Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2009-19 (Soft Shell outdoor jacket) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 311 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:EveS
photo
Friend of PR
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/11 1:56 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, fabulous jacket Eve, in so many ways! I have a swatch of that Illuminite so it's interesting to see how you used it. Great review too, thanks!
2/6/11 3:51 AM
FloraNature said...
What an amazing fit - you'll get loads of wear from this jacket! And what a great tip about using the open-toe foot as a topstitching guide.
2/6/11 6:58 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! Your jacket looks very RTW if not better! The fit looks great! Isn't wonderful to sew something you love!!
2/6/11 8:28 AM
Ericaeli said...
Your jacket turned out great. I really like all the colors that your used, and it fits your great. I just made this jacket too, and I agree it's a great pattern.
2/6/11 10:06 AM
my horse said...
This is an amazing piece of work! Your workmanship in the jacket and the review is perfect. So much thoughtful information!
2/6/11 10:42 AM
Christas said...
That is a huge undertaking! I am SO impressed. The jacket looks better than RTW and fits wonderfully. Excellent review!
2/6/11 11:22 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Very nice jacket! Thank you for all the discussion about sewing, top stitching, and fabric handling. The way you used the open-toe foot for top stitching provides another option from the edge foot I usually use. I like both Rockywoods and Rose City Textiles for outdoor fabrics.
2/6/11 11:52 AM
MNBarb said...
Oh, you just missed the activewear contest! This is really professional looking workout gear. Your details on the jacket are perfect. What fun to sew something you will wear every day.
2/6/11 12:38 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW....AWESOME! And I mean really. That Illuminite stuff is really something! Impressive stitching here. Nice work, nice colors and a great pattern. Ottobre is just such a great publication. You did a great job!
2/6/11 7:34 PM
21wale said...
Wow this is a fantastic jacket. The colors are great. Thanks for the helpful review and the activewear fabric link.
2/6/11 7:51 PM
Diane333 said...
What amazing work! The jacket is beautiful and one of a kind. Great review.
2/7/11 9:17 AM
Diane333 said...
What amazing work! The jacket is beautiful and one of a kind. Great review.
2/7/11 9:17 AM
Judy Kski said...
You really did a great job on your jacket. The fit is just right for active wear. Thanks you for such a detailed review. I'm sure I'll refer to it again.
2/7/11 12:06 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome jacket Eve - it looks fabulous on you!
2/7/11 10:28 PM
o3b said...
Your jacket is amazing. Also amazing is your review and the fact that you have THREE kids! And you sew and run and have time to write a review like this?! I have three kids, too, and I'm not nearly that productive.
2/9/11 3:25 AM
Maia B said...
Wowzers! What a feat! Surely one of the Seven Summits of Sewing. Respect!
4/18/11 2:47 PM
sewingformeWP said...
That's an awesome jacket!
3/17/12 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7442 Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 2/1/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1204
photo
Review by goosegreen on 8/15/12
Read Review

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us