SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1212 (Misses' Coat)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1455 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/11 11:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 41 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VogueMistress said...
What a beautiful coat! You did an outstanding job and inspired me to take another look at that pattern.
2/16/11 11:31 AM
callmeRuth said...
This coat is stunning! The fabric is gorgeous, the design details are fabulous, and your workmanship is superb. Thanks for posting all the photos and for the great review.
2/16/11 11:33 AM
manola6176 said...
Marvellous coat. Your fabric matching is fantastic. I've had the pattern in my stash since its released and I was very eager to read a review before I start such an ambitious project. You've convinced me. Thanks for a great review
2/16/11 12:16 PM
sewinfrance said...
It's a beautiful coat and the colour is lovely on you. Thanks for a detailled review and the interesting info on Zipper Stop (great video & article!)
2/16/11 12:23 PM
MNBarb said...
Thank you for all of the details. It helps the rest of us to see your skilled techniques in close-up photos. You are an inspiration. I just put coat-making on my to-do-when-I-retire list because all of those "extras" look so satisfying. Your coat is marvelous!
2/16/11 12:24 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fab-U-Lous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2/16/11 12:41 PM
Clareew said...
Wow, Ii'm gobshacked. Thanks for mentioning ahout the small bicep. I thought Sandra Betzina specialised in patterns for the mor muscled arm, just as well you let me know.. Love it.
2/16/11 12:46 PM
Nan Kay said...
Just fantastic! The coat is a work of art and your review, as usual, is wonderful!
2/16/11 1:17 PM
cleverkitty said...
the details of this jacket is just so impressive, the zipper in the back gives it tribute to praise you just want to keep seeing more. This should be entered into a contest. Very Smart on you. Thanks for the review.
2/16/11 1:18 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat...great attention to detail and looks beautiful on you!
2/16/11 1:41 PM
SueV said...
wow! I would have never noticed all those details. Great coat; looks like a lot of fun to make!
2/16/11 2:19 PM
Ecrulace said...
Gorgeous coat - thanks for all the detailed pictures too!
2/16/11 2:22 PM
lmb09 said...
Gorgeous coat! The details and your workmanship are amazing! Really enjoyed your review and the various photos!
2/16/11 2:44 PM
BillieJean said...
This is sooo pretty!
2/16/11 3:04 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous coat!!! Thanks for the detailed review and pictures.
2/16/11 3:15 PM
Christas said...
I am so glad you included lots of pics with this excellent review. I have looked at them over and over. Every detail is so perfect. What an inspiration! It is so hard to believe that yours is the same pattern as the one pictured on the envelope. Yours is just so much more stylish and pretty. You have such a wonderful knack for picking lovely fabrics and notions to make your creations just stand out. I could just look at this amazing coat over and over, and hope that I could have the ability to one day sew something even half as nice! I truly am in awe of your talent.
2/16/11 4:08 PM
marthamyers said...
What a clever bunch of exquisitely executed details! And the end result is TDF. The choice of this difficult fabric is also perfection in your interpretation of this jacket. Thanks for raising my awareness of this pattern that I actually own. I must try my own now! Thanks for the inspiration, the helpful description and accompanying pix.
2/16/11 4:09 PM
denese said...
just love it barbara , but the pattern add seems to suggest the shorter coat flares more i am pleased its tuned out with less flares i like that better must be just the drawing love the pattern i think my oldest daughter would also adore it. great vogue styling again.
2/16/11 4:47 PM
pegsewer said...
Great pattern and review and I love this fabric too!
2/16/11 4:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous garment in a gorgeous fabric, and above all an extremely impressive sewing effort. Yours looks nicer and more appealing than the envelope version.
2/16/11 5:03 PM
sfshaza said...
Just gorgeous, Barbara!!! I used that polka dot fabric to line a coat, but I never saw that wonderful swirl fabric. A long version of this coat is on my list to make, but yours is superlative!!!!!!
