SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1217 (misses dress and slip)

6 more reviews
Viewed 713 times 
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/11 0:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
devviePuu said...
i'm making it as a dress but it's great to see a favorable review--i was afraid the pattern was too new! thanks for the notes about the binding and the tucks--i will keep those in mind when i embark on my own.
2/24/11 5:19 PM
AuntyZelda said...
This look fabulous! I think I will give it a try. I too, don't think I'd ever wear it as a dress as is. That is way too short for my taste, but saw it's potential as a long top and I love your modification into making it a hip length top.
2/23/11 2:57 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Your top looks great - thanks for waning us about the length as a dress too! Like carolynw I overlooked this pattern but now I want it!
2/15/11 5:26 AM
JETrinity said...
I agree with you on making this a top and not a dress. SEW great a fabric and SEW great a sewing job.
2/14/11 11:41 AM
dingyadi said...
Thanks for the nice comments everyone! Hi Freya Stark, the fabric is from a shop in Perth called Potter Textiles Outlet. Unfortunately they don't seem to have a website, but if you are ever in Perth it is worth a visit.
2/14/11 7:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
A chic and distinctive top. I prefer it without the box, but of course it's a nice touch for a smarter occasion when you want something dressier. Where did you get the fabric?
2/13/11 6:14 PM
Christas said...
How feminine and pretty ...... very classy!
2/13/11 5:24 PM
Ericaeli said...
This looks really nice as a top. I think I like it better as a top actually!
2/13/11 1:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a chic and charming top! Very nicely done!
2/13/11 11:35 AM
carolynw said...
This is one of those patterns I looked at and passed over - I am now anxiously waiting for the next Vogue pattern sale - I love your top and find your review a great help as I have a lot of drapey fabric I can try this on.
2/13/11 10:05 AM
sharkycharming said...
I agree that this is a beautiful top.
2/13/11 9:47 AM
joanico said...
Thank you so much for this review. When I first saw this pattern, I did not even look twice, because the dress would never be apropriate for my body type and age. But the top is really wonderful! So classy and different!
2/13/11 8:15 AM
Ecrulace said...
Well done - very attractive
2/13/11 7:26 AM
mm said...
What a great top. I think it looks much better as a top and you have sewn it very well.
2/13/11 7:10 AM
talesofawannabe said...
This is really cute!
2/13/11 0:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: lydianmode

Review
McCall's 6369

photo
by: tree girl

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

More Info
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

More Info