SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8581 (MISSES' TUNIC)

31 more reviews
Viewed 735 times 
Reviewed by:gooner
photo

 
 
About goonerstar
WI USA
Member since: 10/8/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/11 6:10 PM
Last Updated:2/23/11 1:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very pretty! All three versions look very nice!
2/26/11 11:18 AM
lesliez said...
I keep looking at this pattern, undecided until I saw yours. I love that you made it with a rayon woven. It looks terrific.
2/25/11 2:18 PM
gooner said...
Thank you so much for all the feedback! DebbieB, for the ruffle I cut a length of fabric about 3" wide. The length is completely variable depending on how tight you want the gathers and how long you want the finished ruffle to be. Finished length for me was 12" and I think I started with about 22" of fabric. After cutting, I used the rolled hem foot on my machine (could also use serger) to finish the long edges, then turned the edges under on the short sides also. I stitched down the middle of the panel with a long basting stitch and then pulled the bobbin thread to gather it up. Adjusted the gathers, pinned to the top and sewed it down the middle, then removed basting stitches. I also tacked the upper edges of the ruffle to the neckline since they kind of flopped forward. Hope this helps!
2/24/11 12:59 PM
debbieB said...
Beautiful! I have this pattern,have to try it now.Could you explain how you made the ruffle?
2/24/11 11:22 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic tops, the ruffle is so cute on the last top.
2/23/11 5:57 PM
gooner said...
Thank you so much, everyone! After getting so much help from reading reviews on PR, I'm just starting to write my own. And since none of my friends sew, it's great to get feedback from other sewists!
2/23/11 3:57 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice top. Love the ruffle.
2/23/11 3:53 PM
kim*brown said...
Super cute!
2/23/11 3:38 PM
sewtime said...
What a cute top, love it!!!
2/23/11 2:30 PM
sewinfrance said...
Your top looks very nice. The elastic in a casing idea was a good one--I HATE doing gathers, it's hard to get them to look nice.
2/23/11 2:20 PM
cleverkitty said...
I like your idea of the elastic casing this looks real nice and also a good pattern for jersey fabric that is hard to work with but great to wear. The color is deep and rich, beautiful.
2/23/11 2:17 PM
beth5646 said...
Very nice top. Looks good on you. I love the ruffles on the front. thanks for the review.
2/23/11 0:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Colette Patterns Truffle

photo
by: fern1knits

Review
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info