Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2648 (Misses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 897 times 67 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:suebbb
photo
About suebbbstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/19/09
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:1/29/11 8:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
I often have that same problem. I usually make a super quick muslin just to test. If I have that problem, I just overlap a bit at the center front on the pattern before I cut it out of the good stuff.
1/29/11 9:37 PM
SexiSadi said...
I have to learn to take out a little 'tuck' of fabric in that area before I cut too. I think the dress is cute, and I really can't see the bubble in the pictures.
1/29/11 9:45 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress looks very cute on you. I like your choice of fabric.
1/29/11 10:57 PM
pammieh said...
I really love the dress on you - and I too can't see the bubble!
1/30/11 1:59 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I can't really see the bubble either. You look fabulous in your dress.
1/30/11 2:27 AM
Chiffon Queen said...
Hi Lovely dress, I wondered if perhaps you needed to go down a size on the shoulders/centre front and increase the cup size/fba. Try on a muslin first, could be totally wrong.
1/30/11 4:35 AM
trinicity said...
I agree, the color choice is beauitful, I love the tab with the button in the front it it looks like it fits great, Good Job
1/30/11 7:31 AM
suebbb said...
chiffon - yes I agree that the bust itself is a little tight and the shoulder/neck area is loosish - thus the bubble effect. I am working on another version right now - and am taking your advice (and immelu's) and doing a muslin first - so frustrating that the pattern worked so well for others :( and thanks to those who said it looks good - I know I'm being fussy... but you just know when something doesn't fit as well as it could.
1/30/11 7:45 AM
KG2 said...
Looks great on you. I love how you raised the waist. Your version is better than the original.
1/30/11 10:09 AM
imsewcrazy said...
I love this dress! It looks so chic on you! And the fabric is perfect.
1/30/11 12:45 PM
ColorMeHome said...
I love your dress, you look fabulous. Your handbag is really cute too!
1/30/11 1:52 PM
CallMeSu said...
So KYUTE!!!!! Enjoy wearing it!
1/30/11 2:31 PM
Dei said...
Your fabric chose makes this dress. I agree with Suebbb, the fit is a little snug through the bust, but you can make adjustments for that. Overall, well done.
1/30/11 4:53 PM
beesnbutter said...
I think this looks really good on you!
1/30/11 5:52 PM
cabrewer82 said...
I love the second attempt! The fabric choice is so fresh and summery yet dressy. It looks like a denim/linen mix. I have this pattern and would love to attempt a similar fabric. I too will probably need to do a Muslim.
2/26/11 12:22 PM
poppykettle said...
I adore your fabric choice for this dress!!
4/20/11 7:07 AM
cleverkitty said...
I love this, you did a fabulous job sewing it. I'm getting ready to make this thanks for the review.
5/9/11 8:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8603 MISSES' SKIRT
photo
Review by katski on 3/31/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2919
photo
Review by Nan Kay on 2/7/11
Read Review

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5841 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 5841 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1922 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1922 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us