SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2010-116 (La Grande Dame)

1 more reviews
Viewed 429 times 
Reviewed by:TracyTheMaterialGirl
photo

 
 
About TracyTheMaterialGirlstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/11 3:04 PM
Last Updated:2/22/11 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
manola6176 said...
I wish pictures could be visible Too bad the dress is lovely
2/22/11 4:11 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for fixing the photos or I wouldn't have been able to see that interesting back tie. This is a unique and fun dress. Oh, how I can relate to a sewing disappointment, I've had many.
2/22/11 6:24 PM
dingyadi said...
That is such a pity as it is a beautiful dress and colour. I hope in time you do get it out again and make the changes you want to make, it has so much potential.
2/22/11 7:34 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
Sorry about the pictures - All fixed now and you should be able to see them.
2/23/11 4:01 AM
manola6176 said...
I thing this dress is woth to be adjustedI think you should petite it and shorten the torso. Thanks for letting us see the pictures.
2/23/11 5:54 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I agree with manol6176. Shorten the torso. Pull it out when the sun is shining and have another go at it. Go on just for me.
2/23/11 6:33 AM
becca a said...
This is a lovely dress with potential to be flattering to you. The top looks too long and loose. If you figure out the muslin fitting issues, then you can use a fabric you like better in a color you find more flattering. I love the back detail.
2/23/11 9:44 AM
PJH said...
It actually looks great to me. I hope you can get around to adjusting the bodice but I know what it's like when you just want to put something away and not look at it for a while. Love your tulip comment! Thanks for the review.
2/24/11 4:36 AM
Larkin said...
Thank-you for much for this review. I'm getting ready to make this dress and was thinking about skipping the muslin. I'm rethinking that but will plow ahead, keeping your comments in mind!
5/23/11 2:45 PM
Larkin said...
Checking back in - I made this dress and wore it at my wedding in July. Have you taken another stab at this one? I spent a ton of time fitting the bodice, but the dress was super comfortable and drew lots of compliments in the end!
8/6/11 1:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Lingerie Secrets Ladies PJ/Yoga Pant

photo
by: Holmar

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Make it Perfect Downtown Boy Jacket

photo
by: brissmith

Review