Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5305 (Tank Dress Group) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2648 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/04 8:44 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Good save with the neckline - I like that design finish!
7/11/04 9:22 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a candid review.
7/11/04 9:46 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nice job on what must have been a frustrating project. I like the knit tank much better than the woven. And I have found that LH designs' armsceyes are cut way too tight. Thanks for a good review. -Ann
7/11/04 9:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Good outcome despite the issues with the pattern.
7/11/04 9:58 AM
Annette H said...
This is a very informative review. I am about to try several Loes H. patterns, and looking through the directions, I find they're are minimal, to say the least. We are not all advanced sewers and when we spend $16, the least we should expect is a full set of instructions. The very advanced sewers can just ignore them - I NEED them. Having said that, you achieved wonders. I love the personal look of the satin trim. Thanks for your honest opinion - hopes Loes reads PR reviews.
7/11/04 10:04 AM
PVA said...
Londa, thank you so much for your honest assessment of this pattern. I can only echo the statements in the other comments as well as your own, I do expect that "extra mile" in the patterns from the independents. I know you've taken some heat from a very few of us who post here and at SW, but I for one, need the input from the advanced "fabric artists" in order to continue to learn and grow in my sewing. Your work on this pattern is very creative, and your tank top is just beautiful!
7/11/04 10:39 AM
MaryBeth said...
Whew, nice save, Londa. Thanks for the honest review.
7/11/04 10:48 AM
Teenie said...
Both shirts look great despite the trouble they gave you.
7/11/04 11:01 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Londa, I do love the way you embellished the neckline. I may have to borrow that idea from you at some point, hope you don't mind! I do think the View E tank looks really nice on you.
7/11/04 11:37 AM
sewywabbit said...
The burgundy tank DOES look good on you, despite all the grief it gave you. I have said before that I will save the $16. I wonder if Loes should consider reissuing this one, with a dart on the dress and maybe a fit fix on view D. I see that the weekender bag is only priced at $12, maybe this one, since it IS so simplistic, should be reissued at $12 or $10.
7/11/04 12:39 PM
Levone said...
Both tops are very pretty despite the issues you encountered. I love the trim and bow addition.
7/11/04 2:07 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks for the honest review. Both tops look great, in spite of the trouble. The trim on the aqua top is a gorgeous addition. The burgundy top looks great on you, very sexy! ... but thanks for the pic because I can see that I would definitely spill out over it with my body.
7/11/04 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
You did a great job rescuing your top. And you are DEFINITELY going to get second looks in the burgundy top! And I totally agree; part of my reason to get an independent pattern is for instructions.
7/11/04 2:46 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for such a detailed review. I like your tops especially the woven one. I like sewing because you can improvise when needed, but I must agree about expecting more from the expensive patterns in the way of instructions and detail. I would actually like to see patterrns providing instructions for alternative methods when there is more than one way to do a job.
7/11/04 11:51 PM
dkk974 said...
Leave it to Londa to come up with a cute way to finish of the neckline. Thank you, Londa for your honest assessment.
7/12/04 11:29 AM
Claudia Resch said...
I think the knit one looks awesome, and even the other one turned out well through your alterations. I had heard that these patterns were better on small boned flat(ter) chested women, and that's what seems to be the problem.
7/12/04 6:34 PM
Daydreamer said...
Very informative and thorough review with great tips plus photos. Impressive, thank You!
5/20/08 11:26 AM
HatBuddy said...
Thanks so much for the info about armholes to high. I was a swimmer and weightlifter most my life so I almost always have trouble with armhole sizes. Even if I didn't seem to need larger ones then most ladies I would still HATE the fabric up to my pits!! Feels weird to me! You saved me wasting money on a frustrating pattern (I already have a few of those :) :) )
4/30/11 8:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 4443 Dress
photo
Review by fourkid on 8/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6894 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by LM2HYD on 1/16/12
Read Review

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us