Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5456 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 574 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Cowtown Karen
photo
Friend of PR
About Cowtown Karenstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/11 12:53 PM
Last Updated:2/5/11 12:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
very nice, cute & looks comfy!!! My kind of garment. You will enjoy this dress.
2/5/11 2:00 PM
FreyaStark said...
A chic and stylish dress.
2/5/11 3:33 PM
Christas said...
So pretty!
2/5/11 4:38 PM
mary in FL said...
Oh, a good pattern to bump to the top of my to-make list!
2/5/11 5:38 PM
Barbara V said...
Great combination of fabrics. Very pretty in the long style. You look great in it. Happy Anniversary!
2/5/11 6:29 PM
Choco Pie said...
That looks great on you. I appreciate your alternate instructions for putting it together.
2/5/11 7:27 PM
Vonnevo said...
Karen, you look wonderful in this very stylish dress ! Lovely fabric combination that is perfect for the style. Happy Anniversary !
2/5/11 9:01 PM
smutnys said...
Your dress looks great! I am making this now and I am using your method for lining the bodice, but I'm stuck. I can't turn it to the right side to understitch the armholes. I have the whole neck, the armholes, and the back seams sewn but I can't turn it right side out. Can you help? Nadine
9/5/11 3:48 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Hi, Nadine. I hope I can help! I'm assuming that you have the bodice lying flat, inside out with the bodice front next to you, with the neckline and armholes sewn, but not the side seams. You should be able to reach in between the layers of the fashion fabric and lining and grab the back and pull the bodice through the shoulder seam area until the whole thing is right side out. Let me know if you still have problems. Good luck!
9/6/11 9:36 AM
smutnys said...
Thanks Karen. I realized that I was supposed to leave the lower back seam open until I had pulled each back piece through the shoulder. Once I did that I then sewed the back seam on the bodice and also on the lining. Now the only problem I see is the ties seem to be a bit heavy and they pull the bodice back. I should have made them narrower. I also noticed the armhole is a bit big and a bit of my bra shows. But I also needed to make a sloping AND a forward shoulder adjustment which would make the armhole a little smaller. Hopefully my next try will be better. Thanks
9/6/11 5:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 8117
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 9/1/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Palmer Pletsch 001 Apron
photo
Review by Learn To S... on 6/26/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3053 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3053 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3518 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3518 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us