Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8806 (Ruffled Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1714 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Oopsy-Daisy!
photo
About Oopsy-Daisy!starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/04 3:57 PM
Last Updated:7/11/04 4:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlt said...
Great save! Your slideshow and review are quite helpful.
7/11/04 4:20 PM
CarrieA said...
You won the battle! Your top looks great. So funny you posted today, as I'm following your advise on another pattern you reviewed about a year ago...burda 8914 shorts. Your reviews (and photos) really help. Thanks!
7/11/04 5:05 PM
mudcat said...
Nice save and even better you seem to have kept your sense of humor. Your sleeveless version turned out nice.
7/11/04 5:18 PM
LoriB said...
The blouse turned out very pretty - but oh my what a battle it was to get there!
7/11/04 5:45 PM
jlg said...
Your blouse is beautiful. I'm sorry that it was such a chore. Thanks for the heads up on the problems with this pattern. I'll definitely skip it.
7/11/04 5:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
LOVE the review. I was cracking up the whole time ... yeah, easy for ME to say, I wasn't the one sewing it. I looked at the main pic before reading and was thinking, "Oh, I love it! Must buy it." But you fixed that right quick. Beautiful save, beautiful blouse. Very romantic and yes, still very JJill.
7/11/04 6:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
Too bad about this pattern because the picture is so cute. You were far more patient and resourceful than I ever could have been (it would have gone in the trash fast). Still, you ended up with a very attractive top, but I sure don't blame for not making it again.
7/11/04 6:10 PM
Schnauzer said...
Oopsy-Daisy, I really love reading your reviews. Congratulations on your perseverance. Your blouse is lovely.
7/11/04 7:06 PM
AnneM said...
Great photos - I knew most of the story before getting to read the review! You made a marvelous save. And it's a good reminder that all the pattern companies have bad patterns.
7/11/04 7:19 PM
Elona said...
Awww, oopsy, too bad about the misadventures! The blouse came out pretty anyway. You think you saw a lot of darts with this one??? They used to come with not only an elbow dart for the bend in the elbow, but also tiny darts in the middle of the shoulder or the back of the neck, for the roundness of most feminine backs, very like this pattern: http://store.sewingtoday.com/cgi-bin/voguepatterns/shop.cgi?s.item.200007945=x&TI=20001&pageNum=4&M=&UK=33061324 Actually, these darts provide excellent fitting opportunities--if they're in the right place. The way you find out where the elbow dart goes on you is to measure from the bump at the base of your neck down to your wrist (same technique used to size men's shirts), noting where your elbow is with your arm relaxed (very slightly bent). Then you measure the pattern from center back neck to shoulder seam, and shoulder seam down to wrist. The comparison should tell you where your personal elbow dart ought to have gone. Burda patterns are designed for a woman 5' 6" tall, and if you're shorter than that, you could count on moving that dart, because your arms would be shorter.
7/11/04 9:24 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the humor in your review. Your finished sleeveless version is wonderful. JJill right on the money. I made a Burda 3/4 sleeve blouse this spring. It had an elbow dart, too. I found the sleeves tight, thank goodness my fabric had some stretch to it.
7/11/04 10:48 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
You deserve a graduate degree for all the work you put into this: I would have had this in the wodder pile for sure. Result looks terrific, however. I have a question about your Shutterfly account and posting pictures to Pattern Review. I never seem to be able to do it, and when I asked Shutterfly about it, they said they don't allow pictures to be posted to public sites! Can you let me know how you accomplish this? I know this isn't a sewing question, but since I know I will never come near making the blouse, figured I'd ask something else. Thanks.
7/12/04 8:58 AM
SouthernStitch said...
This review made me laugh this morning and I needed that! Great blouse - great save - bravo!
7/12/04 10:01 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Harriet, what I do is create an album or photo and click on the box that says "share online" -- ie emailing the photo or album link. After you do that, on the next page a link will appear and you can copy/paste it. Or you can send the email to yourself and cut/paste that link for your review. I hope this helps!
7/12/04 2:20 PM
SnowBlaze 101 said...
this reviewer always is AMAZING with her advice. She is quite the style maven!
7/12/04 5:01 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks. I'll try this on the next go-round, whichI hope will be this weekend.
7/13/04 10:11 AM
staging lady said...
Your post cheered me up! I too made this blouse or didn't this Spring. Just couldn't get it to fit even though I had made a muslin copy. Couldn't get the front to fit too short and as for sewing the rolled hem on the bias cut ruffle, forget it! It is far from the easy rating it says. Unless you have time to fiddle, give this one a miss.
9/20/07 5:00 PM
dragon10 said...
I was going to get this pattern. Thanks for the review/warning. Much appreciated.
1/9/10 11:11 PM
denisedh said...
OMG - I just bought this pattern at Joann - for the same reasons - JJillish looking - and now after reading your review and others - am not even taking it out of the package. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! and boooooo to Burda! Bet I cannot get my money back either!
7/31/10 11:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

You Sew Girl BO830 Mod Bag
photo
Review by MrsBeckins... on 12/29/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-104 Net top
photo
Review by KatC83 on 1/23/12
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us