Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2009-19 (Soft Shell outdoorjacket) - Type:Activewear
Review submitted in Active Wear 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 290 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Ericaeli
photo
Friend of PR
About Ericaelistar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/09
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/11 4:25 PM
Last Updated:1/31/11 7:22 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Thanks for an excellent review. Ottobre does such nice patterns.
1/31/11 4:27 PM
annakeeton said...
You created a great jacket and the use of the reverse green looks very sporty. I know what you mean about wavy zippers in fleece- have you tried 1/4" Wonder Tape? I find that helps.
1/31/11 6:23 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thanks for the idea annakeeton. I have lots of wonder tape, so I will try that on my next fleece jacket. I figured that using a stabilizer, and hand basting the zipper would do the trick!
1/31/11 7:07 PM
Sewliz said...
It's beautiful! Now I want one! I have a theory (not tested) that zippers expand in length when zipped and relax when open. Maybe I'll find out for sure one day.
1/31/11 9:15 PM
o3b said...
Love your jacket! Thanks for reminding me of this pattern. I already have some MM fleece and was going to alter something else to come up with this one.
2/1/11 4:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket. I plan to make this, love to see it made up. It fits you well.
2/2/11 4:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket. I plan to make this, love to see it made up. It fits you well.
2/2/11 4:28 AM
becca a said...
I love your jacket! I think I may need to locate a copy of this issue of Ottobre. Your snowflake label is great as is your use of the 2 colors.
2/4/11 8:05 PM
AnneM said...
Let me tell you, I certainly didn't notice your 'wobbly zipper' in the picture of you wearing it. I think it looks great. I just love your snowflake label!
2/4/11 8:48 PM
pmac said...
Great looking jacket - I like your color choice and placement. Thanks for the detailed review with photos.
2/4/11 10:12 PM
lynnewill said...
I like the color contrast as well as your color choices. The label is the perfect personal touch. I applaude you expanding your skills it sets a great example for us all to step outside of our comfort zone. Well done!
2/4/11 11:12 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY, VERY nice and beautifully made. I love the color combination AND the snowflake label. :o)
2/5/11 0:42 AM
ElizabethDee said...
It looks gorgeous to me -- very sporty and well fitted. The zippers look RTW, too. (Maybe put yourself to the 4 foot rule -- or whatever distance it is -- whereby if you can't see it from that distance, you are being overly perfectionistic?). Kudos.
2/7/11 12:02 PM
RachelStonebreaker said...
I love your jacket! I, too, have a terrible time with zippers buckling. I've been looking up how to fix a particular problem I have with an invisible zipper on a fine mesh (one of those dance dresses with the see-through mesh above the bust and over the shoulders). It lays fine in the velvet bodice but buckles horribly in the upper bodice mesh. I haven't solved it yet, but it looks like, so far, the problem is because the zipper tape is heavier and less stretchy than the fashion fabric. Your zipper may have that problem as well. It looks like it's actually longer than the opening. I'm wondering if, contrary to what all sewing blogs talk about zipper tapes shrinking, yours and mine are actually too long? I love your jacket, regardless of the little wobble!
3/3/11 4:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Kwik Sew 2852 girl's unitard
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 2/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 6049 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6049 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse New York Dress
Loes Hinse New York Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

EvaDress SE30-6690
photo
Review by DoggyGirl on 12/22/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us