SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8497 (Blouse)

8 more reviews
Viewed 649 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/11 4:52 PM
Last Updated:2/12/11 7:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PJ15 said...
I think the blouse looks lovely! I have this pattern, my first Burda and I'm struggling. I'm a UK 10 so after measuring up I did a US 8 which I expected to be roomy, but was too small. I'm a bit celery myself, but now am looking at doing a much bigger size as I don't want to give up on such a sweet and stylish shirt. Any tips from regular Burda users!
1/6/12 7:46 AM
twelvedresses said...
You know far more about sewing than I ever could, and anyway it looks like you have a legion of commenters to help you so I'll just say this: Looks MAHvelous, love the color! I know you'll get it to where you want it!
3/16/11 11:23 AM
JETrinity said...
Very pretty top on you. You go get this battle won.
2/28/11 7:57 PM
bananaoil said...
If you have one blouse that you like the fit of, compare the length of the shoulder seam. This pattern may be too wide through the shoulders for you. Your actual shoulder length might be 4.5 inches as Kenneth King says many women are. Compare the width of your back and chest, from arm crease to arm crease, with the pattern at the same point. Try to rearrange the armscye seams to match your arm/ body join. I think if you tweak the pattern in this area, you make it again it'll fit better.
2/14/11 10:20 PM
Peggy L said...
The color and style look so nice on you but I do know it is frustrating when things don't fit the way we think they should. Like others, I didn't have all these fitting issues at 20 either. I really miss those days.
2/12/11 10:53 PM
JillyBe said...
I don't have fit advice to offer, but I did have to giggle at the comment about how well things fit when we sewed at 20 - I have the same questions lol. The color of your blouse is such a perfect shade for you! Congrats on sticking with it & finding a much better fit :)
2/12/11 9:31 PM
redrockcity said...
That is a gorgeous blouse! The color is perfect for you and the style is very flattering!
2/12/11 8:56 PM
marjoriekh said...
I don't have any suggestions for your back fit issues, alas, but I'm working on a wrap style now that I had a gaping problem with, and I used nicegirl's simple SBA for wraps to deal with it. I took several small tucks in the tissue rather than one large one. Worked beautifully for me (I'm still in the muslin stage, so no review) and I'm thinking it will for you, too. Go to theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com and look in the righthand column for the bookmarked post on SBAs. (If you've tried this already and it still gapes, then arghhh.)
2/12/11 8:22 PM
Christas said...
Barb, you are so good to stay with a pattern even after you get frustrated with it! The second version is nice and definitely one you should enjoy wearing. As for your question about tweaking the fit, I wonder if possibly the shoulder should be a little shorter? I am not positive, but it appears in the back the shoulder is too long. I wonder if you need to shorten the seam where it meets the sleeve? Of course, there are things in RTW that would not fit as nicely as your pretty top. Then again, I know there are others with much better fitting expertise that hopefully will chime in. You can tell that you have sewn the top so nicely. I do think being a part of PR makes one notice the fit of things better. I don't think I really noticed fitting wrinkles in my own sewn clothing as much as I do now (not that I always know what to do with them!).
2/12/11 8:11 PM
cleverkitty said...
I love wrap tops but mine gap too, if you look at the ones I made (too many wraps) they do have snaps several if needed, I have hardly a bust. I went back and added elastic to the neckline in some, I'm like you I won't be defeated but I have to force myself to wear them. also I'm not a ruffle person but I needed a another look besides my usual more tailored look. I think it looks beautiful on you. Good review...
2/9/11 8:54 AM
Christas said...
I want to be a celery!!! Your sewing is always so precise and nice. I just hate that this didn't look like you hoped. Maybe some of the suggestions will work ..... hope so!
2/7/11 1:55 PM
Annette1 said...
I got the giggles when I read that you were "open for suggestions," after reading that the blouse was gapping. :o) All that aside, I know just what you mean when you say you're getting downright discouraged with tops. To me, it's a design flaw when you've done everything perfectly and it's unwearable due to gapping, a neckline that goes clear to your belly button, or WHATEVER. I hope you'll try the snaps, because the top looks so pretty on you. I wish I was a CELERY! :o))
2/7/11 1:25 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks Zazzie, I did make that change and already have it cut out and ready to sew. I may still need a snap but it should fit better overall.
2/6/11 9:46 PM
zazzie said...
Barb, if you make it again, I don't think you should add lenght above the waist. It's okay if the ties are slightly above your natural waist. It might also help the fit in the lower back (which is already fine, mind you).
2/6/11 9:30 PM
21wale said...
Celery ! (: Too bad about the gaping, since it really is such a great look. I like the snap idea mentioned. I'd probably unceremoniously stitch it shut. I've seen my mom sew fake camisoles (fabric triangles) into some of her low v-necks.
2/6/11 7:44 PM
MNBarb said...
I used the size 10 but added to the length above the waist which should have been correct according to my slightly long torso measurement. I don't give up very easily and am going to see if I have enough fabric left to try again. I don't go down without a fight. I did try a tank and it's not comfortable. I will also try the snaps.
2/6/11 6:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, try the snaps. It would be a pity to waste the top as it looks good on you.
2/6/11 6:38 PM
zazzie said...
Could you sew some tiny snaps (two or three, along the neck and front line) to secure it? I do that all the time - even with RTW - using the small clear plastic ones. Would should try, really, because that shirt is just lovely on you.
2/6/11 6:28 PM
Mushywear said...
What a gorgeous color and fabric you have used. I'm so bummed that it gapes on you. I'm looking at your picture and comparing it to mine and it looks like my tie is higher, therefore the neckline is higher. I do wonder if you raised the tie higher if that would help. When I wear my blouse I definitely have to tie it snug. This creates more wrinkles, but I do love it. Curious what size you used?
2/6/11 6:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now