SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2804 (Empire crossover top)

43 more reviews
Viewed 831 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 76 people
patterns reviewed: 134
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/20/11 4:41 PM
Last Updated:8/20/11 10:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
craftygamma said...
Thanks for the review. I really like your top & am sorry you had an issue with the modesty panel. I just had a terrible time with the modesty panel on a little girl's top. I re-did it 3 times. It is McCalls 5917, but I did not review it yet. Amazingly I was thinking of doing it like your Jalie pattern to go all the way across, but I gues that would not have worked either.
2/20/11 6:41 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you for the review. You look fabulous BTW!
2/20/11 10:24 PM
ryan's mom said...
Really cute! Don't make me buy another Jalie lol :) .
2/20/11 10:34 PM
Karine said...
Very cute top and it looks great on you. I hope you'll post an update if you find a solution for the neckline problem. It's really a nice design.
2/21/11 7:36 AM
Peggy L said...
The style looks so nice on you and I really like your fabric. I haven't made this pattern so no help on the armhole issue but I wonder if it would do this in a different knit.
2/21/11 8:15 AM
cleverkitty said...
Looks like a narrow shoulder adjustment, try taking out excess width. Try pinching out and tapering. I just got this new adjustment on one shoulder only when I broke my collar bone last year, it is different then the other now and fabric does not lay smooth. I like your enthusiasm to make summer clothes and I love black and white prints (and cats)--- yea crazy cat lady
2/21/11 9:01 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for the tip but it really isn't a shoulder problem this time. The modesty panel is just cut too narrow across the chest and then, with added elasic it's going to pull. If I add the panel again I'm going to cut it bigger. I'll have to find the magic amount that lies flat against the skin without the tightness that causes pulling.
2/21/11 10:04 AM
Barbara V said...
Cute top Barb. Looks like you've figured out what needs to be done for fitting adjustment on next top. I'm impressed that you would put on shorts and sleeveless top in this winter freezy weather!
2/21/11 11:10 AM
magoe6217 said...
Sounds like you have the pulling problem figured out for next time. Could you just piece the modesty panel on this one in a hidden area to make it wider? Your fabric choice is great! Black and white always looks chic and sophisticated.
2/21/11 11:28 AM
Christas said...
Really cute top on you! The fabric is pretty and this is a really nice style on you.
2/21/11 12:39 PM
newmama said...
I really like your top and am sorry the modesty panel didn't work for you. I actually wanted to get this pattern for maternity, and may still since it can be made sleeveless. Thank you for the review!
2/21/11 5:16 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh my gosh, I'd kill to look that good in a pair of shorts and a sleeveless top. :o) VERY cute, and it sounds like you've got the problem solved for next go' round with the modesty panel, too.
2/21/11 5:54 PM
Scheri said...
Great top on you.
4/24/11 11:14 PM
marec said...
oops
4/24/11 11:51 PM
marec said...
Both tops are...tops! I missed the first one when I was traveling and am so glad to see it now. You look great in both versions. I love the long sleeve version.
4/24/11 11:51 PM
Renren said...
I like them both. You achieved a great fit.
4/25/11 0:12 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Really really pretty tops!
4/25/11 7:10 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking tops.
4/25/11 7:12 AM
Barbara V said...
The beautiful wool knit paisley worked up nicely into your "one hour" top. The fit is right on and you look great in it!
4/25/11 9:20 AM
Trinity. said...
I love the wool paisley, Barb. Absolutely gorgeous!
5/17/11 11:55 AM
ArtAttack said...
I love all of your tops...looks like a great pattern and they look super on you...
8/20/11 11:54 PM
Lori V said...
every garment is fantastic, great job. Isn't the coverstitch machine amazing?
8/21/11 0:01 AM
crazygrad said...
You look great! Your top is very pretty, great colors on you! Your machine has a great smile and nice buns! Too much?
8/21/11 0:12 AM
Renren said...
Ha, cute! I thought, "Now why does Minnesota Barb have 2 sergers." I'll read her review and find out and then I took a closer look and thought, "Oh, my goodness! Is that a coverstitich machine???!!!" Yes, IT IS, according to the review. Love it and I love how you so obviously love your machines. Looks like you've all bonded nicely. And wow, look at those Jalie tops!
8/21/11 1:03 AM
Annette1 said...
Hey, check out that COVERSTITCH! GOOD FOR YOU! CLEARLY, though, I'm goign to have to show up and MESS UP YOUR SEWING ROOM a little. Look, even your foot pedals are perfectly aligned. :o) And speaking of perfect, you've got a real winner of a top here. You're putting this pattern to such good use, you've practically paid for your coverstitch already. :o)
8/21/11 1:30 AM
marec said...
Nice girly print :-) I'm green with envy about both your sewing expertise and the coverstitch machine.
8/21/11 1:50 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Aww, you look good in girlie fabric! Great top and love the coverstitch. I have a Pfaff combo machine set up as the serger and a Viking combo machine set up as the coverstitch.
8/21/11 8:26 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful top, Barb. The way you are turning out garments that price per garment will be down very very soon. Congratulations on the great top and coverstitch!
8/21/11 11:05 AM
Rhoda K said...
Love all your tops, especially the paisley. Thanks for your helpful review.
8/21/11 11:12 AM
sewing for fun said...
Congratulations on your coverstitch machine! Your top looks great!
8/21/11 12:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
I don't know what a cover stitch machine is but the top certainly is cute and fits you to perfection. The wool paisley one is lovely, too.
8/22/11 4:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now