SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5305 (Tank Dress Group)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2661 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/04 8:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Good save with the neckline - I like that design finish!
7/11/04 9:22 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a candid review.
7/11/04 9:46 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nice job on what must have been a frustrating project. I like the knit tank much better than the woven. And I have found that LH designs' armsceyes are cut way too tight. Thanks for a good review. -Ann
7/11/04 9:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Good outcome despite the issues with the pattern.
7/11/04 9:58 AM
Annette H said...
This is a very informative review. I am about to try several Loes H. patterns, and looking through the directions, I find they're are minimal, to say the least. We are not all advanced sewers and when we spend $16, the least we should expect is a full set of instructions. The very advanced sewers can just ignore them - I NEED them. Having said that, you achieved wonders. I love the personal look of the satin trim. Thanks for your honest opinion - hopes Loes reads PR reviews.
7/11/04 10:04 AM
PVA said...
Londa, thank you so much for your honest assessment of this pattern. I can only echo the statements in the other comments as well as your own, I do expect that "extra mile" in the patterns from the independents. I know you've taken some heat from a very few of us who post here and at SW, but I for one, need the input from the advanced "fabric artists" in order to continue to learn and grow in my sewing. Your work on this pattern is very creative, and your tank top is just beautiful!
7/11/04 10:39 AM
MaryBeth said...
Whew, nice save, Londa. Thanks for the honest review.
7/11/04 10:48 AM
Teenie said...
Both shirts look great despite the trouble they gave you.
7/11/04 11:01 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Londa, I do love the way you embellished the neckline. I may have to borrow that idea from you at some point, hope you don't mind! I do think the View E tank looks really nice on you.
7/11/04 11:37 AM
sewywabbit said...
The burgundy tank DOES look good on you, despite all the grief it gave you. I have said before that I will save the $16. I wonder if Loes should consider reissuing this one, with a dart on the dress and maybe a fit fix on view D. I see that the weekender bag is only priced at $12, maybe this one, since it IS so simplistic, should be reissued at $12 or $10.
7/11/04 12:39 PM
Levone said...
Both tops are very pretty despite the issues you encountered. I love the trim and bow addition.
7/11/04 2:07 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks for the honest review. Both tops look great, in spite of the trouble. The trim on the aqua top is a gorgeous addition. The burgundy top looks great on you, very sexy! ... but thanks for the pic because I can see that I would definitely spill out over it with my body.
7/11/04 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
You did a great job rescuing your top. And you are DEFINITELY going to get second looks in the burgundy top! And I totally agree; part of my reason to get an independent pattern is for instructions.
7/11/04 2:46 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for such a detailed review. I like your tops especially the woven one. I like sewing because you can improvise when needed, but I must agree about expecting more from the expensive patterns in the way of instructions and detail. I would actually like to see patterrns providing instructions for alternative methods when there is more than one way to do a job.
7/11/04 11:51 PM
dkk974 said...
Leave it to Londa to come up with a cute way to finish of the neckline. Thank you, Londa for your honest assessment.
7/12/04 11:29 AM
Claudia Resch said...
I think the knit one looks awesome, and even the other one turned out well through your alterations. I had heard that these patterns were better on small boned flat(ter) chested women, and that's what seems to be the problem.
7/12/04 6:34 PM
Daydreamer said...
Very informative and thorough review with great tips plus photos. Impressive, thank You!
5/20/08 11:26 AM
HatBuddy said...
Thanks so much for the info about armholes to high. I was a swimmer and weightlifter most my life so I almost always have trouble with armhole sizes. Even if I didn't seem to need larger ones then most ladies I would still HATE the fabric up to my pits!! Feels weird to me! You saved me wasting money on a frustrating pattern (I already have a few of those :) :) )
4/30/11 8:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 4929

photo
by: PattyE

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Karen Walk Short

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review