Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1089 (Classix Nouveau 3 Graces T-Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 456 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR
About JDpenelopestarstar
KS USA
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/11 1:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
my horse said...
Disappointing outcome to a neat looking pattern. Thank you for your detailed review!
2/11/11 2:07 PM
Mary Collins said...
Man, I hate it when that happens. I'm sorry things didn't work out.
2/11/11 5:15 PM
Christas said...
Thanks for your very informative review. For all of your trouble, your top now looks terrific!
2/11/11 5:46 PM
PegL said...
Very good review! The top looks nice on you in spite of all the issues. I've not had good luck with HP patterns. I get sucked in to buying them from the cute drawings on the envelopes but my results with most have been disappointing. In other words, your issues are probably not your fault. ;) P.S. - I miss Cy Rudniks!!!
2/11/11 8:45 PM
JillyBe said...
I think your top looks better on you than you think it does! I'm wondering how it might look with a belt (or sash?) made up in the same fabric, or a fun belt in a coordinating color? Great review, thanks! :)
2/11/11 10:20 PM
barebear said...
Hmm. I like the cowl neck on this, but the sides and shoulders looks too big on you, and I agree, the armholes look too low. Despite already picking a smaller size, maybe it'd be good to go down another size or two in the upper body, and grading sizes around the hips if needed (it looks like the hips fit decently). Maybe it's supposed to look flowy with lots of loose fabric, but it just looks big to me, and may be better as a more fitted shirt. But you know, overall, it still looks good on you despite the problems (and the cowl neckline really seems to suit you nicely). I agree with JillyBe about adding a self-fabric belt or something more coordinating. Alright, enough babble from me. Thanks for the great review. :)
2/12/11 1:01 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks to the helpful feedback here and on the message board, I see now that there are some basic fitting adjustments that I probably always need to make to any T shirt pattern, but especially for this Hotpatterns cowl neckline top. A petite adjustment plus slimming down the sleeve pattern would do wonders. Shortening the hem would, too. I haven't even mentioned that I probably also need a forward shoulder adjustment. Thanks, PegL for cutting me some slack! Apparently, you aren't the only one who has had problems with Hotpattern sizing. Jillybe You are right about the belt -- It's the only one I have that fits, but a different color would be better. Barebear Thanks for your thoughtful but frank comments. I appreciate honest feedback -- the top is just too big. And you said it so nicely, too. Much appreciated.
2/12/11 3:33 AM
Patti B said...
I like the fabric with your hair -- pretty combination. But life is too short to do any more fiddling with this pattern; it would be on the way to donation at my house. ;-)
2/12/11 9:59 AM
Scheri said...
Sorry your disappointed. But thank you so much for your candid review of the pattern.
2/12/11 1:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Joanne, I'm sorry the pattern didn't work for you, but the fabric looks gorgeous on you.
2/20/11 4:23 PM
GoSewGirl said...
So sorry to hear things didn't work out. I have this pattern and pretty much exactly your same relevant measurements without the narrow shoulders but I'm long-waisted and 5'4" so the length may not be an issue for me. I really wanted to try this pattern, especially the other views - but I can't say I haven't been warned. Hmmm. Oh, and I do love the fabric too!
3/4/11 5:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6170
photo
Review by rmusic1 on 8/10/13
Read Review

Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6207
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us