SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5456 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 606 times 
Reviewed by:Cowtown Karen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Cowtown Karenstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/11 12:53 PM
Last Updated:2/5/11 12:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
very nice, cute & looks comfy!!! My kind of garment. You will enjoy this dress.
2/5/11 2:00 PM
FreyaStark said...
A chic and stylish dress.
2/5/11 3:33 PM
Christas said...
So pretty!
2/5/11 4:38 PM
mary in FL said...
Oh, a good pattern to bump to the top of my to-make list!
2/5/11 5:38 PM
Barbara V said...
Great combination of fabrics. Very pretty in the long style. You look great in it. Happy Anniversary!
2/5/11 6:29 PM
Choco Pie said...
That looks great on you. I appreciate your alternate instructions for putting it together.
2/5/11 7:27 PM
Vonnevo said...
Karen, you look wonderful in this very stylish dress ! Lovely fabric combination that is perfect for the style. Happy Anniversary !
2/5/11 9:01 PM
smutnys said...
Your dress looks great! I am making this now and I am using your method for lining the bodice, but I'm stuck. I can't turn it to the right side to understitch the armholes. I have the whole neck, the armholes, and the back seams sewn but I can't turn it right side out. Can you help? Nadine
9/5/11 3:48 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Hi, Nadine. I hope I can help! I'm assuming that you have the bodice lying flat, inside out with the bodice front next to you, with the neckline and armholes sewn, but not the side seams. You should be able to reach in between the layers of the fashion fabric and lining and grab the back and pull the bodice through the shoulder seam area until the whole thing is right side out. Let me know if you still have problems. Good luck!
9/6/11 9:36 AM
smutnys said...
Thanks Karen. I realized that I was supposed to leave the lower back seam open until I had pulled each back piece through the shoulder. Once I did that I then sewed the back seam on the bodice and also on the lining. Now the only problem I see is the ties seem to be a bit heavy and they pull the bodice back. I should have made them narrower. I also noticed the armhole is a bit big and a bit of my bra shows. But I also needed to make a sloping AND a forward shoulder adjustment which would make the armhole a little smaller. Hopefully my next try will be better. Thanks
9/6/11 5:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Other 926 Rocking Horse Farms

photo
by: SewNikki

Review
McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now