SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2009-19 (Soft Shell outdoorjacket)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Active Wear 2011 Contest
Viewed 292 times 
Reviewed by:Ericaeli
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ericaelistar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/09
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/11 4:25 PM
Last Updated:1/31/11 7:22 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RachelStonebreaker said...
I love your jacket! I, too, have a terrible time with zippers buckling. I've been looking up how to fix a particular problem I have with an invisible zipper on a fine mesh (one of those dance dresses with the see-through mesh above the bust and over the shoulders). It lays fine in the velvet bodice but buckles horribly in the upper bodice mesh. I haven't solved it yet, but it looks like, so far, the problem is because the zipper tape is heavier and less stretchy than the fashion fabric. Your zipper may have that problem as well. It looks like it's actually longer than the opening. I'm wondering if, contrary to what all sewing blogs talk about zipper tapes shrinking, yours and mine are actually too long? I love your jacket, regardless of the little wobble!
3/3/11 4:59 PM
ElizabethDee said...
It looks gorgeous to me -- very sporty and well fitted. The zippers look RTW, too. (Maybe put yourself to the 4 foot rule -- or whatever distance it is -- whereby if you can't see it from that distance, you are being overly perfectionistic?). Kudos.
2/7/11 12:02 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY, VERY nice and beautifully made. I love the color combination AND the snowflake label. :o)
2/5/11 0:42 AM
lynnewill said...
I like the color contrast as well as your color choices. The label is the perfect personal touch. I applaude you expanding your skills it sets a great example for us all to step outside of our comfort zone. Well done!
2/4/11 11:12 PM
pmac said...
Great looking jacket - I like your color choice and placement. Thanks for the detailed review with photos.
2/4/11 10:12 PM
AnneM said...
Let me tell you, I certainly didn't notice your 'wobbly zipper' in the picture of you wearing it. I think it looks great. I just love your snowflake label!
2/4/11 8:48 PM
becca a said...
I love your jacket! I think I may need to locate a copy of this issue of Ottobre. Your snowflake label is great as is your use of the 2 colors.
2/4/11 8:05 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket. I plan to make this, love to see it made up. It fits you well.
2/2/11 4:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket. I plan to make this, love to see it made up. It fits you well.
2/2/11 4:28 AM
o3b said...
Love your jacket! Thanks for reminding me of this pattern. I already have some MM fleece and was going to alter something else to come up with this one.
2/1/11 4:51 AM
Sewliz said...
It's beautiful! Now I want one! I have a theory (not tested) that zippers expand in length when zipped and relax when open. Maybe I'll find out for sure one day.
1/31/11 9:15 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thanks for the idea annakeeton. I have lots of wonder tape, so I will try that on my next fleece jacket. I figured that using a stabilizer, and hand basting the zipper would do the trick!
1/31/11 7:07 PM
annakeeton said...
You created a great jacket and the use of the reverse green looks very sporty. I know what you mean about wavy zippers in fleece- have you tried 1/4" Wonder Tape? I find that helps.
1/31/11 6:23 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for an excellent review. Ottobre does such nice patterns.
1/31/11 4:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8649

photo
by: wingamajig

Review