SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8646 (Misses' Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1268 times 
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo

 
 
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/11 1:12 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
It looks good in the photo, but a gaping neckline is no fun.
2/28/11 5:18 AM
MNBarb said...
Sorry your dress didn't work for you. I agree that it looks nice in the photo. I recently had this same experience with a wrap. You could always wear it with a black cami.
2/28/11 7:09 AM
trinicity said...
this is very cute, I like it alot
2/28/11 7:31 AM
lakaribane said...
I have this pattern and take note of the neckline issues. You don't say if you did your usual size or not. I wonder if one should do their usual Vogue size for a woven but go down for a knit? What do you think?
2/28/11 8:00 AM
TerukoLynn said...
I have this pattern ready to cut out today and I may make my muslin a size smaller after reading your review of it! I think that the idea in your blog of making an obi belt would be great with this dress.
2/28/11 8:53 AM
persevering said...
Oh my - first looking at the photo, my initial thoughts were: wow, does she ever have it right, having constant progress in her sewing and looking so good in this flattering style..... then I read your review .... & read your blog post ..... sure you'll rethink and find solutions to concerning issues. Thanks for your sharing.
2/28/11 1:37 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This dress is very flattering on you.
2/28/11 4:41 PM
JillyBe said...
It looks very cute & flattering in the photo. But I understand - posting is one thing, but if a garment doesn't move with you comfortably, it isn't worth wearing :(.
2/28/11 7:17 PM
SewWil said...
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your dress. My first reaction when I saw the picture was how great it looks on you. Nothing worse than gaping necklines.
2/28/11 8:49 PM
Christas said...
Well, bummer! I thought it looked so cute in the gallery photo. I sympathize with you - not fun to spend time sewing something that doesn't look the way you want it to. Glad you have another wrap dress that you like.
2/28/11 9:24 PM
lynny said...
Sue your dress looks great on you, but can see what you mean about the neckline.
3/1/11 1:23 AM
Rosesred said...
I'm sorry that this particular garment didn't work out for you, but the style really is smashing on you. Hope you find something similar that you're happy with.
3/25/11 4:50 AM
MareeAlison said...
Sue - I really like the dress on you. I've made a few vogue wrap dresses but not this one. My observations have been that smaller is better and it is often good to put clear elastic along the neck edge to stop it gaping - the one I didn't do this to gapes a bit. I think the dress is flattering so don't give up on it. :)
4/16/11 11:45 PM
Lynnelle said...
How did I miss this review?! I think the dress looks great on you. I'm sorry to read about the gaping neckline. Thanks for the review.
7/5/11 8:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-109B

photo
by: Janiki

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Cutting Line Designs 60565

photo
by: Renren

Review