SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6799 (Misses Dresses and Jacket)

21 more reviews
Viewed 714 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/11 0:40 AM
Last Updated:1/30/11 4:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
Great jacket!! I just picked up this pattern the other day because of the jacket. The bow is fun!
1/30/11 1:28 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your jacket too! I like the bow you added, plus the button & fabric choice. Great job!
1/30/11 1:35 AM
Annette1 said...
This is SO cute, Christa! I'm not quite sure who's knocking off whom, because yours looks so much nicer than the Talbot's version to me. The BOW is perfect, as is all of that TOPSTITCHING. The brass buttons are the finishing touch. I can't wait to see pictures of you wearing it. :o)
1/30/11 2:15 AM
AnitaJ said...
Great knock-off! I love the style/fabric combo of this jacket!
1/30/11 3:49 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart, and beautiful work, too. A matching pencil skirt would be great, too, if you had any more fabric.
1/30/11 5:40 AM
Peggy L said...
Wow!! What a fun jacket.
1/30/11 6:27 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket and extremely helpful review. Thanks!
1/30/11 6:46 AM
Kbenco said...
This is gorgeous. I love the bow, and the colour is beautifully subdued and elegant.
1/30/11 7:04 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful Christa, your version is a great interpretation of the inspiring jacket. Good basic with a twist.
1/30/11 7:06 AM
trinicity said...
I love the bow, now this is a cute denim jacket
1/30/11 7:30 AM
birdmcfarland said...
That is fabulous in every respect. Thanks for the link for the denim. I like to support American companies and have been looking for decent denim for ages.
1/30/11 8:05 AM
Rhoda K said...
Love your jacket! A nice change to a regular "jean jacket". Beautiful workmanship!
1/30/11 8:47 AM
carolynw said...
This is so beautiful - I like it much better than Talbots. Great work makes this a real knock out (off) smile. Must get this pattern.
1/30/11 9:52 AM
nellc said...
Lovely jacket!
1/30/11 10:05 AM
KG2 said...
Love it! Talbots inspired you and you have inspired me! I already have this pattern!
1/30/11 10:06 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful jacket and very helpful review.
1/30/11 10:40 AM
Barbara V said...
Very cute, Christa. I love the elegant detail of the bow and loop on the neck band as well as the most attractive topstitching. Great job!
1/30/11 11:05 AM
pinsand said...
Beautiful and great photos!
1/30/11 11:21 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
A "Christa" feminine blue jeans jacket--perfect for your style and soul, me thinks ;)
1/30/11 11:38 AM
Paris75008 said...
Yours is nicer than Talbot's. Looks better made too! That top stitching is very impressive. Love it!
1/30/11 11:39 AM
Diane E said...
Christa, what a beautiful jacket! Love the topstitching, and the bow is such an especially feminine touch in denim.
1/30/11 11:55 AM
HeyJane said...
How cute !! Your fabric, buttons and topstitching look way better than Talbots' version! Enjoy!
1/30/11 12:27 PM
SewWil said...
This is a wonderful jacket! I love everything about it. You did a beautiful job on the top-stitching. I'm looking forward to seeing a pic of you wearing it. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/30/11 12:37 PM
Lisette said...
Such a cute jacket!
1/30/11 1:39 PM
Dale C said...
That denim made such an elegant jacket! I have something similar sitting in my stash, was saving it for home dec stuff, but I think I'll make a jacket from it too. Yours looks great.
1/30/11 1:40 PM
Ody said...
Just wow and soooooo clever!!! I must have this pattern. I thought about joining the jacket thread, but I don't need that many jackets. However, you are changing my mind. Enabler---I have to have this pattern. How many cups of coffee did it take to make this gorgeous thing??? :)
1/30/11 3:32 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, sorry I'm so late in posting. This jacket is just the cutest thing ever, and oh, so well made. Your stitching, pressing and all details are just so perfect. And that bow emphasizing your beautiful face will be the piece de resistance. I know that's not spelled correctly; ask Meggie!!! Anyway, such facial emphasis will be just perfect. Annette tried to describe the triple stitch once and she explains things so beautifully , but I still don't know if I have one. How would I recognize it? Dull but inquiring minds want to know.
1/30/11 4:15 PM
Dei said...
What a great jacket. Well done on your knock-off skills. Enjoy the Jacket-a-Month sew along.
1/30/11 4:50 PM
Christas said...
Thanks for all the very nice comments!!! Karendee, the triple stitch on my machine shows three lines of stitches side by side, but when you stitch them out they are stitched on top of each other for a thicker appearance. If you elongate the stitch a tad then it will look somewhat like handstitching. Melody, several cups of coffee were consumed during the sewing of this jacket! :-)
1/30/11 5:05 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Darling jacket and great knockoff!
1/30/11 5:17 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very cute, looks better then your inspiration jacket. It fits very nice, I can see this pattern being used for a lot of styles…love the bow on it!
1/30/11 5:30 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fabulous jacket! It looks wonderful on you. Excellent review!
1/30/11 5:33 PM
callmeRuth said...
Lovely jacket, Christa! I like the style!
1/30/11 5:34 PM
lmb09 said...
This jacket is so cute and it looks great on you!
1/30/11 5:51 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Great job! I love it.
1/30/11 6:39 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
What a GREAT jacket! I don't know that I would have ever paid attention to this patter but your jacket is REALLY cute! Nice work! My favorite look is styled with the skirt and boots! Love it!
1/30/11 7:50 PM
Catbird said...
I agree 100% with Rhonda in Montreal! I agree with everybody, come to think of it! Beautiful, ladylike, "Christa-worthy" jacket in every way. I adore that topstiching and the perfect buttons and bow. Fantastic!
1/30/11 9:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job. Thanks for showing how you did the bow. This is a great looking denim jacket.
1/31/11 5:28 AM
janet said...
You are absolutely adorable!!! Love your jacket. I would wear it in a heartbeat. I am a big fan of bows.
1/31/11 7:24 AM
Fran G said...
My immediate reaction to seeing your jacket? "o-o-h, that is one cute jacket!" I can see that a lot of people feel the same way! I like the fitted lower portion of your jacket as opposed to a rather boxy shape..thanks for the wonderful review!
1/31/11 7:31 AM
Tarrbaby said...
When I opened the picture what flew out of my mouth outloud was OMG that is sooo cute! I may need to knock off YOUR jacket, Talbot's beware!
1/31/11 7:35 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous jacket! Your version is so much cuter than Talbots'.
1/31/11 8:39 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Really sweet Christa. Really YOU!
1/31/11 9:14 AM
JillyBe said...
Classic and Cute! I just discovered the triple stitch, which I used as topstitching on a stretch fabric (it has some stretch to it) & I love it! It's great to see it on a woven - I'm definitely going to be using more of it :)
1/31/11 1:30 PM
JETrinity said...
Your bow is the perfect touch and your jacket is a true knock off. Great job. That means you have 11 more jackets to make this year. I'm cheering for you.
1/31/11 3:13 PM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous jacket! It is so stylish and the bow is fantastic.
1/31/11 7:20 PM
kidmd said...
So cute!! I love the bow!
1/31/11 10:17 PM
Ericaeli said...
This is such a nice jacket, and I love the bow you added. It looks great on you too.
2/1/11 0:11 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the photos of you wearing it! You look great. So stylish!
2/1/11 6:24 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is one fabulous jacket-nice work!
2/1/11 8:28 AM
Mahler said...
For me with that jacket, it was love at first sigh. Nothing more to say ;-)))
2/14/11 10:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Papercut Patterns 1006

photo
by: RMJ

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now