SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1225 (misses dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 723 times 
Reviewed by:stitchywitch
photo

 
 
About stitchywitchstarstarstar
KY USA
Member since: 10/15/09
Reviews: 93 (patterns: 93)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/11 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gnrlyspking said... (6/24/12 4:15 PM) Reply
I agree, this was not an easy pattern. I think the skirt was too full for the bodice and the weight of it took away all of beautiful drapes. Also with all of the gathering on the bodice front and the skirt front bulkiness added by that made adding a casing for the elastic not very practical. And, you were right, I made the petticoat and when I tried it on it was lumpy under the knit so I had to remove it which was very time consuming with knit lol! I usually trust designer patterns and make it exactly as they say but I wish I had heeded the blogs and left it off. Overall I did not have a good experience making this dress but it is really cute once finished and I'll wear it one day and probably forget how much trouble I had making it 8-)
michellep74 said... (2/24/11 6:50 PM) Reply
Really cute dress! I love your fabric.
Tonimarie said... (2/17/11 10:30 AM) Reply
Great dress! I just bought this pattern and plan to start it this weekend and think your review will be very helpful. I checked out your blog and saw the other Tracy Reese dress you made & I love it too! I think that will be next!
SewWil said... (2/16/11 3:42 PM) Reply
Very cute dress! Great choice of fabric.
luv2sewbear said... (2/15/11 1:23 PM) Reply
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern! I have it and have been itching to make it but really wanted to see somebody else work through it first. I too wondered about the petticoat and thought the pockets would be difficult. Your dress is gorgeous! Great work.
lamstu said... (2/14/11 6:22 PM) Reply
This looks great on you and the shoes are perfect. Thanks for this helpful review.
becca a said... (2/14/11 9:38 AM) Reply
Lovely dress! It is so flattering on you.
ClaireEmily said... (2/14/11 5:48 AM) Reply
Very nice dress! I like your version better than the Vogue one ;)
sugarduck said... (2/14/11 3:31 AM) Reply
Cute, comfortable-looking dress (even though after reading about all the steps on your blog, I'm not sure I'd have the patience to sew it myself). Thanks for this review! ;-)
Jali said... (2/13/11 10:58 PM) Reply
Perfect fabric/pattern match. Beautiful dress on you!
Pattern Junkie said... (2/13/11 6:48 PM) Reply
Just lovely! (And I do love your brass pig...)
ButtonFaith said... (2/13/11 6:38 PM) Reply
I like this dress! Although it's not something I would wear, I had been wondering how it made up; interesting about the crinoline which I hadn't noticed! Thanks for the extra photos on your blog - they help!
cleverkitty said... (2/13/11 6:21 PM) Reply
You have me wanting to make this dress by the way you look in it but not by the directions. I think the color is so BEAUTIFUL. Very Nice review
Christas said... (2/13/11 5:17 PM) Reply
Very nice review. Your dress looks so pretty on you!
Beek said... (2/13/11 5:15 PM) Reply
Darling Dress! I love your choice of fabric.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Pattern Details