SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2610 (vintage vogue (1947))

1 more reviews
Viewed 2046 times 
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo

 
 
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/04 10:30 AM
Last Updated:7/12/04 10:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kbrock said...
Thank you for your review on this pattern. I made my wedding dress from another Vintage Vogue pattern and it was beautiful - I've been considering tackling this one for a new fancy dress for winter, but will pass on this one...too many other choices. Thank you again for taking your time on this one.
7/12/04 1:03 PM
LoriB said...
That's too bad this was a dud! It's frustrating when the pattern makers only show stick-figured drawings and not a photograph of a real model (even if she's a stick) wearing the garment. This is especially important for these vintage patterns because the drawings also show 40's-era women held in place by the bras and girdles! Thank you for taking the time to post the review of this. It's yet another reason why making a muslin first is important!
7/12/04 2:43 PM
Annette H said...
It looks so pretty in the picture - glad you shared your experience, you will prevent others from similar disasters.
7/12/04 4:45 PM
minieme said...
I've always wondered how this will turn out in real life, thanks for the review.
7/12/04 5:03 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for an honest, helpful review. Very glad you made a muslin first!
7/12/04 5:24 PM
AnneM said...
Humph! What a neat looking pattern; so sad that it didn't work out. I wonder if it would work for us small-busted folk, although I doubt it since you mention that the bust marking on the pattern is below the gathers (now that really does not make sense! ). Thanks for the review & information.
7/13/04 6:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh bummer... I thought it'd make a really great top. Better try something else, thanks for taking the lumps for us.
7/7/06 4:05 AM
YvetteO said...
Thankyou so much for this comment. I was going to make this to wear at my daughter's wedding, with some lovely silk. But having a large low bust, it would have been a disaster! Thankyou for the warning, I will try something else. Wow - pattern review.com saves the day again.
12/26/06 6:31 PM
jaqi said...
Everything this reviewer said is absolutely correct. I Just finished a muslin of the bodice top with the exact same result. It's heartbreaking, because I loved the design so much. My shoulder forward posture didn't help matters. I don't think I have the heart to try and alter this one. Too much work - not enough skill.
2/25/10 1:54 PM
ceejayem said...
Huge thanks for this review, I have been eyeing it off and contemplating chasing it down even though it's OOP, but it sounds far too problematic for my skill level. Yes I once resolved never to buy another pattern without a photo, but sometimes my resolve weakens. And the vintage drawings are particularly deceptive!
1/27/14 6:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
StyleArc Abby

photo
by: BeaJay

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now