Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7700 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Very Loose-Fitting Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 452 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:iSewQuiltArt
photo
About iSewQuiltArtstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/11 1:47 AM
Last Updated:2/24/11 0:38 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
What beautiful topstitching you did. Those cuffs are perfect. Great casual shirt that looks very comfortable. Thanks for the review.
2/21/11 1:36 PM
beth5646 said...
You did a great job on that shirt. Beautiful work. I too love the topstitching and your buttonholes are great. Congratulations to you. I have been contemplating this pattern. I want to make a loose fitting shirt that I can wear open with a tee underneath. Your great review has helped me a lot. Thank you.
2/22/11 0:31 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Thankyou! I am glad the review is helpful. The buttonholes are very easy actually on my Bernina Aurora, once I get the length programmed with stitching the first half of one, its just a matter of lining up the foot so that the buttonhole stitches straigth down my marked lines, and then it does all of them exactly the same each time. I made no alterations to the density of the beading and just used white Guterman 50 weight poly thread, that I used for construction. I do hope you make the shirt, I have enjoyed seeing the other versions here that others have reviewed. I have a lovely printed fabric that is a nice candidate for this pattern and I may make it up again sooner than later, I wanted to test the pattern first on a less expensive material incase it was a wadder.
2/22/11 1:52 AM
Karine said...
Those are great-looking cuffs! Very nice shirt.
2/22/11 7:22 AM
Leda2 said...
I have never sewn a shirt with collar, cuffs and button holes before and would like to try one. What caught my eye about this review is the shirt didnt pull open at the bust. I always have this problem with RTW, and if I buy a size larger the shoulders droop and that makes me look frumpy. Thanks for the great review. I am thinking about this pattern for my first button type shirt to sew.
2/22/11 9:32 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Leda2, the sleeves are dropped shoulder sleeves. The non- gapey bit might depend on your bust. If you are larger than C cup I dont' know how it would go without an alteration as there is quite abit of design ease, you could try in inexpensive fabric and see. If this is your first time do get a good book on dealing with the curved part of the collarstand as that part was not well explained, infact it was completely omitted in the pattern. The pictures don't show it sewn at any time and nor do the instructions indicate what to do properly there. Or have someone who has done one before to help you out. I think it is a good shirt for a beginner to try this sort of collar treatment as there is plenty of ease in it and therefore fitting problems will be reduced. You do end up with a loose fitting shirt so if you like this style, go ahead and try it out!
2/22/11 6:27 PM
treefrog said...
Beautiful shirt QQ! The fabric is just divine and your work is sooo neat.
2/24/11 1:10 AM
Leda2 said...
I am a C cup. I didnt notice the drop shoulders. LOL But think I will try to sew the shirt anyway. Its just way to cute not to!! The tip about buying a book is a good idea, since I do not know anyone here who sews clothing.
2/24/11 6:55 AM
Christas said...
Very nice work! Your blouse looks lovely!
2/24/11 9:06 AM
carolynw said...
As a lover of hand crafted shirts I think yours is superb - thanks for the timely review. In Canada we are now moving - very, very slowly - towards warmer weather and I was planning on making a white shirt to greet the new season - have this pattern and so will now give it a go!!
2/24/11 9:06 AM
margk said...
Love the fabric and your work! The close-ups of the cuff and collar stand show what a great professional finish you have achieved.
2/24/11 4:00 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Lapping up all the nice kind comments!! Maybe I inherited some of my Nana's drive towards uber neat sewing and tailoring-and which my Mum also instilled. Although I have to say if my fabric is busy, and something goes pear shaped, I am less tempted to rip out and fix, if it can't be seen!!
2/24/11 4:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt, and a very polished effort - the standard of your finish is extremely impressive.
2/25/11 1:49 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
The finish of the shirt I think comes from using high quality interfacings, which actually cost far more per metre than the fabric itself. Good thread, and topstitch needle in size 70. And, having really good sewing machine that makes excellent straight stitches- and using the right feet for the job, that really helps. And of course, taking my time when it comes to things like topstitching and hemming so the stitches are straight. I figure its faster to take my time than do a slap dash job and then spend time ripping out and trying to fix a botched job and doing over until it looks ok. I did get one slightly crooked area at one stage and ripped it out, trimmed the threads and blended the stitching exactly over the top of the others so that its really hard to see now where I did it. The fabric itself was under $12 a metre which in Australia is considered cheap, borderline cheap and nasty...but I didn't want to invest more in a shirt before I'd tested the pattern. This is effectively my toile, but it is wearable. I have a gorgeous print I nearly made it in the first time and am now of course kicking myself I didn't!! Of course if I had done, it would have been a wadder, naturally. Why is it this happens in sewing? Oh well I've needed a white shirt in ages so I am pleased with it.
2/25/11 3:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 5886
photo
Review by Nenewhis on 6/12/13
Read Review

Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )
Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7359 SHIRT
photo
Review by LTC on 9/16/12
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us