Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Oasis Skirt (Oasis Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1901 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/04 8:53 PM
Last Updated:5/6/05 10:34 AM


See other patterns in this category: Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Lisa, your skirt looks terrific and your placket very perky! Great job!
7/17/04 8:59 PM
Mariella said...
Lisa, I absolutely LOVE this skirt on you. You're right - it's just this neat combination of funky, "different" and still practical. I am so tempted to try this pattern and a few other Sewing Workshop ones but being in Canada, by the time we pay the exchange, shipping, duty and TWO levels of taxes, the pattern costs almost twice the price you pay in the US, so if you think the pattern was costly, imagine what it's like up here! But I really love how this skirt looks on you and I'm very tempted to ask for this pattern and a few others that can't be purchased here for my birthday.
7/18/04 7:22 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your skirt in this fabric is slimming and cute. Good idea to use the steam a seam on the placket. I like your tip about basting the elastic, and use it, esp in tight places--I use my sm with feed dogs lowered, or sew vertically at the qtr marks.
7/18/04 7:40 AM
mamafitz said...
i just saw this skirt made up last week by a friend of mine -- it's a fabulous skirt, and you're right, normally one would just skip over the pattern. she too used the elastic application for the brussels skirt instead.
7/18/04 8:03 AM
Annette H said...
Brilliant fit. I have never tried Sewing Workshop - this could be my first pattern from SW. Thanks for the review.
7/18/04 9:57 AM
Hilary said...
I love your skirt!! Very nice, the pattern pic doesn't come close-yours is much prettier! BTW, where did you get those sandals? They are too cute, I think I need some :oP And maybe this pattern too :p Thanks! Great review.
7/18/04 10:17 AM
Diane E said...
Lisa, your skirt is so pretty! After having concluded that SW patterns are just too boxy and oversized for me, I may have to backtrack and check this one out. It looks nicely fitted, and I love the idea of your "three Fs." We can't have enough of the "three Fs" in our lives!
7/18/04 10:59 AM
PVA said...
Great review, Lisa. SW should start giving you a commission. I too wouldn't have given this pattern a second thought. BUT, I have really looked over both your photo and the pattern photo, and I believe this is one of those "3-F" projects that could be "for all ages"! Being over 70 and still counting, I do believe it could work for me, too! Onto the wish list it goes!
7/18/04 12:02 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, ladies! Diane, I agree, there's rarely enough of the three 'F's to go around (although ya gotta watch the interpretation of 'fast'...). Hilary, the sandals are White Mountains that I picked up at a Shoe Carnival sale...they're actually blue, but it's a very dark blue and, depending on what I'm doing, I have passed them off as black a couple of times...
7/18/04 1:57 PM
Danvillegirl said...
The placket looks very nice with this skirt. I have stayed away from this pattern because of it. Your skirt looks nice with it.
7/18/04 4:29 PM
Hilary said...
Thanks Lisa! I'll go hunting for them :o)
7/18/04 6:39 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I just noticed that in the photos the placket is on opposite sides of the skirt...I I just pulled the green skirt out and looked again...I (gulp) have it on backwards in the photo! :eek: Well, you get the idea... :rolleyes:
5/6/05 10:39 AM
Izzie said...
Very cute skirts...you look so Springy!
5/6/05 10:54 AM
Mariella said...
Lisa, I bought this pattern based on your original review and photo. I just finished my first one a few weeks ago and made every stupid mistake in the book (like missing the part where you sew the side seam...I had already hemmed the skirt when I finally realized that the side seam was one of the first steps!) I really love the look of this skirt - as you say, "Fun, Fast (except for my stupid errors) and Funky". I plan to make one or 2 more of these to wear for summer. Thanks for turning me on to this skirt!
5/7/05 8:27 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Well, Mariella, the next one ought to be a snap! This is a fun summery skirt...
5/7/05 8:45 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great skirt!
5/7/05 11:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3882
photo
Review by DebJ on 9/7/09
Read Review

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2614
photo
Review by lydianmode on 8/29/10
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2674 Pattern
Jalie 2674 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us