Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1089 (Classix Nouveau 3 Graces T-Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 456 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR
About JDpenelopestarstar
KS USA
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/11 1:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
my horse said...
Disappointing outcome to a neat looking pattern. Thank you for your detailed review!
2/11/11 2:07 PM
Mary Collins said...
Man, I hate it when that happens. I'm sorry things didn't work out.
2/11/11 5:15 PM
Christas said...
Thanks for your very informative review. For all of your trouble, your top now looks terrific!
2/11/11 5:46 PM
PegL said...
Very good review! The top looks nice on you in spite of all the issues. I've not had good luck with HP patterns. I get sucked in to buying them from the cute drawings on the envelopes but my results with most have been disappointing. In other words, your issues are probably not your fault. ;) P.S. - I miss Cy Rudniks!!!
2/11/11 8:45 PM
JillyBe said...
I think your top looks better on you than you think it does! I'm wondering how it might look with a belt (or sash?) made up in the same fabric, or a fun belt in a coordinating color? Great review, thanks! :)
2/11/11 10:20 PM
barebear said...
Hmm. I like the cowl neck on this, but the sides and shoulders looks too big on you, and I agree, the armholes look too low. Despite already picking a smaller size, maybe it'd be good to go down another size or two in the upper body, and grading sizes around the hips if needed (it looks like the hips fit decently). Maybe it's supposed to look flowy with lots of loose fabric, but it just looks big to me, and may be better as a more fitted shirt. But you know, overall, it still looks good on you despite the problems (and the cowl neckline really seems to suit you nicely). I agree with JillyBe about adding a self-fabric belt or something more coordinating. Alright, enough babble from me. Thanks for the great review. :)
2/12/11 1:01 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks to the helpful feedback here and on the message board, I see now that there are some basic fitting adjustments that I probably always need to make to any T shirt pattern, but especially for this Hotpatterns cowl neckline top. A petite adjustment plus slimming down the sleeve pattern would do wonders. Shortening the hem would, too. I haven't even mentioned that I probably also need a forward shoulder adjustment. Thanks, PegL for cutting me some slack! Apparently, you aren't the only one who has had problems with Hotpattern sizing. Jillybe You are right about the belt -- It's the only one I have that fits, but a different color would be better. Barebear Thanks for your thoughtful but frank comments. I appreciate honest feedback -- the top is just too big. And you said it so nicely, too. Much appreciated.
2/12/11 3:33 AM
Patti B said...
I like the fabric with your hair -- pretty combination. But life is too short to do any more fiddling with this pattern; it would be on the way to donation at my house. ;-)
2/12/11 9:59 AM
Scheri said...
Sorry your disappointed. But thank you so much for your candid review of the pattern.
2/12/11 1:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Joanne, I'm sorry the pattern didn't work for you, but the fabric looks gorgeous on you.
2/20/11 4:23 PM
GoSewGirl said...
So sorry to hear things didn't work out. I have this pattern and pretty much exactly your same relevant measurements without the narrow shoulders but I'm long-waisted and 5'4" so the length may not be an issue for me. I really wanted to try this pattern, especially the other views - but I can't say I haven't been warned. Hmmm. Oh, and I do love the fabric too!
3/4/11 5:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1051
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/29/08
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8087
photo
Review by Maree P on 10/18/09
Read Review

McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us