Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2610 (vintage vogue (1947)) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2043 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/04 10:30 AM
Last Updated:7/12/04 10:43 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kbrock said...
Thank you for your review on this pattern. I made my wedding dress from another Vintage Vogue pattern and it was beautiful - I've been considering tackling this one for a new fancy dress for winter, but will pass on this one...too many other choices. Thank you again for taking your time on this one.
7/12/04 1:03 PM
LoriB said...
That's too bad this was a dud! It's frustrating when the pattern makers only show stick-figured drawings and not a photograph of a real model (even if she's a stick) wearing the garment. This is especially important for these vintage patterns because the drawings also show 40's-era women held in place by the bras and girdles! Thank you for taking the time to post the review of this. It's yet another reason why making a muslin first is important!
7/12/04 2:43 PM
Annette H said...
It looks so pretty in the picture - glad you shared your experience, you will prevent others from similar disasters.
7/12/04 4:45 PM
minieme said...
I've always wondered how this will turn out in real life, thanks for the review.
7/12/04 5:03 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for an honest, helpful review. Very glad you made a muslin first!
7/12/04 5:24 PM
AnneM said...
Humph! What a neat looking pattern; so sad that it didn't work out. I wonder if it would work for us small-busted folk, although I doubt it since you mention that the bust marking on the pattern is below the gathers (now that really does not make sense! ). Thanks for the review & information.
7/13/04 6:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh bummer... I thought it'd make a really great top. Better try something else, thanks for taking the lumps for us.
7/7/06 4:05 AM
YvetteO said...
Thankyou so much for this comment. I was going to make this to wear at my daughter's wedding, with some lovely silk. But having a large low bust, it would have been a disaster! Thankyou for the warning, I will try something else. Wow - pattern review.com saves the day again.
12/26/06 6:31 PM
jaqi said...
Everything this reviewer said is absolutely correct. I Just finished a muslin of the bodice top with the exact same result. It's heartbreaking, because I loved the design so much. My shoulder forward posture didn't help matters. I don't think I have the heart to try and alter this one. Too much work - not enough skill.
2/25/10 1:54 PM
ceejayem said...
Huge thanks for this review, I have been eyeing it off and contemplating chasing it down even though it's OOP, but it sounds far too problematic for my skill level. Yes I once resolved never to buy another pattern without a photo, but sometimes my resolve weakens. And the vintage drawings are particularly deceptive!
1/27/14 6:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4428
photo
Review by PhyllisC on 10/16/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3089
photo
Review by Raye Ann on 4/5/11
Read Review

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1529 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1529 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us