SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2010-116 (La Grande Dame)

1 more reviews
Viewed 432 times 
Reviewed by:TracyTheMaterialGirl
photo

 
 
About TracyTheMaterialGirlstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/11 3:04 PM
Last Updated:2/22/11 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Larkin said... (8/6/11 1:10 AM) Reply
Checking back in - I made this dress and wore it at my wedding in July. Have you taken another stab at this one? I spent a ton of time fitting the bodice, but the dress was super comfortable and drew lots of compliments in the end!
Larkin said... (5/23/11 2:45 PM) Reply
Thank-you for much for this review. I'm getting ready to make this dress and was thinking about skipping the muslin. I'm rethinking that but will plow ahead, keeping your comments in mind!
PJH said... (2/24/11 4:36 AM) Reply
It actually looks great to me. I hope you can get around to adjusting the bodice but I know what it's like when you just want to put something away and not look at it for a while. Love your tulip comment! Thanks for the review.
becca a said... (2/23/11 9:44 AM) Reply
This is a lovely dress with potential to be flattering to you. The top looks too long and loose. If you figure out the muslin fitting issues, then you can use a fabric you like better in a color you find more flattering. I love the back detail.
ChristmasHills said... (2/23/11 6:33 AM) Reply
I agree with manol6176. Shorten the torso. Pull it out when the sun is shining and have another go at it. Go on just for me.
manola6176 said... (2/23/11 5:54 AM) Reply
I thing this dress is woth to be adjustedI think you should petite it and shorten the torso. Thanks for letting us see the pictures.
TracyTheMaterialGirl said... (2/23/11 4:01 AM) Reply
Sorry about the pictures - All fixed now and you should be able to see them.
dingyadi said... (2/22/11 7:34 PM) Reply
That is such a pity as it is a beautiful dress and colour. I hope in time you do get it out again and make the changes you want to make, it has so much potential.
MNBarb said... (2/22/11 6:24 PM) Reply
Thanks for fixing the photos or I wouldn't have been able to see that interesting back tie. This is a unique and fun dress. Oh, how I can relate to a sewing disappointment, I've had many.
manola6176 said... (2/22/11 4:11 PM) Reply
I wish pictures could be visible Too bad the dress is lovely
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Marfy 2592

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Pattern Details
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Pattern Details