2/16/11 6:29 PM
carolynw said...
I LOVE THIS!! Great work and an absolutely beautiful coat - very helpful review
2/16/11 7:13 PM
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this is amazing. You look spectacular in this coat. I have this pattern but haven't looked closely at it. I never would have guessed it had such wonderful details. Your fabric is perfect. I want to make it NOW!
2/16/11 7:23 PM
moushka said...
Outstanding coat. I would not have guessed at all those lovely details from the pattern photo, which is a shame. Vogue should hire you to make the garments for the pattern envelopes. Great work and a super review.
2/16/11 7:46 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Just perfect. I didn't realize that this pattern included so many details and you've managed to highlight them all with great precision! The fabric choice is perfect......the entire garment....just perfect! Nice job!
2/16/11 7:47 PM
lyriclady67 said...
I have wanted to purchase this pattern since I first saw it in the Vogue pattern book. . . the collar, the sleeve overlay and the zipper details are so unusual and beautiful. I was hoping someone would post a review of this pattern, as I wanted to see what it would look like made up in a different print than what is pictured on the pattern envelope. Your coat and choice of fabric are perfect! I had in my mind some sort of microfibre fabric for this pattern and your fabric choice fits very closely to what I envisioned. Wish I lived in CA, so I might find a similar fabric . . . haven't seen anything like this in SC. You have inspired me to purchase the pattern my next trip to the fabric store and to continue my search for the perfect fabric. I love Sandra Betzina's patterns and have made up several of them. Thanks for the beautiful pictures and description of the pattern details. What a wonderful seamtress you are!
2/16/11 7:56 PM
susiestitcher said...
What a beautiful coat! Your workmanship and style are so incredible. I have this pattern, too, but haven't had a chance to make it. I was thinking of trying the simpler version, but after seeing yours, I am tempted to go for the details. You always inspire me! Great fabric choice, too! It looks great on you. Thanks also for the tip about sleeve width.
2/16/11 8:26 PM
Deborah L said...
Beautiful coat! Love the fabric and all the extra details you added. I really liked the zippers and piping. Looks fabulous on you.
2/16/11 8:44 PM
sew2little said...
This coat is perfect: the combination of fabric and the pattern's details so beautifully executed by the talented woman who looks so lovely in her new coat.
2/16/11 9:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Barbara, you look so enchantingly chic in your impressively crafted coat! The picture on Vogue Patterns is misleading because it does not showcase the beautiful details as YOUR coat does. Your entire ensemble with your new coat is tres magnifique!
2/16/11 10:28 PM
annie11 said...
Wow! Stunning coat! I had completely overlooked this pattern before now. I love your choice of fabric, and every detail of the design really shines with your workmanship!
2/16/11 11:33 PM
Margie T said...
I love your work. It is always beautifully made. Inspiring!
2/17/11 0:48 AM
lamstu said...
So beautiful! Great fabric choices and all the details work great. I never looked twice at this pattern because I prefer more tailored, fitted clothing. However, your fantastic coat appears very slimming, so now it's on the list because I really like all the details which you so kindly showed us! Thanks.
2/17/11 2:38 AM
msmull3562 said...
Beautiful. I was waiting for someone to review this coat and you always do such lovely work.
2/17/11 10:25 AM
beth5646 said...
Exquisite!!
2/17/11 11:24 AM
Ann Smith said...
So fantastic. All those details add up to an incredible garment plus the fabric and color on you are perfect.
2/17/11 11:41 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Swooning with pleasure at your coat- and the great review. Beautiful coat!
2/17/11 12:44 PM
JillyBe said...
I've been glancing at this review since you first posted, but I had to refrain from commenting until I had time to look thoroughly at all of your details....my jaw is hanging open - FABULOUS! I love everything about it. Your construction is inspirational! Can one have too many coat patterns? Because now I want this one!
2/17/11 1:29 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
You've sold this pattern for Vogue; they owe you! Fabulous coat!
