SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5281 (Retro 1946)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1039 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 157
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/11 9:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
birdmcfarland said...
Wow! That's stunning! The fit is perfect and so is everything else.
2/10/11 10:16 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely. beautiful job on the dress and review.
2/10/11 11:04 PM
SusiM said...
Superb! Just like the others you create. thanks for sharing your experiences with these vintage patterns.
2/10/11 11:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtakingly stunning dress!
2/10/11 11:50 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress.
2/11/11 1:44 AM
Mel.J said...
Wonderful dress. The slightly less drapey fabric doesn't detract from it at all. You look great in it.
2/11/11 6:34 AM
lamstu said...
Such a pretty dress in a lovely color. Looks great on you! Somehow I purchased this pattern and now I am inspired to try it out. Thanks for a useful review.
2/11/11 7:04 AM
cindyann said...
It's really beautiful. I love the way you've styled it, too.
2/11/11 8:50 AM
MNBarb said...
I like the less drapey fabric, it's just a different look, not as flouncy. It's a really nice dress on you.
2/11/11 1:05 PM
drsue said...
It's just fabulous and looks terrific on you.
2/11/11 2:36 PM
Kelroc said...
I like. Great job!
2/11/11 4:57 PM
Ecrulace said...
It's gorgeous - congratulations!
2/11/11 5:28 PM
waltzqueen said...
oooooouuu-this is a fab dress! Elegant and sophisticated, and your hair and shoes are just perfect!
2/11/11 5:47 PM
21wale said...
Very lovely drses!
2/11/11 6:27 PM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous! The color and fit are perfect on you.
2/11/11 6:53 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!
2/11/11 7:07 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Impeccable! Love the color, the style, the fit! Nice work!
2/12/11 9:14 AM
cleverkitty said...
Stunning you have the perfect look for this style
2/12/11 1:28 PM
JillyBe said...
This is a stunning look on you! The design details are fabulous, and you worked them perfectly. What a great job!
2/12/11 2:58 PM
Amberlove said...
The color is fantastic--you look AMAZING!
2/12/11 5:17 PM
barebear said...
So pretty. I love that you took the time to hide the snaps. It looks very lovely on you.
2/12/11 7:02 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Oh, it's just stunning! Love it!
2/13/11 1:34 PM
Scheri said...
Wow I have this pattern and have never really thought about it being an it dress. WOW you sure changed my mind. You did a lovely job on your dress. The color and fit on you is exquisite :)
3/8/11 12:18 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I just purchased this pattern and love your version! I can't wait to make it myself!
11/26/11 7:37 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I just purchased this pattern and love your version! I can't wait to make it myself!
11/26/11 7:37 PM
Cristinagf said...
You look amazing! What a great look for you.
12/19/11 2:19 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!! I made this for a client a couple of years back, but seeing yours and how great it fits, makes me want one for myself~ I LOVE IT!!!
9/28/12 2:39 PM
regal80 said...
LOVE it!
11/12/12 6:01 PM
Gendun said...
PERFECT. Love it with the shoes & stockings, too. I did note on your pictures that I'm lost as to why the darts on the new pattern (R shoulder) don't cross the bodice the way they do in the original drawings. Must be some kind of volume issue, and I'd love to know how to put them in that way! Anyone have any insight, please?
1/17/13 2:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5247

photo
by: Erin D

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2952

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review