Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8646 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1216 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/11 1:12 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
It looks good in the photo, but a gaping neckline is no fun.
2/28/11 5:18 AM
MNBarb said...
Sorry your dress didn't work for you. I agree that it looks nice in the photo. I recently had this same experience with a wrap. You could always wear it with a black cami.
2/28/11 7:09 AM
trinicity said...
this is very cute, I like it alot
2/28/11 7:31 AM
lakaribane said...
I have this pattern and take note of the neckline issues. You don't say if you did your usual size or not. I wonder if one should do their usual Vogue size for a woven but go down for a knit? What do you think?
2/28/11 8:00 AM
TerukoLynn said...
I have this pattern ready to cut out today and I may make my muslin a size smaller after reading your review of it! I think that the idea in your blog of making an obi belt would be great with this dress.
2/28/11 8:53 AM
persevering said...
Oh my - first looking at the photo, my initial thoughts were: wow, does she ever have it right, having constant progress in her sewing and looking so good in this flattering style..... then I read your review .... & read your blog post ..... sure you'll rethink and find solutions to concerning issues. Thanks for your sharing.
2/28/11 1:37 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This dress is very flattering on you.
2/28/11 4:41 PM
JillyBe said...
It looks very cute & flattering in the photo. But I understand - posting is one thing, but if a garment doesn't move with you comfortably, it isn't worth wearing :(.
2/28/11 7:17 PM
SewWil said...
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your dress. My first reaction when I saw the picture was how great it looks on you. Nothing worse than gaping necklines.
2/28/11 8:49 PM
Christas said...
Well, bummer! I thought it looked so cute in the gallery photo. I sympathize with you - not fun to spend time sewing something that doesn't look the way you want it to. Glad you have another wrap dress that you like.
2/28/11 9:24 PM
lynny said...
Sue your dress looks great on you, but can see what you mean about the neckline.
3/1/11 1:23 AM
Rosesred said...
I'm sorry that this particular garment didn't work out for you, but the style really is smashing on you. Hope you find something similar that you're happy with.
3/25/11 4:50 AM
MareeAlison said...
Sue - I really like the dress on you. I've made a few vogue wrap dresses but not this one. My observations have been that smaller is better and it is often good to put clear elastic along the neck edge to stop it gaping - the one I didn't do this to gapes a bit. I think the dress is flattering so don't give up on it. :)
4/16/11 11:45 PM
Lynnelle said...
How did I miss this review?! I think the dress looks great on you. I'm sorry to read about the gaping neckline. Thanks for the review.
7/5/11 8:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 2751 Jacket
photo
Review by Helen near... on 5/3/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2170 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2170 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3620
photo
Review by Violet Els... on 4/19/10
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digita Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digita Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern
SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us