SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1218 (misses dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 919 times 
Reviewed by:3kids1036
photo

 
 
About 3kids1036starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/10/06
Reviews written: 253
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 207 people
patterns reviewed: 253
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/11 11:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
OW! You did such a great job! Love the color! Nora :)
2/9/11 11:38 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job! This is definitely on my queue!
2/10/11 0:20 AM
Leora said...
I knew something was up, you showing it on your dressform. I've been hoping to see this one (pattern) made up, can't wait for your version #2!
2/10/11 3:33 AM
Scheryka said...
I have to agree, I knew something was up, great job, and in my queue, too. I was timid about this pattern but love it so much so (as soon as it's on sale) I'm buying. Thank you.
2/10/11 6:54 AM
lakaribane said...
Well, aside for the "pechonalidad", it's really beautiful. Should I understand from your comment re: down sizing, that it's looser than the envelop photo emplies? I hope so, I love it!
2/10/11 7:55 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Thanks for the heads up on the low low neckline.
2/10/11 8:20 AM
cindyann said...
I am sooo glad you reviewed this pattern. I just added it to my collection and I'm eager to make it. Thanks for all the tips.
2/10/11 9:48 AM
Marcia R said...
Please explain where and how the wired ribbon was used? Thank you
2/10/11 10:27 AM
Jacqui315 said...
I would love to see #2 in that gorgeous purple, too.
2/10/11 10:37 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful!
2/10/11 9:00 PM
JoJo Sews said...
I also love this dress and had just finished up to the facing on the neckline when I read your review and decided I had better attempt a pin-fit (interesting given the shape of the pieces!). I also found neckline to be too low and my solution for this version (wearable trial for me) is to add an extra pleat on each side a nice distance from the existing outside pleats - I won't stitch in until I check properly if there will be any gaping at the armhole - it would be simple to extend the pleats into the armhole to solve that problem if it exists! Hopefully you could add pleats like I have so you get to wear your gorgeous dress - next option from my perspective is to add a modesty insert behind the pleats that runs tightly across my upper bust - either that or wear as a pinafore over a tight little t-shirt! Thanks heaps for the review and enjoy your awesome dress!
2/11/11 2:28 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Thank you for an informative review, and warning about the neckline. This is a stunning dress, and I look forward to your next version. I have been looking for the wired ribbon, without success. Could you perhaps let me know where you bought it?
2/22/11 9:31 PM
JETrinity said...
Love this dress. Thanks for the warning.
3/8/11 2:00 PM
dreamdesigner said...
I'm wanting to but this but can't figure out what they want one to use for the "wired ribbon" either!
6/26/11 3:31 PM
dani213 said...
I made this pattern this weekend. The neckline was low but not scandalous for a cocktail dress; HOWEVER - as many have noted before - this dress has some major issues. I thought the construction techniques were interesting, but the raw edges were not really great as an effect. For all the effort in marking - for marking you must and a bunch - this dress is just so so. nothing terribly special on.
3/27/12 10:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 5679

photo
by: stitchywit...

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now