Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1225 (misses dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 696 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:stitchywitch
photo
About stitchywitchstarstarstar
KY USA
Member since: 10/15/09
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/11 5:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
Darling Dress! I love your choice of fabric.
2/13/11 5:15 PM
Christas said...
Very nice review. Your dress looks so pretty on you!
2/13/11 5:17 PM
cleverkitty said...
You have me wanting to make this dress by the way you look in it but not by the directions. I think the color is so BEAUTIFUL. Very Nice review
2/13/11 6:21 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I like this dress! Although it's not something I would wear, I had been wondering how it made up; interesting about the crinoline which I hadn't noticed! Thanks for the extra photos on your blog - they help!
2/13/11 6:38 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Just lovely! (And I do love your brass pig...)
2/13/11 6:48 PM
Jali said...
Perfect fabric/pattern match. Beautiful dress on you!
2/13/11 10:58 PM
sugarduck said...
Cute, comfortable-looking dress (even though after reading about all the steps on your blog, I'm not sure I'd have the patience to sew it myself). Thanks for this review! ;-)
2/14/11 3:31 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Very nice dress! I like your version better than the Vogue one ;)
2/14/11 5:48 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It is so flattering on you.
2/14/11 9:38 AM
lamstu said...
This looks great on you and the shoes are perfect. Thanks for this helpful review.
2/14/11 6:22 PM
luv2sewbear said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern! I have it and have been itching to make it but really wanted to see somebody else work through it first. I too wondered about the petticoat and thought the pockets would be difficult. Your dress is gorgeous! Great work.
2/15/11 1:23 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute dress! Great choice of fabric.
2/16/11 3:42 PM
Tonimarie said...
Great dress! I just bought this pattern and plan to start it this weekend and think your review will be very helpful. I checked out your blog and saw the other Tracy Reese dress you made & I love it too! I think that will be next!
2/17/11 10:30 AM
michellep74 said...
Really cute dress! I love your fabric.
2/24/11 6:50 PM
gnrlyspking said...
I agree, this was not an easy pattern. I think the skirt was too full for the bodice and the weight of it took away all of beautiful drapes. Also with all of the gathering on the bodice front and the skirt front bulkiness added by that made adding a casing for the elastic not very practical. And, you were right, I made the petticoat and when I tried it on it was lumpy under the knit so I had to remove it which was very time consuming with knit lol! I usually trust designer patterns and make it exactly as they say but I wish I had heeded the blogs and left it off. Overall I did not have a good experience making this dress but it is really cute once finished and I'll wear it one day and probably forget how much trouble I had making it 8-)
6/24/12 4:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6331
photo
Review by Bapower57 on 9/6/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2734
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 10/26/10
Read Review

Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us