SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8407 (Panel and Godet Skirt)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1972 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/04 6:04 PM
Last Updated:7/15/04 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Beautiful & very stylish.
7/15/04 6:19 PM
Meredith P said...
Ooh! I really like this one! Actually, I like everything you do. I appreciate your detailed review. It fits you perfectly.
7/15/04 6:26 PM
mudcat said...
Your skirt is so pretty. Nice fabric.
7/15/04 6:42 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty skirt. It looks good on you.
7/15/04 6:49 PM
els said...
I agree with all the above comments, another winner for you.
7/15/04 6:53 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
OH WOW! Beautiful skirt, I envy you the patience for this one!
7/15/04 7:16 PM
Jennifer West said...
Very nice skirt! Great job.
7/15/04 7:28 PM
Lisette said...
Great skirt! I love the fit of Burda patterns.
7/15/04 7:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
jlg, really, I want to see your wadders. Every single garment you make is so beautiful! It seems like yesterday you were calling yourself a beginner--I think you make the greatest clothes and this skirt is no exception.
7/15/04 8:22 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh, so pretty! I'll have to try this one. Great review! -Ann
7/15/04 8:49 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So lovely!!
7/15/04 9:38 PM
KitnRose said...
Very beautiful, love your choice of fabrics.
7/15/04 9:48 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
You wear it well!
7/16/04 3:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely skirt, love the fabric. Might try this one myself.
7/16/04 5:42 AM
JDpenelope said...
Another winner. You have the knack for picking patterns and fabrics that go together (I have no clue) and that are flattering on you. Also, your fabrics appear to be of premium quality. May I ask about your favorite fabric sources?
7/16/04 6:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
This is simply lovely! How do you make the time to sew as much as you do? Inquiring minds want to know your secret..
7/16/04 6:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your skirt is gorgeous! I love that sort of style, but since I have to lengthen all my skirts 2 or 3 inches, I've stayed away from attempting to alter skirt patterns with curvy panels. So instead I take vicarious pleasure in viewing the creations of others! Bravo!
7/16/04 7:24 AM
cindyann said...
Love, love, love it! Great pairing of pattern and fabric.
7/16/04 8:09 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for your very nice comments. Penelope, my favorites are all online. I check out emmaonesock.com, fabricmartfabrics.com, fashionfabricsclub.com and fabrics.com almost daily because they have new fabrics coming in frequently. I have occassionally gotten fabrics that I didn't really like from fashionfabricsclub.com and fabric.com, but their prices can be great, and I've been very pleased with most of my purchases. For really nice fabric that I've yet to be disappointed in I like michaelsfabrics.com but he doesn't post new fabrics very often. Christine Jonson's site cjpatterns.com has great fabrics, particularly rayons and knits but also doesn't add new fabrics very often; you also have to subscribe to her service to buy all but the basics on her site (she is the only swatch service that I still subscribe to). Hope that this is helpful. Rebecca, I must say that I am definitely obsessed. I've given up almost all television, my husband's obsession is cooking so I never do that anymore and occassionally, I sacrifice sleep. This is definitely a sickness.
7/16/04 8:37 AM
Sew Jane said...
What a beautiful, gracefull skirt! Lovely work and you look lovely in it! I enjoy all your reviews very much.
7/16/04 9:04 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Cute skirt, nice drape. Good job!
7/16/04 9:18 AM
Carina said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern! I think I have to add this one to my wish list. Beautiful fabric!
7/16/04 9:34 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Gorgeous! Your things are always so pretty, both in color and style, and always look so nice on you. If this is your "sickness," I don't think you need a cure. LOL
7/16/04 11:56 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh I am so jealous :) -Another great item! I used to have a hubby-cook, but his replacement does not know what a stove is!
7/16/04 12:38 PM
Aunt Cathy said...
Absolutely beautiful (as always) jlg.
7/16/04 1:43 PM
JDpenelope said...
Jlg, Thank you so much for that list, and insights into your buying habits. Imitation is the highest form of flattery. Consider yourself flattered. PS My dh does our dishes--he doesn't like the way I load the dishwasher! Ignorance is bliss in this case.
7/16/04 1:49 PM
mag said...
Very pretty skirt. I got a chuckle out of your comment about the sewing bug. It can be quite addictive, I agree. But I tell myself that there could be more harmful obsessions.
7/16/04 9:06 PM
Jan B. said...
Another great pairing of fabric and pattern. You look terrific--I agree with all the above compliments!!
7/16/04 9:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 5695

photo
by: Fairworthy

Review
New Look 6091

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now