SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2011-106 (Long-sleeved tee-shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 378 times 
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kaystar
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/11 3:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very nice looking T!
2/7/11 4:06 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Fabulous new T! :-)
2/7/11 4:51 PM
Elona said...
What a classic, perfectly fitting tee! Good work!
2/7/11 5:11 PM
Paris75008 said...
Hah, you beat me to it! I've almost finished version one of this top. Yours came out great and very nicely sewn too
2/7/11 7:10 PM
21wale said...
Looks like a great fit! Nice TNT.
2/7/11 9:17 PM
Nessa09 said...
Your tee looks nice!
2/7/11 9:46 PM
becca a said...
Fabulous tee!
2/7/11 9:54 PM
JDpenelope said...
Terrific, basic T. Your technique is similar to the one I use. Very nicely done and your description is easy to understand.
2/8/11 7:46 AM
Catbird said...
That's a great fit and a fantastic looking tee! Do you have a U.S. source for the Vilene tape?
2/8/11 7:55 AM
Karine said...
Very nice tee. It fits you beautifully.
2/8/11 8:04 AM
Nan Kay said...
Thanks for the nice comments! As for Vilene tape, I have only found it on line at WWW>sewessential.co.uk. It runs around .80 to .90 cents a meter. Shipping is about 7-8.00, so I order enough to last awhile! I have not found it anywhere else!
2/8/11 9:00 AM
manola6176 said...
great fit indeed
2/8/11 12:58 PM
Lizz said...
Wonderful T! Surely this will be another winner for Burda!
2/8/11 2:32 PM
LJane said...
Nice! I wish I had read your review before I made my version. What exactly is vilene tape, or what does it do? Does is keep the shoulder from stretching or is it supposed to stretch, too? I agree about the fit. I've already made two versions and am about to make a third.
3/12/11 10:08 AM
Nan Kay said...
Vilene tape is a version of stay tape. But it is less bulky than regular seam tape. It is a thin iron on interfacing that is actually bias, I think but then it has a row of chain stitch on the 1/4 inch line. That gives it the support to stay a seam line. It is like 3/8 wide. The only place that I have found to buy it is on line, ordered from WWW.sewessential.co.uk. But there is no reason it couldn't be created with a little effort!
3/13/11 9:09 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very sharp looking top! Thanks for your inspiration and your VH review!
4/9/11 11:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
New Look 6130

photo
by: lbrundage

Review