SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1225 (misses dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 707 times 
Reviewed by:stitchywitch
photo

 
 
About stitchywitchstarstarstar
KY USA
Member since: 10/15/09
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/11 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
Darling Dress! I love your choice of fabric.
2/13/11 5:15 PM
Christas said...
Very nice review. Your dress looks so pretty on you!
2/13/11 5:17 PM
cleverkitty said...
You have me wanting to make this dress by the way you look in it but not by the directions. I think the color is so BEAUTIFUL. Very Nice review
2/13/11 6:21 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I like this dress! Although it's not something I would wear, I had been wondering how it made up; interesting about the crinoline which I hadn't noticed! Thanks for the extra photos on your blog - they help!
2/13/11 6:38 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Just lovely! (And I do love your brass pig...)
2/13/11 6:48 PM
Jali said...
Perfect fabric/pattern match. Beautiful dress on you!
2/13/11 10:58 PM
sugarduck said...
Cute, comfortable-looking dress (even though after reading about all the steps on your blog, I'm not sure I'd have the patience to sew it myself). Thanks for this review! ;-)
2/14/11 3:31 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Very nice dress! I like your version better than the Vogue one ;)
2/14/11 5:48 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It is so flattering on you.
2/14/11 9:38 AM
lamstu said...
This looks great on you and the shoes are perfect. Thanks for this helpful review.
2/14/11 6:22 PM
luv2sewbear said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern! I have it and have been itching to make it but really wanted to see somebody else work through it first. I too wondered about the petticoat and thought the pockets would be difficult. Your dress is gorgeous! Great work.
2/15/11 1:23 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute dress! Great choice of fabric.
2/16/11 3:42 PM
Tonimarie said...
Great dress! I just bought this pattern and plan to start it this weekend and think your review will be very helpful. I checked out your blog and saw the other Tracy Reese dress you made & I love it too! I think that will be next!
2/17/11 10:30 AM
michellep74 said...
Really cute dress! I love your fabric.
2/24/11 6:50 PM
gnrlyspking said...
I agree, this was not an easy pattern. I think the skirt was too full for the bodice and the weight of it took away all of beautiful drapes. Also with all of the gathering on the bodice front and the skirt front bulkiness added by that made adding a casing for the elastic not very practical. And, you were right, I made the petticoat and when I tried it on it was lumpy under the knit so I had to remove it which was very time consuming with knit lol! I usually trust designer patterns and make it exactly as they say but I wish I had heeded the blogs and left it off. Overall I did not have a good experience making this dress but it is really cute once finished and I'll wear it one day and probably forget how much trouble I had making it 8-)
6/24/12 4:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6782 OOP

photo
by: cleverclog...

Review
Butterick 5811

photo
by: DD1104

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now