Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2921 (Scarf-Collar Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 548 times 97 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:2/21/11 12:20 PM
Last Updated:4/1/11 9:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Pretty! I think the back wrinkles near the butt look like it just needs pulled down (it looks uneven over the rear end). I agree that you might need a bigger size at the shoulders though. Still, looks really nice on you!
2/21/11 12:25 PM
Ann Smith said...
Pretty color and pretty top. Looking at your back shoulder view I think maybe one size bigger there would help.
2/21/11 1:15 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for posting...I don't know anything about fitting and I'm always reading to learn for when I do sew :) ... and I'm thinking a size bigger like you suggest could make all the difference in a better fit .... and wouldn't it be simpler, than other adjustments? and worth a try, since the result would be a very wearable garment too ... Yes, this does look really nice as is!
2/21/11 1:25 PM
JillyBe said...
Thanks for all your comments about Jalie & sizing; I'm finding similar issues ... I think that some of the Jalie patterns are so close fitting that they end up turning into excellent teachers about our particular fit issues! The top does look great on you though!
2/21/11 1:34 PM
Knitz said...
Very nice -- good luck with working out a good shoulder fit -- lovely color and looks so cozy.
2/21/11 1:57 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice top. Great color. I have this pattern but have yet to make it. Thanks for the heads-up regarding the sizing.
2/21/11 3:17 PM
cleverkitty said...
interesting reading on Sherry's method, I bought a whole bolt of pattern tracing material to really work on fit this year more then ever. The plum color is a beauty. Fitting is a challenge, sewing is the easy part.
2/21/11 4:38 PM
BlueberryGal said...
Thanks for sharing the link to Sherry's guide. I just realized that I too have these issues and now have many ideas on how to address them. Your top looks good on you.
2/21/11 5:14 PM
Mushywear said...
So pretty! I can't wait to make this top. I am so glad to see this on you! Good to hear it was easy as well. I love the color of your velour. I agree, you may want to go up a size to help those wrinkles under the arms. I will keep sizing in mind when I make it up, so thanks for the tip!
2/22/11 1:00 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice garment. Perhaps the next one could be a size bigger in the top. Thanks for the comment on Jalie sizing. That's the sort of thing you often have to learn from experience.
2/22/11 3:40 AM
JDpenelope said...
The top is beautiful and the fit is almost right. Thanks for sharing your details, because I am going through similar fitting issues. As has been mentioned, it looks like the fit in the shoulders is tight, but the rest looks very good.
2/22/11 7:44 AM
mhk3boys said...
Your top looks great! Is your upper back, not shoulders, too tight? Maybe you need a little bit added for a broad back?
2/24/11 4:23 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Who notices any problems - that colour is simply gorgeous! Well done.
2/27/11 1:57 AM
JETrinity said...
Since I have never sewn a Jalie pattern, since I have ordered on line so many buckles for my Butterick 5484 pattern, and since I love this pattern, I better go out and buy the pattern with all your tips in my head.
3/13/11 2:27 PM
21wale said...
This is such a fun top - you're teasing spring with a short sleeve version! Did you do the same forward shoulder alteration on the 2nd version? I do a FS and sometimes pinch out a wedge (tapering from armscye to nothing at the neck) in the front because there is a sort of hollow formed by the shoulder. So if you add space in the back, you take out corresponding space in the front. But I have no definitive advice since I'm still tweaking my alterations.
4/1/11 11:13 PM
dingyadi said...
Such a lovely top! I've never tried a Jalie pattern but this top is terrific. Thanks for the alert about sizing.
4/1/11 11:42 PM
Peggy L said...
Very pretty!! I do the same with Jalie - size up as they are too close fitting for my body shape.
4/2/11 7:30 AM
Kim12469 said...
So fun! I think it looks great on you. I like this top a bit closer fitting.
4/2/11 7:45 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top!
4/2/11 11:36 AM
linda 75142 said...
I, too, like Jalie, BUT always have to go to larger sizes so I don't look like something stuffed in a sausage casing!
4/2/11 8:42 PM
Scheri said...
Thank you for the review. So many details will help us all. I think the fabric is so nice and the top looks pretty on you. Fitting is always a pain.
4/3/11 0:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Burda 7636
photo
Review by angela80 on 11/19/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4669
photo
Review by SewLil on 8/16/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us