SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2010-116 (La Grande Dame)

1 more reviews
Viewed 431 times 
Reviewed by:TracyTheMaterialGirl
photo

 
 
About TracyTheMaterialGirlstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/11 3:04 PM
Last Updated:2/22/11 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Larkin said...
Checking back in - I made this dress and wore it at my wedding in July. Have you taken another stab at this one? I spent a ton of time fitting the bodice, but the dress was super comfortable and drew lots of compliments in the end!
8/6/11 1:10 AM
Larkin said...
Thank-you for much for this review. I'm getting ready to make this dress and was thinking about skipping the muslin. I'm rethinking that but will plow ahead, keeping your comments in mind!
5/23/11 2:45 PM
PJH said...
It actually looks great to me. I hope you can get around to adjusting the bodice but I know what it's like when you just want to put something away and not look at it for a while. Love your tulip comment! Thanks for the review.
2/24/11 4:36 AM
becca a said...
This is a lovely dress with potential to be flattering to you. The top looks too long and loose. If you figure out the muslin fitting issues, then you can use a fabric you like better in a color you find more flattering. I love the back detail.
2/23/11 9:44 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I agree with manol6176. Shorten the torso. Pull it out when the sun is shining and have another go at it. Go on just for me.
2/23/11 6:33 AM
manola6176 said...
I thing this dress is woth to be adjustedI think you should petite it and shorten the torso. Thanks for letting us see the pictures.
2/23/11 5:54 AM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
Sorry about the pictures - All fixed now and you should be able to see them.
2/23/11 4:01 AM
dingyadi said...
That is such a pity as it is a beautiful dress and colour. I hope in time you do get it out again and make the changes you want to make, it has so much potential.
2/22/11 7:34 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for fixing the photos or I wouldn't have been able to see that interesting back tie. This is a unique and fun dress. Oh, how I can relate to a sewing disappointment, I've had many.
2/22/11 6:24 PM
manola6176 said...
I wish pictures could be visible Too bad the dress is lovely
2/22/11 4:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1042

photo
by: jent

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 207640-1002

photo
by: sewingsill...

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now