SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 102 (Thalia Pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1925 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/02 5:51 PM
Last Updated:8/6/02 7:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
EXCELLENT REVIEW! I am in the midst of my third pair of Daphne Pants- and have looked at the Thalia pants often. La Fred's illustrations are so stylized I always a bit wary of the finished product. I also am a med/large. Is this a flattering style? (I'm 5'6") Although I am fairly long-legged I was afraid this pant would make me look ......wide (?) Thanks Lisa!
7/2/02 11:40 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
LizGo, I was surprised that my finished pants didn't really make me look considerably heavier, given the bulk of the fabric. I guess the drape made up for the bulk. I don't have any photos yet, but Heather Claus reviewed these pants over on Patternshowcase and she has pictures; it was her review (and the fact that these pants have pockets) that convinced me to try them. One little detail that I failed to mention in my review: I topstitched the vertical folds in the waistband to make them sharper and I would do that again.
7/12/02 0:48 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Those are very handsome pants, Lisa! Very becoming, too.
8/6/02 5:06 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I finally figured out why some of the pictures would not come up with the bigger area; the URL is too long to fit into the space for some reason(I don't know why it's longer for some of the photos). Just click on the thumbnail to get a photo big enough to see! And thanks, Elona, for the kind words :)
8/6/02 7:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very good looking pants. I agree that a more narrow waistband would probably be better. I have this pattern myself and that's what I had planned to do. Isn't that amazing "growing" fabric incredible and maddening? I have encountered some over the years; I wish it were readily identifiable before purchase. Thanks for the helpful review.
8/6/02 9:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1000

photo
by: julliams

Review
Jalie 2796

photo
by: cindysewsa...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now