2/17/11 2:09 PM
kkkkaty said...
I am feeling more and more that if I am going to sew at all, I want to sew really interesting and unusual things (not a tee I can buy for $15); this coat is definitely one of those patterns, and I so appreciate your review and your beautiful coat!
2/17/11 3:39 PM
lesliez said...
Absolutely gorgeous. When I saw this pattern I wasn't too taken with the shorter version, but you have changed my mind.
2/17/11 6:12 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great job on your beautiful coat!!! It has so many details that I never noticed on the pattern envelope, and back interest is always so fun. Enjoy wearing it!
2/17/11 6:24 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow! Excellent, excellent, excellent! What a delicious coat and you look beautiful in it. Your workmanship is superb. The fabric choice and color is gorgeous. When I saw this pattern in the catalogue, I just glanced at it but after looking at yours, I must purchase this pattern. I think Vogue should put your picture on the pattern envelope! About those slim-fitting sleeves, I made a Betzina jacket (Vogue 1036) not too long ago and found that the sleeves were snug. I measured the pattern sleeve and found that the sleeve measurement indicated for my size was actually the measurement for the next smaller size - there was a mistake on the pattern. I wrote to Vogue and they corrected it for future printings....I wonder whether the same thing happened with this pattern? Anyway, thank you for pointing this out. And thanks for the great review!
2/17/11 9:17 PM
bananaoil said...
Wow. Your coat is beautiful, and thanks so much for the Zipper Stop links.
2/18/11 10:00 AM
Tere Sews said...
Oh, my goodness. I also have that fabric from Fabrix in my stash and now I know exactly what to make with it! Thanks for your great review!
2/20/11 5:06 PM
taylormade said...
Barbara, Your coat is gorgeous, and your workmanship is excellent. I'm wondering about making this coat in a heavier fabric, a coat weight wool herringbone. I wondered if you think it would work with if I just did the basic coat with pockets...no overlay or extra zippers? thanks for your feedback! Mary Taylor - Taylormade1@cocmcast.net
2/20/11 10:51 PM
Annette1 said...
SO MANY beautiful details on your new coat. It really is GORGEOUS and EXPERTLY tailored. :o) Thanks for all the pictures -- my favorite part. :o)
2/21/11 5:21 PM
janet said...
I am in LOVE with you EXQUISITE coat and your SUPERB tailoring. What a SPECIAL talent you have combining color and texture with OUTSTANDING results!
2/27/11 10:09 AM
CA Sue said...
I too bought this pattern, but was waiting for someone else to try it first. This is truly gorgeous, and inspirational. Thank you for the details, this will help me tremendously.
3/7/11 7:19 AM
whistlin dixie said...
What a fabulous rendition of this design! I love your fabric combination, and the details you chose to add make a truly unique garment. I just purchased a crinkled nylon blend from Marcy Tilton that I plan to use for the shorter version of this coat. Your review will be very helpful when I get down to sewing this in late summer or early fall. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/9/11 10:28 PM
a life in stitches said...
Really, really helpful review. Thank you for the detail. You have made a lovely coat.
7/28/11 10:43 AM
Sew'n'go said...
Fabulous coat! Thanks so much for the very detailed review. I love all the pictures. You look stunning!
7/28/11 8:05 PM
Laceflower said...
thank you for your review, I've got the pattern and appreciate your comments on it. You did a wonderful job on this project and your pictures helped me see where the contrast fabric goes
8/1/11 12:47 PM
jewelea said...
You inspired me to purchase this pattern yesterday; I only hope I can find fabric that complements it as well as yours does. And what a help to have your review. I've enjoyed looking at all your reviews, both for the terrific garments and for your great sense of personal style.
9/3/11 7:23 PM
wendalia said...
Just bought the pattern, kinda unsure, but after reading your review I can't wait to find the perfect fabric.
11/19/11 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6278

photo
by: kristy bis...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-146

photo
by: Blooms

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now