Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3852 (Full Skirts) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 785 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/11 8:17 PM
Last Updated:3/2/11 8:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
You would be so fabulous on the cover of ELLE or BAZAAR! Very nice job on your skirt!
2/14/11 8:32 PM
Catbird said...
Wow - this has all the elements you could want in a skirt - the slim fit at the top opening into a beautiful feminine flair at the hem. It's so great when you can make yourself something that satisfies that yearning for something you saw in a pricey catalog! You look fantastic in this and now that you've got the pattern figured out you can whip up several of them in no time! I especially love the styling with the white cardigan.
2/14/11 8:40 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You look DARLING, Christa!! (I do think this skirt "belongs" on a Size Small only ;) ).
2/14/11 9:03 PM
newmama said...
Your skirt is so pretty. You seem to always make such beautiful, feminine clothes. I really like the skirt with the white sweater, as it reminds me of the spring I'm wishing for :)
2/14/11 9:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, how cute! The profile picture really shows what you have described, with having no bulk around the waistline. This really IS the perfect pleated skirt, and beautifully made, OF COURSE. So when are you going to make the RED WOOL ONE? :o))
2/14/11 9:45 PM
MNBarb said...
I love the way you can wear a top over the skirt and still look so shapely without the added bulk. This is a very good skirt for your hourglass-like figure. I really like it with the sweaters and, you know, it isn't too late to make one out of red wool. There are a few weeks of winter to come. You always look so put together with cute shoes and extras.
2/14/11 10:00 PM
Karen Easter said...
Really lovely skirt on a really lovely person. My husband went by when I had one of your photos open. "Who's this? Sharon?" (my niece) "No..." "oh so it's probably one of your college student volunteers?" "No..." I explained about patternreview. "Wow, it's nice that such young people are sewing!" I explained that you are a lady with nine children. He said "there's no way that's true."
2/14/11 10:19 PM
Christas said...
I know I shouldn't be, but I am always amazed at how nice the people are on PR! Thank you so much for all the comments on my skirt. It is so great to be in such a wonderful group of ladies!
2/14/11 11:19 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Your skirt is beautiful. I can see why you would want to make it again. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I never would have noticed it and now I must have it.
2/14/11 11:36 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh, you're just cranking out the garments lately. Great skirt! I hope you get the others made up soon.
2/14/11 11:50 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous skirt. It looks really lovely on you. You've given me an idea, too - this pattern would be just right for some fabric that arrived in the post today ...
2/15/11 4:03 AM
Peggy L said...
Great skirt - and it looks so fresh and springlike. You have the perfect figure for this style. I'm with Melissa, you are really sewing some great things and FAST!!!
2/15/11 6:27 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a pretty skirt, I love the blue print fabric!
2/15/11 8:06 AM
cleverkitty said...
Oh My I just love this skirt, the print is something I would pick out too. Using fabric that needs to be sewn always makes me feel like I gave it a purpose, ha-ha like it has feelings but you know we understand the depth of our skill and creativity right down to the details. I want to make this pattern for spring, it's on my list.
2/15/11 9:00 AM
Barbara V said...
Christa, you have made a very fashionable skirt and wear it beautifully! So nice that you found a wonderful pattern that you can depend on for a variety of skirts in the future. Your sewing is always so lovely!
2/15/11 10:17 AM
JETrinity said...
A very cute skirt pattern that looks very cute on you.
2/15/11 1:58 PM
Dale C said...
Cute! That skirt looks so adorable with the blue sweater.
2/15/11 3:00 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review for an excellent skirt. You look so perky and pretty in this gorgeous spring skirt. The styling is just perfect, especially for your tiny figure. And I agree, you do look like a young lady sewist. LOL, of course you are.
2/15/11 4:36 PM
lmb09 said...
Such a pretty skirt and great styling! Love how the pleats are flat at the top...so flattering! And thanks for the information on the button side closing...very interesting!
2/15/11 4:39 PM
callmeRuth said...
Nice skirt! I really like it with the white top---perfect for the spring weather we're having.
