SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2821 (Misses' Nightshirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1489 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/02 1:40 PM
Last Updated:6/25/14 10:04 AM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 2821 by  LoriB

Kwik Sew: 2821 by  LoriB    
Pattern Photo: Kwik Sew 2821
Kwik Sew Pattern Info

More Info provided by LoriB

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    Sleepwear    
Fabric:Viscose Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Update (2014):
This pattern is one of those TNT (tried and true) patterns for me. My first review of this pattern was 12 years ago, and I've used it to make a few more nightshirts since then. I believe this pattern is OOP though, which is too bad because I think it's timeless.

I used my serger for the majority of the construction. The only time I used the sewing machine was for the small seam to join the strips for the neck and sleeve bands, and then I used the serger to attach the folded-over neck and sleeve bands. Easy and fast!

This latest creation used View B. The fabric is a cotton-viscose (rayon) blend. The print repeated every meter and was only on one side so I had plenty of plain fabric for the back and sleeves.

Original Review (2002):
I chose this pattern because I needed some new nightshirts. I had previously tried a Big 4 pattern and didn't like the results. This Kwik Sew pattern is a keeper and I will definitely make more. The instructions are very clear, it's very easy to sew, and it fits me well with a few minor pattern alterations.
The fabric is a $1/yard 100% polyester single knit fabric from fabric.com. It's lightweight and has the needed stretch according to the pattern envelope.
I traced off a medium size in the shoulders, neck and bust area and tapered to between a L and XL to accomodate my hips. This is why it's nice to sew - RTW nightgowns that fit on top "stick" at my hips and if they fit my hips, they swamp me on top. I also traced off the medium sleeve but the next time I make this I will enlarge the sleeve because the medium is a bit small in circumference.
The pattern has 3/8" seam allowances and the instructions use both the serger and regular sewing machine. The instructions also include stabilizing the shoulder seams with a strip of fusible interfacing. The neck edge has a unique finish. A strip of fabric is applied in typical fashion - serge one edge, sew right sides together, fold over raw neckline and top stitch - but then the instructions describe using the blind hem stitch on your machine to create a scalloped edge look. It worked and the result looked similar to the scalloped edge on a RTW nightgown. However, next time I will just use the coverstitch on my serger because I don't like that the inside serged edge of the neckline is not held down. The edges of the sleeves had the same treatment.
The instructions call for serging the bottom edge, turning and then topstitching. I used the coverstitch on my serger. I just purchased a new fancy schmancy serger (Babylock Evolve) so I was eager to try the coverstitch. It's beautiful! I'm so pleased with the very perfect hem it created. No more twin-needle for me!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
I LOVE that fabric!
6/25/14 9:07 PM
sacjeanie said...
Thanks for the review. It looks like the pattern is still available on the Kwick Sew website. OOPS - I was wrong. Just because it has a price does not mean it's available.
6/25/14 1:12 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice! I love nightshirts but some for some reason have armholes that just bind. Thanks for reviewing this pattern!
6/25/14 11:26 AM
Veronimuse said...
Very helpful review! (And I hear you about trying to find RTW garments that fit both top and bottom.) Some day I think I would enjoy a cover stitch machine, too, but for now, I use a twin needle for hemming knits. I tried a cover stitch machine at one of my local dealers and decided that if I go for a cover stitch machine, it must be one that is easily threaded and set up--or I might as well deal with the twin needle threading and tension adjusting process! :-) I have a Babylock Imagine serger and the forced air threading and automatic tension has definitely spoiled me. ;-)
1/26/14 5:44 PM
said...
Lori, Looks like a wonderful nightshirt. Glad you had such great results with your coverstitch. I love to use it, too. Lori
7/2/02 0:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lori, your review is helpful and well-written, and your gown looks very professional.
7/1/02 4:13 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 9107

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

More Info
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info