SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5281 (Retro 1946)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1046 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 168
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 164
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/11 9:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RiverDaughter said...
Gendun, it's probably because the bodice is a little tight. You can see this in the pictures from the back. I'm glad to know this as I'll probably have to add some room when I make it.
10/29/14 6:36 PM
Gendun said...
PERFECT. Love it with the shoes & stockings, too. I did note on your pictures that I'm lost as to why the darts on the new pattern (R shoulder) don't cross the bodice the way they do in the original drawings. Must be some kind of volume issue, and I'd love to know how to put them in that way! Anyone have any insight, please?
1/17/13 2:19 PM
regal80 said...
LOVE it!
11/12/12 6:01 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!! I made this for a client a couple of years back, but seeing yours and how great it fits, makes me want one for myself~ I LOVE IT!!!
9/28/12 2:39 PM
Cristinagf said...
You look amazing! What a great look for you.
12/19/11 2:19 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I just purchased this pattern and love your version! I can't wait to make it myself!
11/26/11 7:37 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I just purchased this pattern and love your version! I can't wait to make it myself!
11/26/11 7:37 PM
Scheri said...
Wow I have this pattern and have never really thought about it being an it dress. WOW you sure changed my mind. You did a lovely job on your dress. The color and fit on you is exquisite :)
3/8/11 12:18 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Oh, it's just stunning! Love it!
2/13/11 1:34 PM
barebear said...
So pretty. I love that you took the time to hide the snaps. It looks very lovely on you.
2/12/11 7:02 PM
Amberlove said...
The color is fantastic--you look AMAZING!
2/12/11 5:17 PM
JillyBe said...
This is a stunning look on you! The design details are fabulous, and you worked them perfectly. What a great job!
2/12/11 2:58 PM
cleverkitty said...
Stunning you have the perfect look for this style
2/12/11 1:28 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Impeccable! Love the color, the style, the fit! Nice work!
2/12/11 9:14 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!
2/11/11 7:07 PM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous! The color and fit are perfect on you.
2/11/11 6:53 PM
21wale said...
Very lovely drses!
2/11/11 6:27 PM
waltzqueen said...
oooooouuu-this is a fab dress! Elegant and sophisticated, and your hair and shoes are just perfect!
2/11/11 5:47 PM
Ecrulace said...
It's gorgeous - congratulations!
2/11/11 5:28 PM
Kelroc said...
I like. Great job!
2/11/11 4:57 PM
drsue said...
It's just fabulous and looks terrific on you.
2/11/11 2:36 PM
MNBarb said...
I like the less drapey fabric, it's just a different look, not as flouncy. It's a really nice dress on you.
2/11/11 1:05 PM
cindyann said...
It's really beautiful. I love the way you've styled it, too.
2/11/11 8:50 AM
lamstu said...
Such a pretty dress in a lovely color. Looks great on you! Somehow I purchased this pattern and now I am inspired to try it out. Thanks for a useful review.
2/11/11 7:04 AM
Mel.J said...
Wonderful dress. The slightly less drapey fabric doesn't detract from it at all. You look great in it.
2/11/11 6:34 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress.
2/11/11 1:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtakingly stunning dress!
2/10/11 11:50 PM
SusiM said...
Superb! Just like the others you create. thanks for sharing your experiences with these vintage patterns.
2/10/11 11:10 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely. beautiful job on the dress and review.
2/10/11 11:04 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Wow! That's stunning! The fit is perfect and so is everything else.
2/10/11 10:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

More Info
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

More Info