SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9518 (2-Hour Separates)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1732 times 
Reviewed by:Diana M
photo

 
 
About Diana Mstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/19/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:12 AM
Last Updated:7/18/04 4:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
That is a really cute pattern - I'm looking forward to seeing more of the separates made up. The shorts look good.
7/14/04 7:02 PM
AnneM said...
Sounds like you have a great pattern for your needs. I'm certain some other PR members have that same pattern in their stash. Your shorts came out great.
7/15/04 6:56 AM
Annette H said...
Like those shorts, and the pattern has an unusual look, especially for a two-hour one. They can be very plain, this one has personality.
7/15/04 7:26 AM
Hilary said...
Cute shorts, Diana! I really like the pattern you chose- looks like you'll get some nice cool outfits for your stay in the desert :o) Thanks for the review! I wish I had this pattern too-maybe I'll run across it at a thrift store someday, lol.
7/15/04 8:09 AM
KitnRose said...
I agree, it's a good mix of stuff in one envelope. Have fun making stuff for yourself. The shorts look great! :)
7/15/04 9:54 AM
PixieCat said...
The shorts look great! Comfortable yet stylish.
7/15/04 3:43 PM
ncegbu said...
I believe I saw this pattern (or something very similar to it) in the Simplicity Early Summer 2004 catalog, but the pattern number may have been different. It still may be available in the drawers at your JoAnn's/Hancock/big chain fabric store.
7/15/04 5:00 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks like a nice variety to choose from. Shorts turned out well.
7/15/04 5:33 PM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Great shorts, Diana, and the colour is beautiful - very classic! What a great pattern... I'll have to consider getting this for making capsule wardrobes as gifts for the women in my life!
7/15/04 10:31 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice shorts. You've got a winning pattern to work with for the contest. Good luck with your fitting issues...you certainly have made a good start here--they appear to fit perfectly and are flattering.
7/16/04 6:46 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute shorts. I've made the top with the no-sleeve look. While darts would have looked better, I really like the fit.
7/18/04 10:33 AM
JDpenelope said...
Tanya - My gosh, this is uncanny! I've been working on similar fba challenges, with similar trials and errors. (I'm very behind on reviews...too busy...ugh!) Guess I simply must buy some of S Betzina's books--thanks for the reminder--you don't always want to add width and a vertical dart! I used the Palmer/Plesch pivot and slide method on a top with an unusual pleated neckline---it has drag lines, but possibly only a sewer would notice they aren't part of the design. Thanks for sharing your experience. (I'm hoping that with just a bit more experience with fba's, it won't take so darned long to sew a simple top!) Well, your shorts turned out great, anyway!
7/18/04 9:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Diana, don't even try the button blouse! That's the one I made. Can't wait to see what pattern you pick next.
7/19/04 9:46 PM
AnneM said...
I've discovered the same thing: patterns that go S-M etc are harder than they appear, at least to get them to fit!
8/22/04 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Amy Butler AB037DG

photo
by: ModCat

Review