SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2648 (Misses)

71 more reviews
Viewed 910 times 
Reviewed by:suebbb
photo

 
 
About suebbbstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/19/09
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:1/29/11 8:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
I often have that same problem. I usually make a super quick muslin just to test. If I have that problem, I just overlap a bit at the center front on the pattern before I cut it out of the good stuff.
1/29/11 9:37 PM
SexiSadi said...
I have to learn to take out a little 'tuck' of fabric in that area before I cut too. I think the dress is cute, and I really can't see the bubble in the pictures.
1/29/11 9:45 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress looks very cute on you. I like your choice of fabric.
1/29/11 10:57 PM
pammieh said...
I really love the dress on you - and I too can't see the bubble!
1/30/11 1:59 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I can't really see the bubble either. You look fabulous in your dress.
1/30/11 2:27 AM
Chiffon Queen said...
Hi Lovely dress, I wondered if perhaps you needed to go down a size on the shoulders/centre front and increase the cup size/fba. Try on a muslin first, could be totally wrong.
1/30/11 4:35 AM
trinicity said...
I agree, the color choice is beauitful, I love the tab with the button in the front it it looks like it fits great, Good Job
1/30/11 7:31 AM
suebbb said...
chiffon - yes I agree that the bust itself is a little tight and the shoulder/neck area is loosish - thus the bubble effect. I am working on another version right now - and am taking your advice (and immelu's) and doing a muslin first - so frustrating that the pattern worked so well for others :( and thanks to those who said it looks good - I know I'm being fussy... but you just know when something doesn't fit as well as it could.
1/30/11 7:45 AM
KG2 said...
Looks great on you. I love how you raised the waist. Your version is better than the original.
1/30/11 10:09 AM
imsewcrazy said...
I love this dress! It looks so chic on you! And the fabric is perfect.
1/30/11 12:45 PM
ColorMeHome said...
I love your dress, you look fabulous. Your handbag is really cute too!
1/30/11 1:52 PM
CallMeSu said...
So KYUTE!!!!! Enjoy wearing it!
1/30/11 2:31 PM
Dei said...
Your fabric chose makes this dress. I agree with Suebbb, the fit is a little snug through the bust, but you can make adjustments for that. Overall, well done.
1/30/11 4:53 PM
beesnbutter said...
I think this looks really good on you!
1/30/11 5:52 PM
cabrewer82 said...
I love the second attempt! The fabric choice is so fresh and summery yet dressy. It looks like a denim/linen mix. I have this pattern and would love to attempt a similar fabric. I too will probably need to do a Muslim.
2/26/11 12:22 PM
poppykettle said...
I adore your fabric choice for this dress!!
4/20/11 7:07 AM
cleverkitty said...
I love this, you did a fabulous job sewing it. I'm getting ready to make this thanks for the review.
5/9/11 8:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now