Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8407 (Panel and Godet Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1972 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/04 6:04 PM
Last Updated:7/15/04 6:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Beautiful & very stylish.
7/15/04 6:19 PM
Meredith P said...
Ooh! I really like this one! Actually, I like everything you do. I appreciate your detailed review. It fits you perfectly.
7/15/04 6:26 PM
mudcat said...
Your skirt is so pretty. Nice fabric.
7/15/04 6:42 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty skirt. It looks good on you.
7/15/04 6:49 PM
els said...
I agree with all the above comments, another winner for you.
7/15/04 6:53 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
OH WOW! Beautiful skirt, I envy you the patience for this one!
7/15/04 7:16 PM
Jennifer West said...
Very nice skirt! Great job.
7/15/04 7:28 PM
Lisette said...
Great skirt! I love the fit of Burda patterns.
7/15/04 7:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
jlg, really, I want to see your wadders. Every single garment you make is so beautiful! It seems like yesterday you were calling yourself a beginner--I think you make the greatest clothes and this skirt is no exception.
7/15/04 8:22 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh, so pretty! I'll have to try this one. Great review! -Ann
7/15/04 8:49 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So lovely!!
7/15/04 9:38 PM
KitnRose said...
Very beautiful, love your choice of fabrics.
7/15/04 9:48 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
You wear it well!
7/16/04 3:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely skirt, love the fabric. Might try this one myself.
7/16/04 5:42 AM
JDpenelope said...
Another winner. You have the knack for picking patterns and fabrics that go together (I have no clue) and that are flattering on you. Also, your fabrics appear to be of premium quality. May I ask about your favorite fabric sources?
7/16/04 6:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
This is simply lovely! How do you make the time to sew as much as you do? Inquiring minds want to know your secret..
7/16/04 6:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your skirt is gorgeous! I love that sort of style, but since I have to lengthen all my skirts 2 or 3 inches, I've stayed away from attempting to alter skirt patterns with curvy panels. So instead I take vicarious pleasure in viewing the creations of others! Bravo!
7/16/04 7:24 AM
cindyann said...
Love, love, love it! Great pairing of pattern and fabric.
7/16/04 8:09 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for your very nice comments. Penelope, my favorites are all online. I check out emmaonesock.com, fabricmartfabrics.com, fashionfabricsclub.com and fabrics.com almost daily because they have new fabrics coming in frequently. I have occassionally gotten fabrics that I didn't really like from fashionfabricsclub.com and fabric.com, but their prices can be great, and I've been very pleased with most of my purchases. For really nice fabric that I've yet to be disappointed in I like michaelsfabrics.com but he doesn't post new fabrics very often. Christine Jonson's site cjpatterns.com has great fabrics, particularly rayons and knits but also doesn't add new fabrics very often; you also have to subscribe to her service to buy all but the basics on her site (she is the only swatch service that I still subscribe to). Hope that this is helpful. Rebecca, I must say that I am definitely obsessed. I've given up almost all television, my husband's obsession is cooking so I never do that anymore and occassionally, I sacrifice sleep. This is definitely a sickness.
7/16/04 8:37 AM
Sew Jane said...
What a beautiful, gracefull skirt! Lovely work and you look lovely in it! I enjoy all your reviews very much.
7/16/04 9:04 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Cute skirt, nice drape. Good job!
7/16/04 9:18 AM
Carina said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern! I think I have to add this one to my wish list. Beautiful fabric!
7/16/04 9:34 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Gorgeous! Your things are always so pretty, both in color and style, and always look so nice on you. If this is your "sickness," I don't think you need a cure. LOL
7/16/04 11:56 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh I am so jealous :) -Another great item! I used to have a hubby-cook, but his replacement does not know what a stove is!
7/16/04 12:38 PM
Aunt Cathy said...
Absolutely beautiful (as always) jlg.
7/16/04 1:43 PM
JDpenelope said...
Jlg, Thank you so much for that list, and insights into your buying habits. Imitation is the highest form of flattery. Consider yourself flattered. PS My dh does our dishes--he doesn't like the way I load the dishwasher! Ignorance is bliss in this case.
7/16/04 1:49 PM
mag said...
Very pretty skirt. I got a chuckle out of your comment about the sewing bug. It can be quite addictive, I agree. But I tell myself that there could be more harmful obsessions.
7/16/04 9:06 PM
Jan B. said...
Another great pairing of fabric and pattern. You look terrific--I agree with all the above compliments!!
7/16/04 9:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Chris W Designs Evelyn Evelyn
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/16/12
Read Review

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 Pattern
Burda 7381 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-122
photo
Review by SandraB on 2/23/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us