2/16/11 1:32 AM
Nan Kay said...
You have convinced me, now I need to try this pattern! Both skirts look great, very flattering!!
3/2/11 10:58 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty skirts.
3/2/11 11:40 PM
JanJanB said...
Nice skirts. I love both versions on you.
3/3/11 1:04 AM
Barbara V said...
I love version 2 in washed camel crepe. It turned out beautifully and looks lovely on you in both belted ensembles.
3/3/11 1:11 AM
Mushywear said...
This is definitely a cute skirt pattern and you have sewn both of yours up beautifully. I love how feminine they are! And to find a pattern that doesn't add bulk at the waist...that's a winner for sure.
3/3/11 3:04 AM
Bonnie O said...
I love BOTH versions. You look so polished and feminine in both outfits. The styling is great, too.
3/3/11 6:05 AM
MNBarb said...
I never wear skirts and you're making my want to own one. The camel version is SO cute with the black balero and scarf.
3/3/11 8:09 AM
cleverkitty said...
I like this color, I'm working on a skirt this color right now also, I thought it would be a good basic, I like how you paired it up.
3/3/11 8:39 AM
cabrewer82 said...
Ohhh! I love this skirt! So classy and ladylike! And the camel color is nice as well. I love the look you did with the scarf! Very nice!
3/3/11 9:14 AM
carolynw said...
I love this Christas - I believe longer skirts are in fashion this Spring - for me they always are. Think I will have to get this pattern - especially as you say it fits and flares - I certainly don't need any extra fluff in the waist area. Lovely skirt and as usual wonderful review
3/3/11 9:58 AM
eibhlin said...
Stunning!! You look so beautiful!!
3/3/11 10:18 AM
Annette1 said...
Darn it all! I might HAVE to get this pattern, based on your reviews. :o) Of course, I won't look like YOU do in it -- ha! Version 2 has turned out BEAUTIFULLY, and I really like the length. I just have one question: WHERE'S THE STINKIN' DIFFERENTIAL FEED? :o) And don't tell me I have to look in my manual.
3/3/11 11:39 AM
callmeRuth said...
I think you already have the mojo. Both skirts look nice!
3/3/11 11:49 AM
Peggy L said...
I love this in the solid!
3/3/11 12:35 PM
Christas said...
You all are SO nice! Thanks SO MUCH for all the kind comments! Annette, the differential feed button should be on the right side of your serger (when you are looking at it). There will be raised letters that say "DIF". Usually this knob is set to "N", but whenever I have trouble with wavy seams I up it to the setting that stops the waving. In the case of the crepe fabric, the setting of 1.2 was just perfect! Sometimes on sweater knits I have to set the dial a little higher.
3/3/11 1:17 PM
Dale C said...
another cute skirt!
3/3/11 2:43 PM
ggf2005 said...
very nice!
3/3/11 5:43 PM
MamaSewing said...
What a great color this 2nd skirt is for mixing with so many different items in a closet. Great choice!
3/3/11 6:21 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful! I really like both skirts. They look so different that I would not have known they were from the same pattern if you'd written a separate review for the second one. Does your button closure work well? Now that you've worn the skirts, would you prefer a zipper or some other closure?
3/3/11 11:14 PM
Christas said...
Thanks so much for the nice comments! Fictionfan, both of the skirts' closures work fine. I like this skirt better without a zipper.
3/3/11 11:54 PM
Catbird said...
I love this new version! It does have a completely different look done in a solid color. The length is flattering and I especially love the styling with the bolero and scarf!
3/5/11 4:26 PM
bellabass said...
I'm about to make the long version of this skirt in black dupion silk for a formal occasion. Your review is incredibly helpful and the skirts you have made from this pattern are beautiful! Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences, I'm really looking forward to making this now.
10/26/12 9:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

New Look 6150 Misses Top
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 8/18/13
Read Review

McCalls 6757 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6757 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5956 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5956 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen MN1006
photo
Review by White Rabb... on 10/23/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us