluable, & your humour & story-telling unparalleled!
1/28/11 3:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

More Info
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

More Info