SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8806 (Ruffled Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1726 times 
Reviewed by:Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy!starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/04 3:57 PM
Last Updated:7/11/04 4:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlt said...
Great save! Your slideshow and review are quite helpful.
7/11/04 4:20 PM
CarrieA said...
You won the battle! Your top looks great. So funny you posted today, as I'm following your advise on another pattern you reviewed about a year ago...burda 8914 shorts. Your reviews (and photos) really help. Thanks!
7/11/04 5:05 PM
mudcat said...
Nice save and even better you seem to have kept your sense of humor. Your sleeveless version turned out nice.
7/11/04 5:18 PM
LoriB said...
The blouse turned out very pretty - but oh my what a battle it was to get there!
7/11/04 5:45 PM
jlg said...
Your blouse is beautiful. I'm sorry that it was such a chore. Thanks for the heads up on the problems with this pattern. I'll definitely skip it.
7/11/04 5:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
LOVE the review. I was cracking up the whole time ... yeah, easy for ME to say, I wasn't the one sewing it. I looked at the main pic before reading and was thinking, "Oh, I love it! Must buy it." But you fixed that right quick. Beautiful save, beautiful blouse. Very romantic and yes, still very JJill.
7/11/04 6:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
Too bad about this pattern because the picture is so cute. You were far more patient and resourceful than I ever could have been (it would have gone in the trash fast). Still, you ended up with a very attractive top, but I sure don't blame for not making it again.
7/11/04 6:10 PM
Schnauzer said...
Oopsy-Daisy, I really love reading your reviews. Congratulations on your perseverance. Your blouse is lovely.
7/11/04 7:06 PM
AnneM said...
Great photos - I knew most of the story before getting to read the review! You made a marvelous save. And it's a good reminder that all the pattern companies have bad patterns.
7/11/04 7:19 PM
Elona said...
Awww, oopsy, too bad about the misadventures! The blouse came out pretty anyway. You think you saw a lot of darts with this one??? They used to come with not only an elbow dart for the bend in the elbow, but also tiny darts in the middle of the shoulder or the back of the neck, for the roundness of most feminine backs, very like this pattern: http://store.sewingtoday.com/cgi-bin/voguepatterns/shop.cgi?s.item.200007945=x&TI=20001&pageNum=4&M=&UK=33061324 Actually, these darts provide excellent fitting opportunities--if they're in the right place. The way you find out where the elbow dart goes on you is to measure from the bump at the base of your neck down to your wrist (same technique used to size men's shirts), noting where your elbow is with your arm relaxed (very slightly bent). Then you measure the pattern from center back neck to shoulder seam, and shoulder seam down to wrist. The comparison should tell you where your personal elbow dart ought to have gone. Burda patterns are designed for a woman 5' 6" tall, and if you're shorter than that, you could count on moving that dart, because your arms would be shorter.
7/11/04 9:24 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the humor in your review. Your finished sleeveless version is wonderful. JJill right on the money. I made a Burda 3/4 sleeve blouse this spring. It had an elbow dart, too. I found the sleeves tight, thank goodness my fabric had some stretch to it.
7/11/04 10:48 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
You deserve a graduate degree for all the work you put into this: I would have had this in the wodder pile for sure. Result looks terrific, however. I have a question about your Shutterfly account and posting pictures to Pattern Review. I never seem to be able to do it, and when I asked Shutterfly about it, they said they don't allow pictures to be posted to public sites! Can you let me know how you accomplish this? I know this isn't a sewing question, but since I know I will never come near making the blouse, figured I'd ask something else. Thanks.
7/12/04 8:58 AM
SouthernStitch said...
This review made me laugh this morning and I needed that! Great blouse - great save - bravo!
7/12/04 10:01 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Harriet, what I do is create an album or photo and click on the box that says "share online" -- ie emailing the photo or album link. After you do that, on the next page a link will appear and you can copy/paste it. Or you can send the email to yourself and cut/paste that link for your review. I hope this helps!
7/12/04 2:20 PM
SnowBlaze 101 said...
this reviewer always is AMAZING with her advice. She is quite the style maven!
7/12/04 5:01 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks. I'll try this on the next go-round, whichI hope will be this weekend.
7/13/04 10:11 AM
staging lady said...
Your post cheered me up! I too made this blouse or didn't this Spring. Just couldn't get it to fit even though I had made a muslin copy. Couldn't get the front to fit too short and as for sewing the rolled hem on the bias cut ruffle, forget it! It is far from the easy rating it says. Unless you have time to fiddle, give this one a miss.
9/20/07 5:00 PM
dragon10 said...
I was going to get this pattern. Thanks for the review/warning. Much appreciated.
1/9/10 11:11 PM
denisedh said...
OMG - I just bought this pattern at Joann - for the same reasons - JJillish looking - and now after reading your review and others - am not even taking it out of the package. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! and boooooo to Burda! Bet I cannot get my money back either!
7/31/10 11:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sure-Fit Designs Pants Kit

photo
by: neon8tl

Review
Butterick 5497

photo
by: SewRusty

Review
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now