SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1218 (misses dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 932 times 
Reviewed by:3kids1036
photo

 
 
About 3kids1036starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/10/06
Reviews written: 260
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 217 people
patterns reviewed: 260
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/11 11:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dani213 said...
I made this pattern this weekend. The neckline was low but not scandalous for a cocktail dress; HOWEVER - as many have noted before - this dress has some major issues. I thought the construction techniques were interesting, but the raw edges were not really great as an effect. For all the effort in marking - for marking you must and a bunch - this dress is just so so. nothing terribly special on.
3/27/12 10:49 PM
dreamdesigner said...
I'm wanting to but this but can't figure out what they want one to use for the "wired ribbon" either!
6/26/11 3:31 PM
JETrinity said...
Love this dress. Thanks for the warning.
3/8/11 2:00 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Thank you for an informative review, and warning about the neckline. This is a stunning dress, and I look forward to your next version. I have been looking for the wired ribbon, without success. Could you perhaps let me know where you bought it?
2/22/11 9:31 PM
JoJo Sews said...
I also love this dress and had just finished up to the facing on the neckline when I read your review and decided I had better attempt a pin-fit (interesting given the shape of the pieces!). I also found neckline to be too low and my solution for this version (wearable trial for me) is to add an extra pleat on each side a nice distance from the existing outside pleats - I won't stitch in until I check properly if there will be any gaping at the armhole - it would be simple to extend the pleats into the armhole to solve that problem if it exists! Hopefully you could add pleats like I have so you get to wear your gorgeous dress - next option from my perspective is to add a modesty insert behind the pleats that runs tightly across my upper bust - either that or wear as a pinafore over a tight little t-shirt! Thanks heaps for the review and enjoy your awesome dress!
2/11/11 2:28 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful!
2/10/11 9:00 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I would love to see #2 in that gorgeous purple, too.
2/10/11 10:37 AM
Marcia R said...
Please explain where and how the wired ribbon was used? Thank you
2/10/11 10:27 AM
cindyann said...
I am sooo glad you reviewed this pattern. I just added it to my collection and I'm eager to make it. Thanks for all the tips.
2/10/11 9:48 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Thanks for the heads up on the low low neckline.
2/10/11 8:20 AM
lakaribane said...
Well, aside for the "pechonalidad", it's really beautiful. Should I understand from your comment re: down sizing, that it's looser than the envelop photo emplies? I hope so, I love it!
2/10/11 7:55 AM
Scheryka said...
I have to agree, I knew something was up, great job, and in my queue, too. I was timid about this pattern but love it so much so (as soon as it's on sale) I'm buying. Thank you.
2/10/11 6:54 AM
Leora said...
I knew something was up, you showing it on your dressform. I've been hoping to see this one (pattern) made up, can't wait for your version #2!
2/10/11 3:33 AM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job! This is definitely on my queue!
2/10/11 0:20 AM
no7262 said...
OW! You did such a great job! Love the color! Nora :)
2/9/11 11:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8626

photo
by: mnitts

Review