Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5281 (Retro 1946) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1029 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 157
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/11 9:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
birdmcfarland said...
Wow! That's stunning! The fit is perfect and so is everything else.
2/10/11 10:16 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely. beautiful job on the dress and review.
2/10/11 11:04 PM
SusiM said...
Superb! Just like the others you create. thanks for sharing your experiences with these vintage patterns.
2/10/11 11:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtakingly stunning dress!
2/10/11 11:50 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress.
2/11/11 1:44 AM
Mel.J said...
Wonderful dress. The slightly less drapey fabric doesn't detract from it at all. You look great in it.
2/11/11 6:34 AM
lamstu said...
Such a pretty dress in a lovely color. Looks great on you! Somehow I purchased this pattern and now I am inspired to try it out. Thanks for a useful review.
2/11/11 7:04 AM
cindyann said...
It's really beautiful. I love the way you've styled it, too.
2/11/11 8:50 AM
MNBarb said...
I like the less drapey fabric, it's just a different look, not as flouncy. It's a really nice dress on you.
2/11/11 1:05 PM
drsue said...
It's just fabulous and looks terrific on you.
2/11/11 2:36 PM
Kelroc said...
I like. Great job!
2/11/11 4:57 PM
Ecrulace said...
It's gorgeous - congratulations!
2/11/11 5:28 PM
waltzqueen said...
oooooouuu-this is a fab dress! Elegant and sophisticated, and your hair and shoes are just perfect!
2/11/11 5:47 PM
21wale said...
Very lovely drses!
2/11/11 6:27 PM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous! The color and fit are perfect on you.
2/11/11 6:53 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!
2/11/11 7:07 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Impeccable! Love the color, the style, the fit! Nice work!
2/12/11 9:14 AM
cleverkitty said...
Stunning you have the perfect look for this style
2/12/11 1:28 PM
JillyBe said...
This is a stunning look on you! The design details are fabulous, and you worked them perfectly. What a great job!
2/12/11 2:58 PM
Amberlove said...
The color is fantastic--you look AMAZING!
2/12/11 5:17 PM
barebear said...
So pretty. I love that you took the time to hide the snaps. It looks very lovely on you.
2/12/11 7:02 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Oh, it's just stunning! Love it!
2/13/11 1:34 PM
Scheri said...
Wow I have this pattern and have never really thought about it being an it dress. WOW you sure changed my mind. You did a lovely job on your dress. The color and fit on you is exquisite :)
3/8/11 12:18 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I just purchased this pattern and love your version! I can't wait to make it myself!
11/26/11 7:37 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I just purchased this pattern and love your version! I can't wait to make it myself!
11/26/11 7:37 PM
Cristinagf said...
You look amazing! What a great look for you.
12/19/11 2:19 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!! I made this for a client a couple of years back, but seeing yours and how great it fits, makes me want one for myself~ I LOVE IT!!!
9/28/12 2:39 PM
regal80 said...
LOVE it!
11/12/12 6:01 PM
Gendun said...
PERFECT. Love it with the shoes & stockings, too. I did note on your pictures that I'm lost as to why the darts on the new pattern (R shoulder) don't cross the bodice the way they do in the original drawings. Must be some kind of volume issue, and I'd love to know how to put them in that way! Anyone have any insight, please?
1/17/13 2:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2009-12
photo
Review by 21wale on 12/1/11
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 123171-1000 Self Drafted
photo
Review by maedchen on 6/7/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3053 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3053 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us