SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3852 (Full Skirts)

Viewed 803 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 110 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/11 8:17 PM
Last Updated:3/2/11 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bellabass said...
I'm about to make the long version of this skirt in black dupion silk for a formal occasion. Your review is incredibly helpful and the skirts you have made from this pattern are beautiful! Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences, I'm really looking forward to making this now.
10/26/12 9:57 PM
Catbird said...
I love this new version! It does have a completely different look done in a solid color. The length is flattering and I especially love the styling with the bolero and scarf!
3/5/11 4:26 PM
Christas said...
Thanks so much for the nice comments! Fictionfan, both of the skirts' closures work fine. I like this skirt better without a zipper.
3/3/11 11:54 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful! I really like both skirts. They look so different that I would not have known they were from the same pattern if you'd written a separate review for the second one. Does your button closure work well? Now that you've worn the skirts, would you prefer a zipper or some other closure?
3/3/11 11:14 PM
MamaSewing said...
What a great color this 2nd skirt is for mixing with so many different items in a closet. Great choice!
3/3/11 6:21 PM
ggf2005 said...
very nice!
3/3/11 5:43 PM
Dale C said...
another cute skirt!
3/3/11 2:43 PM
Christas said...
You all are SO nice! Thanks SO MUCH for all the kind comments! Annette, the differential feed button should be on the right side of your serger (when you are looking at it). There will be raised letters that say "DIF". Usually this knob is set to "N", but whenever I have trouble with wavy seams I up it to the setting that stops the waving. In the case of the crepe fabric, the setting of 1.2 was just perfect! Sometimes on sweater knits I have to set the dial a little higher.
3/3/11 1:17 PM
Peggy L said...
I love this in the solid!
3/3/11 12:35 PM
callmeRuth said...
I think you already have the mojo. Both skirts look nice!
3/3/11 11:49 AM
Annette1 said...
Darn it all! I might HAVE to get this pattern, based on your reviews. :o) Of course, I won't look like YOU do in it -- ha! Version 2 has turned out BEAUTIFULLY, and I really like the length. I just have one question: WHERE'S THE STINKIN' DIFFERENTIAL FEED? :o) And don't tell me I have to look in my manual.
3/3/11 11:39 AM
eibhlin said...
Stunning!! You look so beautiful!!
3/3/11 10:18 AM
carolynw said...
I love this Christas - I believe longer skirts are in fashion this Spring - for me they always are. Think I will have to get this pattern - especially as you say it fits and flares - I certainly don't need any extra fluff in the waist area. Lovely skirt and as usual wonderful review
3/3/11 9:58 AM
cabrewer82 said...
Ohhh! I love this skirt! So classy and ladylike! And the camel color is nice as well. I love the look you did with the scarf! Very nice!
3/3/11 9:14 AM
cleverkitty said...
I like this color, I'm working on a skirt this color right now also, I thought it would be a good basic, I like how you paired it up.
3/3/11 8:39 AM
MNBarb said...
I never wear skirts and you're making my want to own one. The camel version is SO cute with the black balero and scarf.
3/3/11 8:09 AM
Bonnie O said...
I love BOTH versions. You look so polished and feminine in both outfits. The styling is great, too.
3/3/11 6:05 AM
Mushywear said...
This is definitely a cute skirt pattern and you have sewn both of yours up beautifully. I love how feminine they are! And to find a pattern that doesn't add bulk at the waist...that's a winner for sure.
3/3/11 3:04 AM
Barbara V said...
I love version 2 in washed camel crepe. It turned out beautifully and looks lovely on you in both belted ensembles.
3/3/11 1:11 AM
JanJanB said...
Nice skirts. I love both versions on you.
3/3/11 1:04 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty skirts.
3/2/11 11:40 PM
Nan Kay said...
You have convinced me, now I need to try this pattern! Both skirts look great, very flattering!!
3/2/11 10:58 PM
callmeRuth said...
