Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2610 (vintage vogue (1947))

1 more reviews
Viewed 2047 times 
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo

 
 
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews: 73 (patterns: 73)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/04 10:30 AM
Last Updated:7/12/04 10:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceejayem said... (1/27/14 6:19 AM) Reply
Huge thanks for this review, I have been eyeing it off and contemplating chasing it down even though it's OOP, but it sounds far too problematic for my skill level. Yes I once resolved never to buy another pattern without a photo, but sometimes my resolve weakens. And the vintage drawings are particularly deceptive!
jaqi said... (2/25/10 1:54 PM) Reply
Everything this reviewer said is absolutely correct. I Just finished a muslin of the bodice top with the exact same result. It's heartbreaking, because I loved the design so much. My shoulder forward posture didn't help matters. I don't think I have the heart to try and alter this one. Too much work - not enough skill.
YvetteO said... (12/26/06 6:31 PM) Reply
Thankyou so much for this comment. I was going to make this to wear at my daughter's wedding, with some lovely silk. But having a large low bust, it would have been a disaster! Thankyou for the warning, I will try something else. Wow - pattern review.com saves the day again.
fuzzygalore said... (7/7/06 4:05 AM) Reply
Oh bummer... I thought it'd make a really great top. Better try something else, thanks for taking the lumps for us.
AnneM said... (7/13/04 6:15 AM) Reply
Humph! What a neat looking pattern; so sad that it didn't work out. I wonder if it would work for us small-busted folk, although I doubt it since you mention that the bust marking on the pattern is below the gathers (now that really does not make sense! ). Thanks for the review & information.
Jennie Pakula said... (7/12/04 5:24 PM) Reply
Thanks for an honest, helpful review. Very glad you made a muslin first!
minieme said... (7/12/04 5:03 PM) Reply
I've always wondered how this will turn out in real life, thanks for the review.
Annette H said... (7/12/04 4:45 PM) Reply
It looks so pretty in the picture - glad you shared your experience, you will prevent others from similar disasters.
LoriB said... (7/12/04 2:43 PM) Reply
That's too bad this was a dud! It's frustrating when the pattern makers only show stick-figured drawings and not a photograph of a real model (even if she's a stick) wearing the garment. This is especially important for these vintage patterns because the drawings also show 40's-era women held in place by the bras and girdles! Thank you for taking the time to post the review of this. It's yet another reason why making a muslin first is important!
kbrock said... (7/12/04 1:03 PM) Reply
Thank you for your review on this pattern. I made my wedding dress from another Vintage Vogue pattern and it was beautiful - I've been considering tackling this one for a new fancy dress for winter, but will pass on this one...too many other choices. Thank you again for taking your time on this one.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

McCall's 5963

photo
by: VivianZ

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Pattern Details
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details