Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3087 (Mens 1954 Sport Shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 334 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/11 2:12 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
I read your blog posting (& most of the comments) about this shirt, & I have to say I'm in the "not a big fan of the design" camp. It just looks like a mis-match between the collar & the sleeves w/ cuffs. That said, your work, as always, is impeccable! And of course your vintage 'research' is invaluable, & your humour & story-telling unparalleled!
1/28/11 3:01 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Oh my, that is one cool, unique shirt. I love it! (And I'm not just biased because of the date it was issued, lol.) Top-notch work and review, as usual. P.S. re my opinion of the shirt, since you asked. I don't think my 27-yr.-old son is likely to beg me to make this shirt any time soon; the style probably wouldn't appeal to the majority of men. It's more an artist's shirt, in a way. But if I were a man I would totally wear this. And can't you just picture this worn in a classy British film set in the 1950's? (Ha -- pipe photo -- it seems you get this same sort of vibe from the shirt, lol.)
1/28/11 3:47 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a beautiful job on the shirt and agree that your work is outstanding! I always enjoy seeing what comes next!
1/28/11 3:58 PM
brrmm said...
Hey Peter, I REALLY love it !! Men's fashion can be so tedious, it's great to see a bloke in a shirt other than the ubiquitous front buttoned job. I love unusual styles, keep 'em coming.
1/28/11 6:07 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
There were nicer "things" made in 1954, Peter... ;)
1/28/11 6:15 PM
carolynw said...
Peter I think your work as usual on this shirt is absolutely top notch but it is definitely not one of my faves for you -mainly because it seems just too big on you - you have a nice slim body (like my sons) and this does not do it justice. As another reviwer has said - my sons and husband would not ask for this to be done as they have some of your other shirts - after I got brave enough to show them just how a well home sewn shirt could look - if I took the time. Maybe I should join your Men's Shirt Sew Along? So bottom line - good work but not the best fit
1/28/11 11:28 PM
Tarrbaby said...
I like the style actually, it is very "Donna Reed, Father Know's Best" looking. I am having buttonhole envy, mine never look this clean no matter what I do. Maybe I need to find a machine that only does buttonholes, or send my stuff to you to do them for me. As the others have said impeccable workmanship.
1/29/11 7:14 AM
Margaret said...
I think this is a neat change from the usual shirt. Nice work as always.
1/29/11 7:43 AM
no7262 said...
Peter, I love it! I think that it looks very stylish! If I had someone in my life to make it for I would. Nora :)
1/29/11 8:58 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks everybody. I appreciate the feedback!
1/29/11 10:24 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Just to clarify, when I said "I don't think my 27-yr.-old son is likely to beg me to make this shirt any time soon; the style probably wouldn't appeal to the majority of men. It's more an artist's shirt, in a way" -- I didn't mean that at ALL as a negative thing. I meant, not everyone would "get" this shirt. Not everyone "gets" Cy Twombly or Eric Satie, either, but hey...
1/29/11 5:09 PM
craftygamma said...
I like it! But then I'm kind of vintage, too.
1/29/11 5:57 PM
JETrinity said...
How clever the front buttons are for getting into the shirt. Great job.
2/19/11 5:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used Panties copied from RTW
photo
Review by Renren on 2/1/14
Read Review

Blank Slate Hipster Henley Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Hipster Henley Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ruffled Halter Ruffled Halter
photo
Review by TanitIsis on 7/14/10
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7254 Pattern
Burda 7254 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us