Nice skirt! I really like it with the white top---perfect for the spring weather we're having.
2/16/11 1:32 AM
lmb09 said...
Such a pretty skirt and great styling! Love how the pleats are flat at the top...so flattering! And thanks for the information on the button side closing...very interesting!
2/15/11 4:39 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review for an excellent skirt. You look so perky and pretty in this gorgeous spring skirt. The styling is just perfect, especially for your tiny figure. And I agree, you do look like a young lady sewist. LOL, of course you are.
2/15/11 4:36 PM
Dale C said...
Cute! That skirt looks so adorable with the blue sweater.
2/15/11 3:00 PM
JETrinity said...
A very cute skirt pattern that looks very cute on you.
2/15/11 1:58 PM
Barbara V said...
Christa, you have made a very fashionable skirt and wear it beautifully! So nice that you found a wonderful pattern that you can depend on for a variety of skirts in the future. Your sewing is always so lovely!
2/15/11 10:17 AM
cleverkitty said...
Oh My I just love this skirt, the print is something I would pick out too. Using fabric that needs to be sewn always makes me feel like I gave it a purpose, ha-ha like it has feelings but you know we understand the depth of our skill and creativity right down to the details. I want to make this pattern for spring, it's on my list.
2/15/11 9:00 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a pretty skirt, I love the blue print fabric!
2/15/11 8:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Great skirt - and it looks so fresh and springlike. You have the perfect figure for this style. I'm with Melissa, you are really sewing some great things and FAST!!!
2/15/11 6:27 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous skirt. It looks really lovely on you. You've given me an idea, too - this pattern would be just right for some fabric that arrived in the post today ...
2/15/11 4:03 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh, you're just cranking out the garments lately. Great skirt! I hope you get the others made up soon.
2/14/11 11:50 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Your skirt is beautiful. I can see why you would want to make it again. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I never would have noticed it and now I must have it.
2/14/11 11:36 PM
Christas said...
I know I shouldn't be, but I am always amazed at how nice the people are on PR! Thank you so much for all the comments on my skirt. It is so great to be in such a wonderful group of ladies!
2/14/11 11:19 PM
Karen Easter said...
Really lovely skirt on a really lovely person. My husband went by when I had one of your photos open. "Who's this? Sharon?" (my niece) "No..." "oh so it's probably one of your college student volunteers?" "No..." I explained about patternreview. "Wow, it's nice that such young people are sewing!" I explained that you are a lady with nine children. He said "there's no way that's true."
2/14/11 10:19 PM
MNBarb said...
I love the way you can wear a top over the skirt and still look so shapely without the added bulk. This is a very good skirt for your hourglass-like figure. I really like it with the sweaters and, you know, it isn't too late to make one out of red wool. There are a few weeks of winter to come. You always look so put together with cute shoes and extras.
2/14/11 10:00 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, how cute! The profile picture really shows what you have described, with having no bulk around the waistline. This really IS the perfect pleated skirt, and beautifully made, OF COURSE. So when are you going to make the RED WOOL ONE? :o))
2/14/11 9:45 PM
newmama said...
Your skirt is so pretty. You seem to always make such beautiful, feminine clothes. I really like the skirt with the white sweater, as it reminds me of the spring I'm wishing for :)
2/14/11 9:38 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You look DARLING, Christa!! (I do think this skirt "belongs" on a Size Small only ;) ).
2/14/11 9:03 PM
Catbird said...
Wow - this has all the elements you could want in a skirt - the slim fit at the top opening into a beautiful feminine flair at the hem. It's so great when you can make yourself something that satisfies that yearning for something you saw in a pricey catalog! You look fantastic in this and now that you've got the pattern figured out you can whip up several of them in no time! I especially love the styling with the white cardigan.
2/14/11 8:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
You would be so fabulous on the cover of ELLE or BAZAAR! Very nice job on your skirt!
2/14/11 8:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Kwik Sew 3199

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now